Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences E-Books
Sleep Medicine
Fundamentals of Sleep Technology, 3rd ed. by Teófilo L. Lee-Chiong; Cynthia Mattice; Rita Brooks
Endorsed by the American Association of Sleep Technologists (AAST) and widely used as the go-to text in the field, Fundamentals of Sleep Technology, 3rd Edition, provides comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of polysomnography and other technologies in the evaluation and management of sleep disorders in adults and children. This edition has been extensively updated and expanded to reflect current practice, the latest technology, and the broader roles and responsibilities of the sleep technologist. Content is enhanced with new illustrations, tables, and treatment algorithms. This textbook, written by and for sleep technologists, is the ideal resource for those practicing in the field of sleep medicine or preparing for credentialing exams in sleep technology. Chapters begin with Learning Objectives and Key Terms defined in the extensive Glossary Key new chapters: Inpatient Assessment and Monitoring Program; Home Sleep Apnea Testing; Personalizing Selection of Interfaces; Telemedicine; Surgical and Other Interventions for Obstructive Sleep Apnea; Infant Sleep Management; and several chapters on new roles/responsibilities for sleep technologists Major sections include: Anatomy and Physiology, Sleep Disorders and Disorders that Affect Sleep, Patient Care and Assessment, Adult Polysomnography, Pediatrics, and Interventions and Therapeutics New expanded section on Sleep Center Management now appears in the expanded eBook and offers comprehensive coverage of organization and environment of a state-of-the art sleep facility including policies/procedures, personnel, and ethics and professionalism Discusses therapeutic interventions including positive airway pressure, oxygen administration surgical and pharmacologic treatments, and patient education Appendix provides new and expanded algorithms and charts, including: Trouble-shooting EEG artifacts, CPAP titration for OSA patient; diagnoses and management of numerous sleep disorders; examples of sleep reports; sample epochs demonstrating sleep stages, respiratory events, cardiac arrhythmias, movement/PLMS events, artifacts, and seizures ( Appendix now included in the eBook that accompanies the text ) Offers in-depth reviews and illustrations of the neurophysiology and cardiopulmonary aspects of sleep, along with the pathophysiology of sleep disorders Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 1975111621
Publication Date: 2019
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Sleep Medicine, 2nd ed. by Meir H. Kryger (Editor); David Gozal (Editor); Richard Ferber (Editor); Stephen H. Sheldon (Editor)
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Sleep Medicine,2nd Edition, written by preeminent sleep medicine experts Drs. Sheldon, Ferber, Kryger, and Gozal, is the most comprehensive source for diagnosing and managing sleep disorders in children. Newly updated and now in full color throughout, this medical reference book is internationally recognized as the definitive resource for any health practitioner who treats children, providing absolute guidance on virtually all of the sleep-associated problems encountered in pediatric patients. "..a well-written, comprehensive, and succinct textbook." Reviewed by Sanjeev V Kothare on behalf of Journal of Clinical Neurophysiology, February 2015 Organized format separates coverage into Normal and Abnormal sleep for quick access to the key information you need. Abundantly referenced chapters help you to investigate topics further. Equips you with a complete understanding of both medical and psychiatric sleep disorders. New and expanded chapters regarding sleep related breathing disorders; parasomnias; differential diagnosis of pediatric sleep disorders; hypersomnia; school start times and implications; and the evaluation and management of circadian rhythm disturbances. Extensive coverage on obstructive sleep apnea, diagnosis and treatment; evaluation and management of sleepy children; evaluation and management of circadian rhythm abnormalities; and pharmacology. Online access via Expert Consult for seamlessly searchable contents.
ISBN: 9781455703180
Publication Date: 2014
Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine, 6th ed. by Meir H. Kryger; Thomas Roth; William C. Dement
For nearly 30 years, Dr. Meir Kryger's must-have guide to sleep medicine has been the gold standard in this fast-changing field. This essential, full-color reference includes more than 20 unique sections and over 170 chapters covering every aspect of sleep disorders, giving you the authoritative guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care. Evidence-based content helps you make the most well-informed clinical decisions. An ideal resource for preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination. New content on sleep apnea, neurological disorders, legal aspects of sleep medicine, dental sleep medicine genetics, circadian disorders, geriatrics, women's health, cardiovascular diseases, and occupational sleep medicine, keeps you fully up to date. Updates to scientific discoveries and clinical approaches ensure that you remain current with new knowledge that is advancing the diagnosis and management of sleep disorders.
ISBN: 0323377521
Publication Date: 2016
