Health Science E-Book Collections
Many health science e-books are housed in online collections that can be browsed or offer full-text search capabilities. The following list includes health sciences-specific e-book collections, as well as general e-book collections with significant health sciences content. The databases listed are licensed either by the UC Libraries as a consortium, or locally by UC Davis Library.
To access e-books while off-campus or using the campus guest wifi network, see Off-Campus Access. A "key" symbol next to the database name indicates that the e-book collection offers a single sign-on option.
- AccessBiomedical Science This link opens in a new window A core set of biomedical textbooks, reference resources and review questions from McGraw Hill. Topics range from public health and pharmacology, to biomedical engineering, toxicology, neuroscience, physiology, bioinformatics, and scholarly writing. Unlimited user license.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window A core set of medical textbooks and reference resources from McGraw Hill relevant to health sciences professions graduate students and practicing clinicians. Also includes point-of-care resources, study and test prep tools, audio-recordings and videos. Unlimited user license.
- American Academy of Ophthalmology eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of recent e-books, including textbooks, hosted on the EBSCO platform.
- American Academy of Pediatrics eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of e-books focusing on neonatal, pediatric, and adolescent care. Unlimited user license.
- American Academy of Pediatrics Neonatal Resuscitation eBooks Includes most recent editions of resuscitation textbooks, key guidelines and board review cases. Unlimited user license.
- American Diabetes Association Ebooks This link opens in a new window Comprehensive standards of medical care in diabetes, including guidelines and practical strategies.
- American Geriatrics Society Ebooks This link opens in a new window Core curriculum and clinical templates for geriatric medicine
- BSAVA Library This link opens in a new window A digital library of British Small Animal Veterinary Association publications including: books, proceedings, special topics, continuing education (Continuing Professional Development), formularies, podcasts, client handouts, Formulary and Companion magazine, Guide to Procedures, Congress Scientific Proceedings, Client Information Leaflets and Scientific Information Sheets. This content is naturally centered toward an audience in the United Kingdom. The formulary may be of interest as some drugs in the UK have been approved prior to coming to the United States (i.e. alfaxalone). BSAVA manuals are often on reading reserves and are available online through this resource. [Coverage: 2007-present]
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package. [Coverage: 2000-present]
This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey for Nursing This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey for Nursing drives better care by delivering deep access to evidence.
- Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
- GIDEON's E-Books First, authenticate by loging into GIDEON. Then, select e-books from the "More" dropdown in the upper right corner.
- Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains nearly 3,000 lectures, of various lengths, created by leading world experts. Additional lectures are added monthly. The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection is divided into eleven categories: Biochemistry; Cancer; Cell Biology; Diseases, Disorders & Treatments; Drug Discovery; Genetics; Immunology; Methods; Microbiology & Virology; Neurobiology; and Pharmaceutical Science. Over 100 series cover topics such as: Agricultural Genetics; Animal Models in Biomedical Research; Antibiotic Resistance; Apoptosis; Biology and Significance of Plasmids; Biomarkers; Blood-Brain Barrier; Calcium Signaling; Cell Division Cycle; Chemical Biology; Chloroplast; Cognitive Neuroscience; Cytokines; DNA Methylation; Endoplasmic Reticulum; Epigenetics; Eukaryotic Gene Regulation; From DNA to Proteins; Gene-Environment Interactions; Good Laboratory Practice; Intro to Cheminformatics; Ion Channels; Legacy of Drosophila Genetics; Mechanisms of Ribosome Function; Microarrays; Microbiota; Mitochondrial Biogenesis; Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection; Molecular Chaperones; Non-Clinical Testing for Toxicity of Pharmaceuticals; Obesity; Prions and Amyloids; Protein Folding, Aggregation and Design; Protein Phosphorylation; Retroviruses; RNA Interference; Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Genome-Wide Association Studies; Stem Cells; Synapses, Neurotransmitters and Receptor Channels; Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity; World of Hormones. [Coverage: 2007-present]
- This link opens in a new window
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window JAMAevidence provides online access to key books on evidence-based medicine and evidence-based practice (EBM, EBP), in particular Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life. Also included are EBM tools, such as statistics and methods resources, critical appraisal worksheets, calculators, audio clips, learning tools, and education guides.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window Contains over 45,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ global publishers including McGraw-Hill, Pearson Technology Group (Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams), HarperCollins, Pakt Publishers, MIT Sloan Management, ASTD, Apress, Amacom, and other learning providers. The subject coverage ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Additional information about how to customize results, develop personalized reading lists, engage in notetaking, and bookmarking is found on the Proquest LibGuide for OHE at: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/ [Coverage: 2007-present]
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Medical Textbooks This link opens in a new window Objective reviews of current knowledge based on the best available evidence and published literature. Areas covered include: anaesthetics, clinical medicine, psychiatry, public health, epidemiology, and radiology. Oxford Medical Textbooks and Oxford Medical Handbooks were both formerly part of Oxford Medicine Online.
