Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences E-Books
Pulmonary Medicine
ABC of Pleural Diseases by Najib M. Rahman (Editor); Ian Hunt (Editor); Fergus V. Gleeson (Editor); Nick A. Maskell (Editor)
Pleural diseases are frequently managed in primary care, but specialist knowledge is required to understand the full variety of presentations and available treatments in this rapidly developing field. ABC of Pleural Diseases is a brand new addition to the ABC Series which takes a unique approach to these conditions by dealing with them as a related group as well as in their individual manifestations. The book provides a unique and comprehensive overview of pleural disease, beginning with the anatomy and physiology of the pleura. It then covers a wide range of specific conditions in greater detail, including pneumothorax, pleural effusions, pleural infections, as well as chapters on radiology and pathology. Full coverage is given of mesothelioma, the most common pleural cancer. Written by a team of specialists, this reference guide to pleural diseases is a practical guide for General Practitioners, Junior Doctors, Specialist Nurses, Radiologists and all Healthcare Professionals working within chest medicine.
ISBN: 0470654740
Publication Date: 2018
Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, 7th ed. by Judd Landsberg
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, by Judd W. Landsberg, MD, is a unique point-of-care manual that provides essential information on managing inpatients and outpatients with common, serious respiratory and internal medicine presentation and problems. Easy-to-follow diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms are accompanied by case-based illustrations encountered on a daily basis by attendings, fellows, residents, and students. The bulleted format, concise approach, and familiar examples provide a framework for effective teaching, learning, and patient care. Identifies common but important misconceptions that are regularly encountered in pulmonary and critical care training. Uses a concise, bulleted format throughout, helping you find key information quickly. Illustrates cases with primary data such as x-rays, monitor strips, ventilator wave forms, and other familiar documentation. Helps you develop your ability to effectively explain your thought process in the clinical setting to other practitioners at the bedside. Serves as a 'teachers guide' for clinician educators, organizing topics in an easy to teach fashion, amenable to 'chalk talks' and bedside didactics Provides focused discussions of basic physiology and pathophysiology related to pulmonary and critical care medicine. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323399525
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of High-Resolution Lung CT, 2nd ed. by Brett M. Elicker; W. Richard Webb
In clear and concise language, Fundamentals of High-Resolution Lung CT, provides a straightforward guide to understanding the high-resolution lung CT (HRCT) assessment of diffuse lung diseases. You will learn to accurately interpret HRCT findings, and how those findings can translate into the correct diagnosis or appropriate differential diagnosis. This volume includes over 600 images we consider classic, many of which have been updated and improved to facilitate easier reading and more precise interpretation. This new edition includes two-page summaries of each chapter, including; key diseases, facts, and findings, as well as classic images -- useful for review or to better understand CT findings and specific topics Every chapter has been updated with new content and new imagery to reflect recent advances and understanding of diseases, and to aid in diagnosis. Numerous pathology images have been added to help you better understand disease processes. Seminal images are now highlighted so you can compare to more recent findings. Covers many commonly encountered diseases like pneumonias, sarcoidosis, and connective tissue diseases, as well as rare diseases. Not just for radiologists in practice and residence; specialists in pulmonology and oncology benefit, too! Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496389923
Publication Date: 2018
Hyatt's Interpretation of Pulmonary Function Tests, 5th ed. by Paul D. Scanlon
