Family Medicine
The Essential Guide to Primary Care Procedures, 2nd ed. by
Perform today's essential office procedures with confidence! Packed with more than 1,500 full-color illustrations, The Essential Guide to Primary Care Procedures, 2nd Edition , is your go-to guide to more than 125 of the key medical procedures commonly performed in an office setting. This hands-on manual provides step-by-step, illustrated instructions for each procedure, as well as indications, contraindications, CPT codes, average U.S. charges for each procedure, and more. From the basic (cerumen removal and simple interrupted sutures) to the complex (colonoscopy and chest tube placement), this atlas covers the vast majority of skills you'll use in your day-to-day practice. Stay up to date with new procedures and equipment , including dorsal penile block, peripheral nerve blocks, topical anesthesia, hand-held ultrasound, electrodessication and curettage, dermoscopy, aesthetic procedures, Wood's slide examination, and more. Perform procedures more effectively and avoid common mistakes with popular "pearls and pitfalls" sections. Go beyond the basics with coverage of complications, post-procedures and pediatric considerations, and evidence-based references in each chapter. Get complete, practical coverage in every chapter , including background information on each procedure; indications and contraindications; sequential instructions, pictures and illustrations of the procedure; bulleted pitfalls and pearls; suggested CPT codes and average charges; and references. More evidence based medicine , with referencing throughout the chapters and appendices. View handy compilations of information applicable to many procedures , recommendations, and other practical information in the appendices. A great reference for the novice proceduralist who is learning procedures, or for the establish clinician who wishes to update or brush up on their knowledge. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: More than 100 patient education handouts Videos of common procedures Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451191868Publication Date: 2015
Health Promotion & Disease Prevention in Clinical Practice, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 9781975142230Publication Date: 2022
Obstetrics in Family Medicine, 3rd ed. by
Obstetrical care in the family medicine setting is an ever-evolving discipline. In addition to routine updates due to the passage of time, several new developments have occurred in the field since the last edition of this book was published. Among these developments are advances in prenatal assessment and diagnosis, recommendations for vaccination in pregnancy, assessment and management of infectious disease in pregnancy, and management of chronic disease concurrent with pregnancy. All thirty-one chapters of the second edition of this text have been thoroughly updated. Several chapters warranted substantive expansion and revision due to the developments on the topic. These chapters include preconception counseling, prenatal care, dysmorphic growth, preterm labor, recurrent pregnancy loss, infection, diabetes, postdates, normal labor, induction and augmentation, prolonged labor, fetal heart rate monitoring, routine postpartum and complications postpartum. A new chapter has been added that covers vaccination in pregnancy as well as other routine wellness recommendations. Now in its fully revised and expanded third edition, Obstetrics in Family Medicine reflects the significant changes that have occurred in the field since 2015. This book remains the definitive resource for meeting the needs of a wide range of primary care providers who provide direct or indirect care of patients of childbearing age. This book also appeals to nurse practitioners, physician assistants and nursing personnel working in the primary care setting. Additionally, this book serves as a useful guide for medical providers who intersect with pregnant, or possibly pregnant patients including emergency medicine physicians, surgeons, EMT's and paramedics.
ISBN: 3030398870Publication Date: 2020
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care, 3rd ed. by
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care, 3rd Edition is a comprehensive, "how-to" resource offering step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care clinicians. . Designed for everyday practice, the outline format allows speedy reference while the detailed text and clear illustrations guide you through each procedure. The new edition of this best-selling book features full-color illustrations and easy access to the complete contents and illustrations, patient forms, and more online at www.expertconsult.com. Understand how to proceed, step by step, thanks to detailed text and illustrations. Locate critical information at a glance with numerous boxes and tables. Use the book for years with minimal wear and tear thanks to its sturdy cover. Patient education handouts to educate, save time, and reduce liability Coding guidelines included This best selling text now includes full-color photos and new sections on Aesthetic and Hospitalist Procedures in addition to an update of all the previous procedures discussed in prior editions! Access the complete contents and illustrations online, download patient education handouts and consent forms, view lists of device manufacturers, and more at www.expertconsult.com. Offer your patients a variety of cosmetic procedures using lasers and pulsed-light devices (including individual chapters on procedures for hair removal, photorejuvenation, skin tightening and skin resurfacing, and tattoo removal), and botulinum toxin, as well as new coverage of cosmeceutical skin care, tissue fillers, and photodynamic therapy. Master new procedures such as maggot treatment for chronic ulcers, endovenous vein closure, stress echo, insertion of the contraceptive capsule (Implanon) and tubal implant (Essure), musculoskeletal ultrasound, no-needle/no-scalpel vasectomy, procedures to treat acute headaches, and more. Don't worry! All the more basic office procedures are still included...with improved and updated discussions! Pfenninger and Fowler provide the latest and most comprehensive information on medical procedures that allow primary care physicians to more effectively treat their patients.
