Biostatistics & Epidemiology
Clinical Epidemiology, 6th ed. by Grant S. Fletcher
Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this approachable, informative text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings. Updated content throughout reflects the latest practices in clinical epidemiology. Increased emphasis on clinical judgment helps students confidently evaluate the effectiveness of guidelines and integrate them into practice. Updated vignette-style end-of-chapter questions place concepts in a clinical context and reinforce students' understanding. Key Word Lists at the start of each chapter familiarize students with critical terminology for clinical competence. Example boxes clarify the clinical implications of important concepts with relevant real-world patient care scenarios. Appendix of Additional Readings highlights trusted resources for further review. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ISBN: 9781975109554
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Epidemiology, 2nd ed. by Wolfgang Ahrens (Editor); Iris Pigeot (Editor)
This 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This updated edition of the Handbook of Epidemiology adds 20 new chapters on: History of Epidemiological Methods and Concepts, Cluster Randomized Trials, Internet-Based Epidemiology, Misclassification, Sensitivity Analysis and Bias Analysis, Emergency and Disaster Health Surveillance, Statistical Inference, Data Management in Epidemiology, Bayesian Methods in Epidemiology, Generalized Estimating Equations, Directed Acyclic Graphs, Life Course Epidemiology, Physical Activity Epidemiology, Radiation Epidemiology, Epidemiology of Obesity, Epidemiology of Respiratory Allergies and Asthma, Epidemiology of Dental Diseases, Epidemiology of Digestive Diseases, Epidemiology of Psychiatric Disorders, Epidemiology of Diabetes. All other chapters are extensively revised from the 1st edition. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health.
ISBN: 9780387098340
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health, 4th ed. by David L. Katz; Joann G. Elmore; Dorothea Wild; Sean C. Lucan
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health is the only textbook that combines the disciplines of medical epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in one convenient resource. Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this text presents the information you need with a clinical focus, using real-life medical examples throughout. With review questions in each chapter to maximize knowledge retention and target key areas of review, it serves as an outstanding resource for USMLE prep - and is recommended by the American Board of Preventive Medicine as a top review source for its core specialty examination! Grasp and retain vital information easily thanks to quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations; succinct text; and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning in a highly visual approach. Spend more time reviewing and less time searching thanks to an extremely focused, "high-yield" presentation. Deepen your understanding of complex epidemiology and biostatistics concepts through clinically focused, real-life examples. Gauge your mastery of public health concepts and build confidence with case-based questions - now accessed online for a more interactive experience - that provide effective chapter review and help you target key areas for further study. Keep up with the very latest in public health and preventive health - areas that have shown great growth in recent years. New coverage includes the epidemiology of mental health disorders, disaster planning, health care reform, and the 'One Health' concept that highlights the indelible links among the health of people, other species, and the planet itself. Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, plus additional tables and images, supplemental information on the One Health Initiative, the latest childhood immunization schedules, chapter highlights in PowerPoint, 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers, a 177-question comprehensive review exam, and more!
ISBN: 9781455706587
Publication Date: 2013
Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention, 5th ed. by David Weber; Tom Talbot
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The fifth edition of Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention has a new streamlined focus, with new editors and contributors, a new two-color format, and a new title. Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. Covers the basics of hospital epidemiology and infection prevention, types of healthcare-associated infections, details of specific pathogens (bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral), special populations, prevention of infections related to specific procedures as well as the hospital environment, antibiotic stewardship, occupational health, and emergency preparedness, among other key topics. Focuses on the evidence, science, and operational insight critical to the detection, transmission, and prevention of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). Includes chapters centered on specific types of HAIs (CLABSI, CAUTI, SSI, for example) and specific healthcare settings and patient populations (such as burn units, neonatal ICUs, and transplant recipients). Includes two several entirely new chapters on antimicrobial stewardship. Reflects new, user-friendly features such as the placement of core basic skills like HAI surveillance, isolation practices, and outbreak investigation earlier in the book; bulleted key points at the beginning of each chapter; full reference lists in every chapter; more figures and illustrations; and updated charts and graphs throughout. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 1975124588
Publication Date: 2020
Medical Statistics from Scratch, 4th ed. by David Bowers
Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
ISBN: 9781119523888
Publication Date: 2019
Modern Epidemiology by Timothy L. Lash; Tyler J. VanderWeele; Sebastien Haneuse; Kenneth J. Rothman
Modern Epidemiology remains the gold standard text in this complex and evolving field, offering unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. Featuring a new, full-color design, updated models, and a new format allowing space for margin notes, this edition continues to provide authoritative information on the methodologic issues crucial to the wide range of epidemiologic applications in public health and medicine. Reflects both the conceptual development of this evolving science and the increasing role that epidemiology plays in both public health and medicine. Features a new full-color design, new coverage of marginal structural models, new instrumental variable analysis, updated structural nested models, and more. Covers a broad range of concepts and methods, including epidemiologic measures of occurrence and effect, study designs, validity, precision, statistical interference, field methods, and causal diagrams. Includes data analysis topics such as Bayesian analysis, sensitivity analysis, and bias analysis, with an extensive overview of modern regression methods including logistic and survival regression, splines, hierarchical (multilevel) regression, propensity scores and other scoring methods, and g-estimation. Discusses special topics such as disease surveillance, ecologic studies, social epidemiology, infectious disease epidemiology, genetic and molecular epidemiology, nutritional epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, reproductive epidemiology, clinical epidemiology, and meta-analysis. Coauthored by three leading epidemiologists, with contributions from experts in a variety of epidemiologic sub-disciplines.
ISBN: 9781451193282
Publication Date: 2021-01-06
A Quick Guide to Cancer Epidemiology by Paolo Boffetta; Stefania Boccia; Carlo La Vecchia
A Quick Guide to Cancer Epidemiologynbsp;is an idealnbsp;addition to Springer Briefs in Cancer Research. The Briefnbsp;provides core concepts in cancer epidemiology and also givesnbsp;a snapshot of the epidemiology of seventeen human cancers.nbsp;The Briefnbsp;aims to provide-with quantitative focus-estimates of the global burdennbsp;of neoplasms, of recent and likely future trends, distribution,nbsp;causes and strategiesnbsp;for prevention for major groups of cancers. Finally, the Brief will give an overview of severals factors that cause cancer including dietary factors, tobacco smoking, obesity and alcohol consumption.
ISBN: 3319050680
Publication Date: 2014