- This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central Ebooks (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Thousands of ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences. [Coverage varies: 1970s-current]
- This link opens in a new window
- PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-5, DSM-5 clinical cases, the DSM-5 handbook of differential diagnosis and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, Psychiatry Online features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Test?). [Coverage: 1976-present]
- This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles. [Coverage: dates vary]
- This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, ebook series, journals, and major reference works published by Springer. NOTE: We don't license everything from Springer, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter has a yellow lock next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. Coverage for eBooks begins generally with 2005-on. Direct link to SpringerLink ebooks only.
- This link opens in a new window
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window This is a combined database of 3 protocols or methods resources: Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols. Together there are over 60,000 searchable protocols and methods. The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 55,000 protocols in molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols. These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Nature Protocols is associated with the Protocol Exchange (https://protocolexchange.researchsquare.com) which is an open repository through which researchers can share and discuss their protocols. [Coverage: 1980-present]
- Stahl Online This link opens in a new window Stahl Online presents the fundamentals of psychopharmacology and includes the ability to search within “Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology” and the “Essential Psychopharmacology Prescriber’s Guide” plus cases, illustrations, tables to download, and drug interaction information. [Coverage: 2008 to present (continuously updated)]
- STAT!Ref Library This link opens in a new window TDS Health hosts the STAT!Ref library of selected health sciences online reference books and dictionaries, point-of care-tools, and consumer health resources. TDS Health hosts recent editions of selected medical and pharmacy ebooks (e.g., AJCC Cancer Staging Manual, Trissel’s Stability of Compound Formulations, Handbook on Injectable Drugs), dictionaries (e.g., Stedman’s Medical Dictionary, Dorland’s Dictionary of Medical Acronyms) and point of care tools (e.g., EBMcalc, Decker Medicine, and Decker Surgery). Other features include consumer health resources and patient handouts (e.g., AAFP Conditions, Merck Manual), medical ICD-10 coding resources, public health content (e.g., CDC, MMWR, The Community Guide, and Reuter’s medical news feeds. Users are able to cross-search the entire library and filter by content type. A mobile app is available which requires creating a free individual account. [Coverage: 2015-present]
- Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals .
- This link opens in a new window
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Thieme MedOne Education offers access to a collection of over 120 ebooks relevant to medical education, covering basic medical science and selected clinical specialty titles. Includes the richly illustrated Thieme Color Atlas series and USMLE test preparation question and answer resources. [Coverage: 1999-present]
- Thieme MedOne Veterinary Medicine This link opens in a new window UCD has early access to Thieme’s in-development MedOne Veterinary Medicine platform. This platform currently provides nearly 100 veterinary medicine eBooks translated into English using machine translation software. Previously these titles were only available in German. Once the in-development phase is complete, human-translation will replace machine-translation, and additional titles will be included. MedOne platform provides DRM-free ebooks, as well as: the ability to: *search and filter text and images *download high-quality labeled images direct to powerpoint *create and share playlists Thieme welcomes input to platform development, especially from veterinary faculty, researchers, and students: submit feedback to vet-feedback@thieme.com
- Current Protocols Series This link opens in a new window Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work "Current Protocols in Molecular Biology" with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does NOT license the following FIVE protocol titles: "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Plant Biology" (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".