Palliative Care
Care at the Close of Life by
The world's leading source of evidence-based guidance on caring for patients at the end of life. Featuirng the content of the world's most widely read medical journal, plus completely new, never-before-published content. Perfect for medical students, trainees, and clinicians alike. Market / Audience Medical students: 18000/yr US, 250,000 global NP and PA students: 25,000/yr US, 50,000+ global IM and FP residents: 30,000 US, 60,000 global IM and FP clinicians: 140,000 US, 300,000+ global Palliative medicine: 3000 US Oncology: 20,000 US, 60,000 global Social workers About the Book In the tradition of the User's Guides to the Medical Literature, and The Rational Clinical Examination, JAMA/Care at the Close of Life is based on a widely successful series of articles appearing over the course of the last ten years in JAMA, the world's most widely read medical journal. The series is directed by Stephen McPhee, a leading authoriity of end of life care, and the chief editor of our market leading Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment text. The articles in the series cover fundamental topics and challenges in caring for patients who have been given a terminal diagnosis. Featuring a strong focus on evidence-based medicine, and organized by clinical cases, the articles are widely read by faculty, medical students, and clinicians who, frankly, have not been given a solid educational experience on this very important medical issue. The book will be physically modeled after The Rational Clinical Examination, in a full color format that highlights the clinical cases. It will be well suited for use as an required or recommended textbook for medical, PA, and NO students, and as a clinical reference text for trainees and practicing physicians and nurses. Key Selling Features Based on highy regarded content from the world's most widely read medical journal All content is completely updated, and extensive new, never-before-published content has been added Case-based, and evidence-based, so its a perfect fit for the way medical students and residents like to learn Focuses on practical, real-world issues for primary care physicians, and avoids esoteric issues of interest only to specialists in palliative care Full color format, modeled after the highly regarded Rational Clinical Examination Includes multimedia materials available on line: Power Point slides for teaching, and video interviews with patients in end-of-life care, so that faculty and students get supplemental resources for learning the art and science of care at the end of life Evidence-based guidance from the world's leading medical journal, on a critical topic that has been neglected in medical education and training until recently. Author Profile JAMA is the world's most widely read medical journal, and has a reputation for excellence in evidence-based medicine. Stephen McPhee has high visbility on account of his editorship of CMDT, and for his driving role in enhancing end of life care in medical education and training programs. He is: Professor of Medicine, UCSF School of Medicine, San Francisco CA
ISBN: 9780071637961
Geriatric Palliative Care by
The growing geriatric population in the United States has created an increasing need for palliative medicine services across the range of medical and surgical specialties. Yet, palliative medicine lacks the resources to carry such a workload itself. Geriatric Palliative Care addresses thisneed by encouraging individual specialties to "own" the management of elderly with the same vigor as they "own" other key management competencies within their specialty. This clinically focused and highly practical handbook, which compliments the more comprehensive text Geriatric Palliative Care bySean Morrison and Diane Meier (Oxford University Press, 2003), encourages this process of learning and ownership across many medical specialties. Designed to be readable and easily accessible to a range of health care providers, Geriatric Palliative Care outlines specific strategies for caring forspecific palliative care issues common in elderly patients. The handbook also provides evidence based advice for helping patients, relatives, and staff cope with such issues as polypharmacy, dementia and consent, multiple pathologies, home care, elderly caregivers, and supporting the elderly in theplace where they would like to be.
ISBN: 9780195389319Publication Date: 2014-04-18
Hospice and Palliative Care, 3rd ed. by
The third edition of Hospice and Palliative Care is the essential guide to the hospice and palliative care movement both within the United States and around the world. Chapters provide mental-health and medical professionals with a comprehensive overview of the hospice practice as well as discussions of challenges and the future direction of the hospice movement. Updates to the new edition include advances in spiritual assessment and care, treatment of prolonged and complicated grief, provision of interdisciplinary palliative care in limited-resource settings, significant discussion of assisted suicide, primary healthcare including oncology, and more. Staff and volunteers new to the field along with experienced care providers and those using hospice and palliative care services will find this essential reading.
ISBN: 9781317221173Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care by
The Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care returns for a third edition, maintaining the concise yet comprehensive format suited to the busy practitioner for quick access to key information, and fully updated to reflect changes in the palliative care landscape.Featuring an increased emphasis on non-malignant diseases such as dementia, this authoritative text combines evidence-based care with the bedside experience of experienced palliative care professionals to give the reader a complete overview of the physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of carefor the end-of-life patient. Symptom management is covered in detail, with updated formulary tables and syringe driver protocols, and a new chapter on international perspectives to broaden the reader's perception of methods for delivering end-of-life care.The third edition of the Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care is the essential companion for all of those working with adults, children, and families with palliative care needs, in both hospital and community settings.