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Practical and clinically relevant, Hyatt's Interpretation of Pulmonary Function Tests provides user-friendly coverage of all types of pulmonary function testing as it applies to a wide range of disease conditions. In this revised 5th Edition, Dr. Paul D. Scanlon expands upon the tradition of excellence begun by renowned pulmonary physiologist and father of the flow-volume curve, Dr. Robert E. Hyatt. A new two-color design, new and reorganized cases, and revised and expanded content keep you up to date with all that's new in the field. Provides a solid basis for administering and interpreting pulmonary function tests, making it an ideal resource for pulmonologists, fellows, and other healthcare practitioners who have a basic knowledge of pulmonary physiology. Offers valuable guidance for day-to-day clinical work, featuring chapters such as "When to Test and What to Order" and "Approaches to Interpreting Pulmonary Function Tests." Features a new section on the interpretation of complex tests, including the nonspecific pattern, mixed obstruction with restriction, and the complex restrictive pattern. Includes more than 40 illustrative cases for self-testing and reinforcing the principles discussed in the text, as well as clear illustrations that demonstrate dozens of PFT patterns. Contains expert "pearls" regarding performance and interpretation of key tests. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975114343
Publication Date: 2019
Manual of Clinical Problems in Pulmonary Medicine, 7th ed. by Timothy A. Morris; Andrew L. Ries; Richard A. Bordow
Stay current with the latest information on the diagnosis and management of pulmonary disorders with Manual of Clinical Problems in Pulmonary Medicine, 7e . Drawing on the expertise of a stellar team of renowned experts in the field, this updated pocket reference provides concise coverage of all aspects of pulmonary disorders, including pathophysiology, differential diagnoses, and the latest evidence-based treatments for pulmonary illness. Featuring a spiral binding, compact size, and concise entries, this reference is ideal for bedside use and is portable enough to take along as you move between home, clinic, and hospital. "Well worth reading cover to cover and will serve as an excellent reference resource in the field of pulmonary medicine." K. P. Ravikrishnan, FRCP(C), FACP (William Beaumont Hospitals), reviewing previous edition Key features of Manual of Clinical Problems in Pulmonary Medicine include: Highlights of pulmonary and critical care medicine processes and resources available to help you prevent, diagnose, and treat respiratory diseases. Up-to-date information on presentations that are typical for common and otherwise important respiratory disorders. Updated traditional, disease-based chapters so you can refresh your knowledge. NEW sections on Presentation of Respiratory Disorders and Pulmonary Resources and Procedures help you clearly identify and treat your patients. Uniform chapters that highlight key characteristics, including definition, etiology, incidence, diagnostic work up, management and outcomes. Annotated bibliography presents the best evidence for you to apply in practice Whether you are a busy practitioner in pulmonary medicine, a pulmonary specialist, or a resident in pulmonary medicine, internal medicine, or general surgery, you'll find this authoritative reference a "must-have" for your practice.
ISBN: 9781451116588
Publication Date: 2014
Mechanical Ventilation: Physiology & Practice, 2nd ed. by John W. Kreit; John A. Kellum
Mechanical ventilation is an essential life-sustaining therapy for many critically-ill patients. As technology has evolved, clinicians have been presented with an increasing number of ventilator options as well as an ever-expanding and confusing list of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms.Unfortunately, this has made it extremely difficult for clinicians at all levels of training to truly understand mechanical ventilation and to optimally manage patients with respiratory failure.Mechanical Ventilation was written to address these problems. This handbook provides students, residents, fellows, and practicing physicians with a clear explanation of essential physiology, terms and acronyms, and ventilator modes and breath types. It describes how mechanical ventilators work andexplains clearly and concisely how to write ventilator orders, how to manage patients with many different causes of respiratory failure, how to "wean" patients from the ventilator, and much more. Mechanical Ventilation is meant to be carried and used at the bedside and to allow everyone who caresfor critically-ill patients to master this essential therapy.
