Oncology
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323476740Publication Date: 2019-03-26
AJCC Cancer Staging Manual by
The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
ISBN: 3319406175Publication Date: 2018-03-30
The Basic Science of Oncology, Sixth Edition by
Basic Science of Oncology is an accessible and thorough introduction to cancer causation, cancer biology, and the biology underlying cancer treatment. You'll find everything you need to know about the latest critical thinking in oncology, as well ready to apply information about state-of-the-art science and therapeutic applications. Written by leading oncology researchers and clinicians, this is an essential resource for health professionals, students, advanced undergraduates and graduates in biological sciences, and clinicians needing an understanding of cancer cells. Presented in full-color, The Basic Science of Oncology reflects the latest research and developments in the field. Features NEW chapters: Epigenetics and Principles of Genome Regulation and Targeted Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment Thoroughly revised content, with expanded coverage of key topics such as immune system and immunotherapy, tumor growth and metabolism, vaccine development, methods of molecular analysis, tumor environment, and more The most current, evidence-based oncology primer--one that encapsulates the science of cancer causation, cancer biology, and cancer therapy Key insights into molecular and genetic aspects of cancer familiarize you with cancer biology as applied to prognosis and personalized cancer medicine In-depth focus on the discovery, evaluation, and biology of anti-cancer drugs, immunotherapy, and molecularly-targeted agents Up-to-date coverage of the basic science of radiation therapy
ISBN: 9781259862076Publication Date: 2021-04-21
The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology by
The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology is a comprehensive review of the management of numerous cancer types, emphasizing practical information that can be applied in everyday, fast-moving patient care situations. With contributions from experts and scholars at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Cleveland Clinic, and other renowned institutions, this latest edition has been thoroughly revised with new content and continues to provide practical guidance on how to evaluate, diagnose, and treat cancer patients. Designed for quick and easy accessibility of clinically relevant information. Features a new comprehensive chapter on the principles and practice of immunotherapy. Disease-specific chapters now include information on relevant and appropriate immunotherapeutic drugs. Covers a range of solid-tumor, blood, and other cancers, as well as infection management, nutrition, and palliative care. Combines concise and clear information with tables, images, and algorithms; now with even more algorithms to help fine-tune clinical decision-making. Useful for oncologists, oncology nurses, oncology fellows, residents, and allied health professionals. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
ISBN: 9781496344182Publication Date: 2018-03-09
Cancer Chemotherapy, Immunotherapy and Biotherapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Thoroughly revised and reformatted, the sixth edition of Cancer Chemotherapy, Immunotherapy and Biotherapy reflects recent significant changes in cancer treatment. This newly streamlined edition contains full-color illustrations, more tables for quick reference, and new immunotherapy and molecular targeted therapy content that brings you fully up to date with the state of the art in all current cancer therapies. Provides thorough, comprehensive coverage of the scientific and clinical aspects of immunotherapy, biotherapy, and chemotherapy. Includes significantly expanded information on immunotherapy and molecular targeted therapy, as well as the latest information on all drugs and biological agents--their mechanisms of action, interactions with other agents, toxicities, side effects, and mechanisms of resistance. Features a new, full-color format, a newly streamlined presentation. and more tables and figures throughout for quick access to high-yield information. Explains the rationale for use of drugs in specific schedules and combinations and offers guidelines for dose adjustment in specific situations. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496375148Publication Date: 2018-10-17
Khan's the Physics of Radiation Therapy by
A vital reference for the entire radiation oncology team, Khan's The Physics of Radiation Therapy thoroughly covers the physics and practical clinical applications of advanced radiation therapy technologies. Dr. John Gibbons carries on the tradition established by Dr. Khan in previous editions, ensuring that the 6th Edition provides state-of-the-art information for radiation oncologists, medical physicists, dosimetrists, radiation therapists, and residents alike. This updated classic remains the most practical radiation therapy physics text available, offering an ideal balance between theory and clinical application. Includes new quality conversion factors and procedures for calibration of flattening filter free linacs; new recommendations for Monitor Unit Calculations and Failure Mode and Effects Analysis; a new addition of the Boltzman Transport calculation algorithm, and new optical surface and magnetic resonance image-guided technologies. Contains a new chapter on knowledge-based treatment planning. Covers 3D conformal radiotherapy (3D-CRT), stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), high dose-rate remote afterloaders (HDR), intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), and proton beam therapy. Discusses the physical concepts underlying treatment planning, treatment delivery, and dosimetry. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496397522Publication Date: 2019-10-12
Manual of Clinical Oncology by
Concise, portable, and packed with essential information, Manual of Clinical Oncology is an indispensable resource for understanding basic science, clinical findings, and available technology as they relate to the diagnosis and management patients with cancer. The practical format provides high-yield content useful for participating in rounds ad making diagnostic and therapeutic decisions at the bedside. Edited by Dr. Bartosz Chmielowski and Dr. Mary Territo, both from UCLA School of Medicine, this eighth edition carries on the tradition of excellence set forth by longtime editor Dr. Dennis Casciato. Key Features: Incorporates recent major achievements in immunotherapies, biologics, and targeted therapies. Features new chapters on the biology of cancer, immunotherapy, and cancer survivorship. Contains numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms, as well as content on complications, for assistance with clinical decision making. Includes helpful appendices such as a glossary of cytogenetic nomenclature and combination chemotherapy regimens. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496349576Publication Date: 2017-04-29