ISBN: 9780323052672Publication Date: 2011
Primary Care Medicine, 8th ed. by
Clinicians and students at all levels and in all primary care disciplines will benefit from the clear, practical, evidence-based writing and recommendations that address the full spectrum of clinical problems encountered in the adult primary care practice. Whether it's the answer to a screening, prevention, evaluation, or management question or a comprehensive approach to a complex condition, the reader will find a review of best evidence integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience and patient preference. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Primary Care Medicine 's digital format and quarterly updates ensure current, point-of-care decision support. New, online resources include a recommended curriculum for trainees and faculty, emphasizing a core knowledge base needed for all members of the primary care team, and access to state-of-the-art, condition-specific decision grids to facilitate patient participation in shared decision-making. Features: Interactive eBook with searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, including expanded sections on complementary and alternative therapies, men's and women's health issues, ADHD, posttraumatic stress disorder, and biologic therapies for cancer and autoimmune disorders. All chapters are completely updated with new data from nearly 3000 of the latest and best randomized trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and cost-effectiveness studies, addressing such issues as revised treatment goals for diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia; new oral anticoagulants for stroke prophylaxis; new antiviral therapies for HIV and hepatitis C; new diagnostic standards for mental health disorders; and best approaches to screening for lung cancer and coronary disease. New sections on evidence-based approaches to team care that enhance patient outcomes. Over 300 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Bulleted recommendations, blending best consensus guidelines with approaches to personalizing care. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Searchable text with quarterly updates integrating important new evidence Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The result is an invaluable tool for decision support and learning at the point of care. "Compared with other primary care books written for use in the office at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine is the one to own." Journal of the American Medical Association
ISBN: 9781451151497Publication Date: 2021
Primary Care Pain Management by
Authored by experts in pain medicine and internal medicine at the University of California, Davis, Primary Care Pain Management delivers just the right amount of clinically relevant information for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Addressing safe and effective pain management in the primary care setting, it follows a user-friendly, high-yield format for quick reference at the point of care, helping you understand the full range of options for treating patients with chronic and acute pain. Presents information in a highly templated, full-color format, with an abundance of tables and algorithms throughout. Covers opioid consent, agreement, and prescribing; nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; neuropathic pain medications; interventional pain management; physical therapy; complementary modalities; integrative medicine, and more. Includes a "When to Refer" section in every chapter, providing you with a list of questions and key points that could indicate a need for referral to a specialist or surgeon. Emphasizes compassionate care and continuity of care - both key issues in an area that is often emotionally difficult for patients and caregivers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496378804Publication Date: 2019-09-18
Primary Care Psychiatry Handbook by
Written by a psychiatrist who works full-time in the primary care setting, Primary Care Psychiatry Handbook is a quick, practical guide to the key diagnostic and therapeutic information you need to offer optimal mental health care to your patients. Derived from Primary Care Psychiatry, 2nd Edition, this high-yield, point of care handbook uses quick-reference tables, key points, and more to help you answer the question, "What do I do right now?" Delivers precisely the information needed by primary care providers who need to quickly confirm a psychiatric diagnosis or treatment option. Helps you understand potential underlying mental health issues such as depression, which often go unrecognized and under-treated in the primary care setting. Features mnemonics, key points, up-to-date drug information, clinical notes, Abbreviations and acronyms, tables, full-color figures, and more - all designed for quick reference at the point of care. Features up to date information on each subject drawn from the most current academic, research, and organizational psychiatry sources. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 1496366948Publication Date: 2018
Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine, 4th ed. by
Designed for today's busy practitioner, Taylor's Manual of Family Medicine, 4th Edition , provides practical, expert guidance for the issues you face daily in family practice and primary care. Easy to understand and clinically useful, this trusted manual has been thoroughly updated with the latest clinical information and evidence, including electronic resources. Whether you're a physician in a clinic, extended care, or hospital setting, or a resident or practitioner looking for a high-yield board review tool, this manual addresses the real-world issues you see most, allowing you to provide optimum care for every patient. Stay up to date with all-new chapters and expanded chapters on delirium, movement disorders, dementia, pregnancy loss and stillbirth, acute musculoskeletal injuries, and more. Get the latest practical information on commonly encountered clinical problems, including OB/GYN and childbirth, pediatrics, and mental health. Find what you need quickly with templated chapters that cover diagnostic criteria, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and screening, including physical diagnosis, laboratory findings, and imaging studies. Understand how to make the right diagnosis and know when to order the right test, based on common presenting symptoms. Use this manual to study efficiently and effectively for the ABFP certification and recertification exams. Topics follow ACGME and AAFP program requirements for residency training. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781496300683Publication Date: 2015
Textbook of Family Medicine, 9th ed. by
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices. The Textbook of Family Medicine continues to provide the latest, most comprehensive coverage of family medicine practice.
ISBN: 9780323239905Publication Date: 2015
