Medical Microbiology & Infectious Diseases
Bennett and Brachman's Hospital Infections, 6th ed. by
Bennett & Brachman's Hospital Infections, 6e, now in vibrant full color, provides the most up-to-date information on all aspects of this vital topic. Written by the world's foremost leaders in the field of nosocomial infections, this is your go-to text for preventing Hospital-Acquired Infections (HAIs) in all inpatient and outpatient healthcare settings. Features Master the latest evidence-based strategies for the prevention of the big four HAIs--CLABSIs, CAUTIs, SSIs, and VAE. Expand your knowledge of the latest prevention strategies through NEW coverage of automated room terminal disinfection (ultraviolet germicidal irradiation or hydrogen peroxide gas or vapor). NEW chapters on surgical site infection, dialysis, prevention of HAIs in intensive care units, mechanisms of resistance, the role of the environment in pathogen transmission, the role of the laboratory in infection prevention, prevalence vs. incidence HAI surveillance, infection prevention and control in countries with limited resources, the latest isolation procedures, and sterilization and disinfection. Access the latest evidence-based data on the control of antimicrobial-resistant pathogens, such as methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus, vancomycin-resistant Enterococci, carbapenem-resistant enterobacteriaceae, and pandemic influenza viruses.
ISBN: 9781451175929Publication Date: 2013-11-14
Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, 4th ed. by
In response to the ever-changing needs and responsibilities of the clinical microbiology field, Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, Fourth Edition has been extensively reviewed and updated to present the most prominent procedures in use today. The Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook provides step-by-step protocols and descriptions that allow clinical microbiologists and laboratory staff personnel to confidently and accurately perform all analyses, including appropriate quality control recommendations, from the receipt of the specimen through processing, testing, interpretation, presentation of the final report, and subsequent consultation. If you are looking for online access to the latest from this reference or site access for your lab, please visit www.wiley.com/learn/clinmicronow.
ISBN: 1555818803Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 20th ed. by
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual, 20th Edition, is the must have resource for anyone in the field of public health. Every chapter has been reworked and new chapters have been added. The 20th Edition is a timely update to a milestone reference work, ensuring the Manual's relevance and usefulness to every public health professional around the world. Each disease chapter is presented in a standardized format that includes the following information: Disease name. Clinical features. Causative agent(s). Diagnosis. Occurrence. Reservoir(s). Incubation period. Transmission. Risk groups. Prevention. Management of patients. Management of contacts and the immediate environment. Special considerations.
ISBN: 0875530184Publication Date: 2015-01-30
COVID-19 in Clinical Practice by
This book assesses the main features of COVID-19 from a clinical point of view, based on observations made during the disease epidemic in Northern Italy, one of the most affected areas in the world (the region has been the epicenter of the global pandemic for more than a month), and the first region outside China facing overwhelming numbers of cases. With no practical guidelines in place, Italian doctors were called to fight against an unknown disease. For the first time in modern history, healthcare workers and decision-makers had to find rapid solutions to a life-changing health crisis with no evidence-based recommendations or procedures in place to guide their actions. Sharing the lessons learned from this experience, and offering practical tips on implementing future programs for pandemic preparedness, the book is a valuable tool for medical practitioners and health-policy-makers wanting to better understand the complexity of the current and future global health crises.
ISBN: 9783030780203Publication Date: 2021-08-22
Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, including coronavirus and COVID-19, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format, which are sold separately: Emerging Viruses DNA Viruses RNA Viruses Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975112547Publication Date: 2020-04-17
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology, 28th ed. by
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: * 640+ USMLE-style review questions * 350+ illustrations * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies * Full-color images and micrographs * Chapter-ending summaries * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
ISBN: 9781260012026Publication Date: 2019
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, Eighteenth Edition by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
ISBN: 9781265126001Publication Date: 2024
The Microbiology of Central Nervous System Infections by
The Microbiology of Central Nervous System Infections, Volume 3, discusses modern approaches to the diagnosis, treatment and prophylaxis of central nervous system (CNS) infections. This new release is divided into five sections that cover treatment strategies, imaging, molecular diagnosis, management of CNS infections with metal nanoparticles, and prophylaxis of CNS infections, including bacterial, viral and fungal infections. The last section contains a chapter on transmissible spongiform encephalopathies and modern trends in its diagnosis and treatment. University teachers, medical practitioners, graduate and postgraduate students, researchers in microbiology, and those in the pharmaceutical and laboratory diagnostic industries will find the book very important.
ISBN: 0128138068Publication Date: 2018-04-20
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th ed. by
Comprehensive in scope, yet concise and easy to manage, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th Edition, by Drs. Sarah Long, Charles Prober, and Marc Fischer, is your go-to resource for authoritative information on infectious diseases in children and adolescents. A veritable "who's who" of global authorities provides the practical knowledge you need to understand, diagnose, and manage almost any pediatric infectious disease you may encounter. Features a consistent, easy-access format with high-yield information boxes, highlighted key points, and an abundance of detailed illustrations and at-a-glance tables. Allows quick look-up by clinical presentation, pathogen, or type of host. Includes coverage of the latest vaccine products, recommendations, and effectiveness as well as expanded diagnostics and therapies for autoinflammatory/periodic fever syndromes. Covers emerging viruses such as Zika, Ebola, and EV-D68, as well as infectious risks of immunomodulating drugs and expanding antimicrobial resistance patterns. Discusses expanding antimicrobial resistance patterns and new therapies for viral and fungal infections and resistant bacterial infections. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323401814Publication Date: 2017
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, 8th ed. by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title For more than a quarter-of-a-century, this renowned text has helped readers develop a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Now, with a NEW four-color design, the book is shorter and more assessable for students! Outstanding pedagogical elements are carried throughout this edition including: Over 400 outstanding images with hundreds of tables and illustrations Detailed legends under the art so the reader can better understand what's occurring within the illustration, without having to flip back to the text Clinical Cases with USMLE Style Questions Margin Notes identifying the "high-yield" must know content in each chapter Bulleted Summaries that conclude each chapter Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition is divided into five parts: Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. Features and Learning Aids: 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases (plus one online only chapter) Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical case with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases Numerous full-color photographs, tables, and illustrations Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Chapter-ending case questions PLUS a collection of 100 practice questions Innovative study aids including boxed narrative Overviews that open each disease-oriented chapter or major section, highlighted Margin Notes pointing out high-yield material for USMLE Step 1 preparation, bulleted lists of Key Conclusions at the end of each major section, a THINK ➔ APPLY feature that randomly inserts thought-provoking questions into the body of the text, and more. A set of tables that presents the microbes in context of the clinical infections they produce
ISBN: 9781260464283Publication Date: 2021