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, Fourth Edition by
Expert, hands-on guidance for the practicing oncologist--from the leader in the field of cancer management--completely updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range of cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma. This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice. The new format of this updated edition quickly guides you to the topic, the affiliated relevant chapter, new findings affecting clinical practice, and reference/evidence. This fourth edition features: NEW Q&A, cases, patient education information, and expert advice Expanded coverage of immunotherapy treatment--written by the 2018 Nobel Prize-winner for immunology Access to continually updated online content A comparative table with guidelines from the European Society of Medical Oncology and the American Society of Clinical Oncology An emphasis on recent developments in precision medicine and immunotherapies Plus important NEW chapters on: Cord blood transplant Haploidentical cell transplantation Cellular therapy in allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation Pediatric cancers Molecular biomarkers and cancer Immune-oncology Targeted therapies in cancer Applied biostatistics Oncocardiology Pulmonary complications of cancer associated thrombosis
ISBN: 1260467643Publication Date: 2022-04-22
Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology by
For more than 30 years, Perez and Brady's Principles and Practice of Radiation Oncology has been the must-have standard reference for radiation oncologists and radiation oncology residents who need a comprehensive text covering both the biological and physical science aspects of this complex field as well as disease site-specific information on the integrated, multidisciplinary management of patients with cancer. The book has established itself as the discipline's "text-of-record," belonging on the shelf of all of those working in the field. The Seventh Edition continues this tradition of excellence with extensive updates throughout, many new chapters, and more than 1,400 full-color illustrations that highlight key concepts in tumor pathogenesis, diagnosis, and targeted radiation therapy. Comprehensive coverage of the current state of knowledge of cancer biology; medical radiation physics; clinical radiation oncology; and radiation oncology economics, ethics, and public policy. Regular, twice-yearly content updates available with the digital version of the text. Ideal for radiation oncologists, radiation oncology residents, radiation biologists, medical radiation physicists, oncologists, physicists-in-training, radiation dosimetrists, and nurses and physician assistants working in radiation oncology departments. New chapters include: Proton and Carbon Ion Beam Dosimetry and Treatment Planning; Stereotactic Radiation Therapy; Re-Irradiation; Error Avoidance; Undergraduate, Graduate, and Continuing Medical Education in Radiation Oncology; and a completely rewritten chapter on the economics of radiation oncology. Designed to provide a better understanding of the natural history of cancer, the physical and technological methods of radiation application, the effects of irradiation on normal tissues, and the most judicious ways in which radiation therapy can be employed in the treatment of patients with cancer, either as a single modality or as part of a multi-modality treatment program. All references printed in the book are now streamlined for quick access to further information. Site-specific chapters include relevant background information on each tumor--including epidemiology, pathology, diagnostic work-up, prognostic factors, treatment techniques, applications of surgery, chemotherapy, immunotherapy and biological therapy, end results, and more. Increased focus on new approaches and technologies with new and updated chapters. Greater emphasis on palliative and supportive care reflects the role of radiation treatment in non-curative roles. An international group of expert chapter authors keeps you well-informed. A completely revised first chapter is designed to provide an overview of the discipline of radiation oncology. This will be particularly useful for residents beginning training and medical students beginning a radiation oncology clinical clerkship. The chapter is supplemented with multiple sidebars to augment the reader's understanding of the field. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496386793Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Pizzo and Poplack's Pediatric Oncology by
Comprehensive, authoritative, and up to date, Pizzo and Poplack's Pediatric Oncology, 8th Edition, remains your most trusted source of information on the care and research of children with cancer. This award-winning text is the single most comprehensive reference on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer, its diagnosis and multimodal treatment, and long-term management. In the tradition of excellence established by Drs. Philip A. Pizzo and David G. Poplack, this 8th Edition keeps you fully informed while helping you collaborate more effectively with others on the cancer care team to enhance quality-of-life issues for patients and families. Covers all aspects of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, including basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Includes updates to current treatment approaches based on the results of recently completed and published clinical research. Contains new information on the biology of pediatric malignancies and strategies for the conduct of clinical trials that reflect the rapid pace of laboratory discovery. Features chapters on palliative care and education, and covers supportive care in contexts such as emergencies, infectious disease, and nutrition. Provides expert guidance on state-of-the-art, multidisciplinary care for children and families, including psychosocial aspects of care and perspectives from patients and parents. Discusses the cooperative nature of pediatric oncology as a model for cancer research with information from cooperative clinical trial groups and consortia. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975124793Publication Date: 2020-09-02