ISBN: 9780198745655Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine by
This sixth edition of the Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine takes us now into the third decade for this definitive award-winning textbook. It has been rigorously updated to offer a truly global perspective, highlighting the best current evidence-based practices, and collective wisdom frommore than 200 experts around the world.This leading textbook covers all the new and emerging topics, updated and restructured to reflect major developments in the increasingly widespread acceptance of palliative medicine as a fundamental public health need. The sixth edition includes new sections devoted to family and caregiver issues,cardio-respiratory symptoms and disorders, and genitourinary symptoms and disorders. In addition, the multi-disciplinary nature of palliative care is emphasized throughout the textbook, covering areas from ethical and communication issues, the treatment of symptoms, and the management of pain.The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine is a truly comprehensive text. No hospital, hospice, palliative care service, or medical library should be without this essential source of information.This sixth edition of the Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine is dedicated to the memory of Professor Kenneth Fearon husband of Professor Marie Fallon and a surgeon who became a world leader in the research and management of anorexia and cachexia. He modeled a work-life balance that is socritical in our field, with devotion to both his patients and his family.
ISBN: 9780198821328Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Palliative Medicine: a Case-Based Manual by
Palliative medicine is the medical care provided for people who have a life limiting illness or condition. It encompasses both the physical symptoms a person may experience but also the psychosocial, emotional, and ethical issues that may arise.Now in its fourth edition, Palliative Medicine: A case-based manual walks clinicians through the management of the most common situations found in palliative medicine, from diagnosis and managing symptoms through to grief and bereavement. Using real patient case scenarios and an easy-to-readquestion and answer format, it gives students and medical professionals an accessible, evidence-based entryway to gain the skills and knowledge needed to provide high quality palliative and end of life care to patients and their families.This new edition has been fully updated to cover the latest guidance, including new chapters dedicated to medical cannabis, opioids, grief and bereavement, and wider issues including palliative care in the community, structurally vulnerable populations, and public health.Written by over 50 experienced palliative care clinicians and educators, this book will be a welcome guide for palliative care workers, medical and nursing students, and medical professionals of any specialty where palliative needs might arise.
ISBN: 9780198837008Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Perinatal Palliative Care by
This unique book is a first-of-its-kind resource that comprehensively covers each facet and challenge of providing optimal perinatal palliative care. Designed for a wide and multi-disciplinary audience, the subjects covered range from theoretical to the clinical and the practically relevant, and all chapters include case studies that provide real-world scenarios as additional teaching tools for the reader. Perinatal Palliative Care: A Clinical Guide is divided into four sections. Part One provides the foundation, covering an overview of the field, key theories that guide the practice of perinatal palliative care, and includes a discussion of perinatal ethics and parental experiences and needs upon receiving a life-limiting fetal diagnosis. Part Two delves further into practical clinical care, guiding readers through issues of obstetrical management, genetic counseling, neonatal pain management, non-pain symptom management, spiritual care, and perinatal bereavement care. Part Three discusses models of perinatal palliative care, closely examining evidence for different types of PPC programs: from hospital-based programs, to community-based care, and examines issues of interdisciplinary PPC care coordination, birth planning, and team support. Finally, Part Four concludes the book with a close look at special considerations in the field. In this section, racial, ethnic, and cultural perspectives and implications for PPC are discussed, along with lessons in how to provide PPC for a wide-range of clinical and other healthcare workers. The book closes with a look to the future of the field of perinatal palliative care. Thorough and practical, Perinatal Palliative Care: A Clinical Guide is an ideal resource for any healthcare practitioner working with these vulnerable patient populations, from palliative care specialists, to obstetricians, midwifes, neonatologists, hospice providers, nurses, doulas, social workers, chaplains, therapists, ethicists, and child life specialists.
ISBN: 3030347508Publication Date: 2020-02-06
Principles and Practice of Palliative Care and Support Oncology by
The only book on the market to cover palliative care for both adults and children, Pediatric and Adult Palliative Care and Support Oncology offers an easy-to-read, interdisciplinary approach to supportive oncology as well as end-of-life care. Ideal for oncologists, residents, fellows, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants, the fifth edition provides important updates for conventional topics while also featuring several brand new chapters. Covering everything from dermatologic toxicity of cancer treatment to running family meetings for setting goals of care, this unique title is a source of both help and inspiration to all those who care for patients with cancer. Offers an interdisciplinary approach to supportive oncology, providing practical ways to implement integrated care to patients and families who live with cancer. Covers common issues such as pain, fatigue, nausea, and vomiting--both the physical symptoms and the psychosocial/spiritual effects--helping the reader understand practical ways of integrating curing and healing. Features entirely new chapters covering emerging topics in the field of palliative care, such as cannabinoids, survivorship issues in pediatrics, and cancer genetics. Provides expert guidance from contributing authors in medial, radiation, and surgical oncology, as well as nursing, neurology, psychiatry, anesthesiology, and pharmacology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975143688Publication Date: 2021-06-03
