Intensive & Critical Care
Marino's the Little ICU Book by Paul L. Marino; Samuel M. Galvagno; Samuel M. Galvagno
Quick lookup for the most essential info in critical care! Ideal for quick reference at the bedside, The Little ICU Book is a condensed, compact version of The ICU Book , Dr. Marino's best-selling comprehensive intensive care reference .The Little ICU Book zeroes in on only the essentials for the hands-on care of critically ill adult patients. Its fast-access format makes it an indispensible resource for residents as well as busy critical care physicians. Key Features: Apply the latest know-how with comprehensive updates throughout the book. Find the answers you need quickly with a concise outline format and Dr. Marino's accessible, reader-friendly writing style. Grasp visual concepts at a glance through abundant clear, colorful illustrations and tables. Carry it with you everywhere thanks to its portable size.
ISBN: 9781451194586
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Marino's the ICU Book: Print + Ebook with Updates by Paul L. Marino
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list
ISBN: 9781451121186
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Critical Care Medicine by John J. Marini; David J. Dries
Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that's new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before. Chapters follow a consistent structural template, with discussions of diagnosis, instrumentation, treatment and management techniques, and more. Expertly and succinctly captures all the fundamentals of the field! Designed primarily for use by students and residents, but also helpful for anyone already in practice. Emphasizes the pathophysiologic elements and treatments of illness and injury. Now with updated drug info and more substantial coverage of interventional radiology, pregnancy care, and organization of critical care. Adds new, brief summaries that present opposing arguments of controversial points. Topics range from intubation, ventilation, and pharmacotherapy, as well as drug overdoses, sepsis, gastrointestinal bleeding, and other crisis care scenarios. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496302915
Publication Date: 2018-11-03
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine by Baha Al-Shaikh; Simon G. Stacey
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
ISBN: 9780702071959
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by Richard S. Irwin; Craig M. Lilly; Paul H. Mayo; James M. Rippe
With a focus on evidence-based, state-of-the-art information throughout, the eighth edition of Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine offers authoritative guidance to the wide variety of specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. This comprehensive textbook covers both the theoretical and practical aspects of the field, and has been completely updated to provide encyclopedic, interprofessional coverage to support practitioners in every area of this complex field. Features: Approaches intensive care from an interprofessional, collaborative perspective, encompassing anesthesia, surgery, trauma, and neurology, as well as cardiovascular and medical intensive care. Maintains a practical, clinically-oriented approach, with comprehensive sections on procedures, techniques, and ultrasound; minimally invasive monitoring; pharmacology, overdoses, and poisoning; infectious disease; transplantation; critical care consequences of agents of mass destruction; and many more. Features many new chapters, and an entirely new section on Palliative Care and Ethical Issues in the Critical Care Unit. Reflects the rising importance of point-of-care ultrasonography with five hours of expertly narrated video embedded into 23 relevant chapters, clearly depicting the ideal use of this tool for intensivists . Includes a section on ICU Design, Organization, Operation, and Outcome Measures that addresses important changes and advances regarding safety, clinical practice guidelines, decreasing the cost of care, tele-ICU, and more. Provides extensive updates reflecting advances in cardiovascular intensive care, surgical critical care, shock and trauma, and sepsis management. Includes recommendations reflecting randomized controlled clinical trials, summarized, when possible, in quick-reference tables throughout. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496306081
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Irwin and Rippe's Ultrasonography for Management of the Critically Ill by Craig M. Lilly (Editor); Paul H. Mayo (Editor); Seth J. Koenig (Editor); Richard S. Irwin (Editor)
Enhancing and adding to ultrasonographic text and video content in Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, Eighth Edition, this easy-to-follow volume provides expert guidance on the optimal use of ultrasound in the critical care environment. Irwin & Rippe's Ultrasonography for Management of the Critically Ill covers a wide variety of critical care procedures, explaining how to perform them and how ultrasound can be used to support evaluation and management services to patients with life-threatening illnesses or injuries. Covers commonly performed procedures, including neurological, airway and respiratory, cardiac, vascular and hematological, gastrointestinal and abdominal, genitourinary, and peripheral. Features sections on the general use of ultrasonography and patient comfort during procedures. Includes illustrations, plus dynamic, highly instructive videos that help you perform rapid bedside diagnostic evaluation of unstable patients. Ideal for critical care practitioners, fellows, and nurses, as well as other critical care clinicians who seek to incorporate ultrasonography into their practices. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975144951
Publication Date: 2020-11-12
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Calvin A. Brown (Editor-In-Chief); John C. Sakles (Associate Editor); Nathan W. Mick (Associate Editor)
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781496351968
Publication Date: 2017-06-28
Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, Fifth Edition by Gregory A. Schmidt; John Kress; Ivor S. Douglas
The field's definitive text-updated with the latest advances in critical care and 1,000+ color images Comprehensive and current, Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care is the authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, it features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity unavailable in other critical care resources. This peerless guide provides consensus on the complex and often-conflicting data in the practice of critical care, along with copious diagnostic and treatment algorithms. The text covers every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies. This updated fifth edition is highlighted by: In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient's specific condition New chapters on Oxygen Delivery Systems; Ultrasound in Critical Care; Fungal and Viral Infections; Pulmonary Hypertension; Alcohol Withdrawal; and COVID-19 and Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH) New material regarding critical care pandemic preparedness and response Enhanced cross-disciplinary chapters addressing the structures and systems of critical care, including staffing, safety, and informatics New contributions on caregiver and family issues and the implications of disordered sleep for the critically ill A full-color presentation
ISBN: 9781264264353
Publication Date: 2023-08-18