ISBN: 9780190670085
Publication Date: 2017
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 7th ed. by V. Courtney Broaddus (Editor); Joel D. Ernst (Editor); Talmadge E. King, Jr (Editor); Stephen C. Lazarus (Editor); Kathleen F. Sarmiento (Editor); Lynn M. Schnapp (Editor); Renee D. Stapleton (Editor); Michael B. Gotway (Editor)
Known for its clear readability, thorough coverage, and expert authorship, Murray & Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine has long been the gold standard text in the fast-changing field of pulmonary medicine. The new 7th Edition brings you fully up to date with newly expanded content, numerous new chapters, a new editorial team, and extensive updates throughout. It covers the entire spectrum of pulmonology in one authoritative point-of-care reference, making it an ideal resource for pulmonary physicians, fellows, and other pulmonary practitioners. Offers definitive, full-color coverage of basic science, diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of the full range of respiratory diseases. Provides detailed explanations of each disease entity and differential diagnoses with state-of-the-art, evidence-based content by global leaders in the field. Contains a newly expanded section on common presentations of respiratory disease, plus new chapters on COVID-19, asthma and obesity, airplane travel, lung cancer screening, noninvasive support of oxygenation, lung microbiome, thoracic surgery, inhaled substances, treatment of lung cancer, and more. Covers hot topics such as vaping; advanced ultrasound applications and procedures; interventional pulmonology; immunotherapy; lung cancer targeted therapy; outbreaks, pandemics and bioterrorism; point-of-care ultrasound; use of high-flow oxygen, and more. Includes extensively reorganized sections on basic science, pleural disease, and sleep, with new chapters and approaches to the topics. Features more than 1,450 anatomic, algorithmic, and radiologic images (400 are new!) including CT, PET, MR, and HRCT, plus extensive online-only content: 200 procedural and conceptual videos plus audio clips of lung sounds. Brings you up to date with the latest respiratory drugs, mechanisms of action, indications, precautions, adverse effects, and recommendations, with increased emphasis on algorithms to illustrate decision making. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you access to all of the text, figures, reporting templates, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323655873
Publication Date: 2021
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 7th ed. by Steven E. Weinberger; Barbara A. Cockrill; Jess Mandel
With an emphasis on the pathophysiologic basis of pulmonary disease, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 7th Edition, by Drs. Steven E Weinberger, Barbara A Cockrill, and Jess Mandel, provides a superbly illustrated introduction to this fast-changing field. This essential text employs a concise and understandable approach, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts critical for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases Offers access to extensive online resources, including author commentaries, video clips, audio recordings of lung sounds, and 200 case-based self-assessment questions - covering topics including pulmonary function tests, physiologic data, and arterial blood gas testing and modeled after the USMLE exam. Discusses therapeutic strategies, including the available evidence for assessing relative benefits, harms, and costs, where appropriate. Provides an excellent visual basis for understanding and interpreting pulmonary disease with easy-to-understand anatomic illustrations and accompanying radiologic and pathophysiologic images. Covers all that's new in the field, including new CT lung cancer screening guidelines; new concepts in the pathogenesis of asthma, interstitial lung disease, and other pulmonary diseases; and evolving therapies for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, pulmonary hypertension, and advanced lung cancer. Features updated information on the expanded use of advanced interventional pulmonology (bronchoscopic) procedures, improvements in precision treatment of lung tumors based on genetic profiles, and new and emerging infections with respiratory involvement. Covers hot topics such as lung tumor treatment, including use of genetic markers and immunotherapy; lung cancer screening reflecting the latest guidelines on who, how, and when to screen; and newer bronchoscopic procedures, such as navigational bronchoscopy. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323523714
Publication Date: 2018
Webb, Müller and Naidich's High-Resolution CT of the Lung, 6th ed. by Sujal Desai; David Lynch; Brett M. Elicker; Anand Devaraj; Nicola Sverzellati
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Over the past 30 years high-resolution CT (HRCT) has matured to become an integral part of the multidisciplinary evaluation in diffuse lung disease. In this regard, Webb, Muller and Naidich's High-Resolution CT of the Lung, 6th Edition, is a 'gold standard' reference that aims to keep radiologists and pulmonologists alike at the cutting edge of the ever-evolving field of thoracic imaging. The new US-European author team continues the tradition of excellence which readers have come to expect while the underlying layout and ethos -- established by the 'founding' author team -- remain. The new edition aims to brings readers up to date not only with recent advances but also with the important conceptual changes in thinking in various fields of thoracic imaging. Also featured in this updated edition is authoritative guidance on HRCT findings and differential diagnosis, as well as the characteristics of the common lung diseases assessed using HRCT, all enhanced by a multitude of new images and updated content throughout. Covers the physical and anatomic principles governing HRCT imaging and the importance of the 'pattern-based' approach to HRCT interpretation. Updates to chapters on interstitial lung diseases and airways diseases & connective tissue diseases reflect the dramatic changes in thinking in these fields. Includes new and improved features including key HRCT findings in separate tables in relevant sections, where relevant, and new and exciting topics including artificial intelligence and machine learning. [Reword to: Includes improved features such as key HRCT findings in separate tables, and new topics including artificial intelligence and machine learning. ?] Contains full-color illustrations of histologic findings in lung disease linked with HRCT manifestations. Provides diagnostic algorithms, an illustrated quick reference guide at the front of the text, and helpful tables and line drawings. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975144432
Publication Date: 2021
