Endocrinology & Metabolism
Endocrine Physiology, 5th ed. by Patricia E. Molina
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The principles of endocrinology and metabolism clearly and simply explained on a system-by-system, organ-by-organ basis ESSENTIAL FOR USMLE® STEP 1 REVIEW! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Applauded by medical students for its clarity, comprehensiveness, and portability, Endocrine Physiology, Fifth Edition delivers unmatched coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological actions. These concepts provide a solid foundation for first-and-second year medical students to understand the physiologic mechanisms involved in neuroendocrine regulation of organ function. With its emphasis on must-know principles, Endocrine Physiology is essential for residents and fellows, and is the single-best endocrine review available for the USMLE® Step 1. Here's why this is essential for USMLE® Step 1 review: * Informative first chapter describes the organization of the endocrine system, as well as general concepts of hormone production and release, transport and metabolic rate, and cellular mechanisms of action * Boxed case studies help you apply principles to real-world clinical situations * Each chapter includes bulleted Objectives, Key Concepts, Study Questions, Suggested Readings, and diagrams encapsulating key concepts If you've been looking for a student-tested, basic yet comprehensive review of endocrinology and metabolism, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781260019353
Publication Date: 2018
Evidence-Based Endocrinology, 4th ed. by Pauline M. Camacho
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Providing summaries of the latest and best publications, clinical trials, and evidence in endocrinology, this portable handbook is a time-saving addition to your professional library. In a concise, easy-to-read format, it offers evidence-based recommendations for the diagnosis and treatment of endocrine disorders and provides a comprehensive summary of pertinent clinical studies supporting the practice recommendations. Covers the major areas of endocrinology: hypothalamic-pituitary, thyroid, adrenal, metabolic bone, reproductive, diabetes, lipid disorders, obesity and nutrition, endocrine malignancies, and genetics Features hundreds of new references and careful revision of every chapter to bring you up to date Provides updated tables for quick reference Presents a comprehensive update of new therapies and the latest clinical guidelines for diabetes, thyroid, and metabolic bone diseases Includes a new chapter on the management of transgender patients Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975110840
Publication Date: 2019
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, 10th ed. by David G. Gardner; Dolores M. Shoback
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan's is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan's provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan. Here's why Greenspan's is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients: * The Tenth Edition is enhanced by updated content throughout each chapter * NEW CHAPTERS on Transgender Endocrinology and Disorders of Sexual Determination and Differentiation * Important chapter on Evidence-Based Endocrinology and Clinical Epidemiology * Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles that guide patient management * The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making * The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing * More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs If you are in need of a well-illustrated, completely up-to-date guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology, this trusted classic belongs on your desk or computer.
ISBN: 1259589285
Publication Date: 2017
Thyroid Cytopathology, 2nd ed. by Sudha R. Kini
Successfully diagnose the full spectrum of thyroid neoplasia with Thyroid Cytopathology: A Text and Atlas! In this trusted pathology reference, readers are provided with the most comprehensive, authoritative coverage on the evaluation of thyroid fine-needle biopsy specimens available in one source. The text discusses everything from basic cytopathology concepts, fine-needle aspiration biopsy techniques, and cytopreparation through the interpretation of the complete range of cytology findings, ancillary diagnostic techniques, and the application of pathology reports to management decisions. With Thyroid Cytopathology: A Text and Atlas , you can confidently identify even the most challenging specimens in a timely manner in order to optimize clinical response.Key Features Effectively interpret the newer liquid-based cytologic preparations of thyroid aspirates , as well as the traditional wet-fixed Papanicolaou-stained and air-dried Romanowski-stained preparations, with richly illustrated, in-depth coverage of all these approaches. Apply the latest molecular diagnostic techniques for evaluating follicular/Hürthle cell lesions of the thyroid gland, prognostication of papillary thyroid carcinomas, and other difficult challenges. Obtain balanced guidance on ultrasound-guided FNA biopsy with contributions from both radiologists and endocrinologists. Recognize essential clinical features by comparing your specimens to more than 1,700 full-color photomicrographs that depict the full range of fine needle aspiration biopsy findings, including unusual as well as typical patterns. Avoid diagnostic pitfalls with an emphasis on overlapping patterns and differential diagnosis. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451193893
Publication Date: 2015-06-11
Werner and Ingbar's the Thyroid, 11th ed. by Lewis E. Braverman
Through ten outstanding editions, Werner & Ingbar's The Thyroid: A Fundamental and Clinical Text has been the go-to reference for the most comprehensive coverage of the thyroid, including anatomy, development, biochemistry, physiology, pathophysiology, and treatment of all thyroid disorders. Now in full color throughout, the 11th Edition of this award-winning text remains the clinician's preferred source of authoritative information on the thyroid--an essential resource for all endocrinologists and thyroid surgeons. Includes thorough updates and new content throughout the text, especially on thyroid cytopathology, thyroid imaging, and targeted therapy of thyroid cancer as well as a new full-color format. Covers all aspects of the thyroid, including thyroid hormone synthesis and secretion, thyroid function, and disorders such as thyrotoxicosis, hypothyroidism, and cancer. Discusses surgical management of thyroid cancer, thyroid disruptors, thyroid hormone analogs, thyroid dysfunction's effects on other organ systems, the aging thyroid, subclinical hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism, and thyroid disease in pregnancy. Features insights from international experts, including new editor Dr. Peter Kopp of Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975112967
Publication Date: 2020
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 13th ed. by Shlomo Melmed; Kenneth S. Polonsky; P. Reed Larsen; Henry M. Kronenberg
For more than 65 years, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology has been the gold standard in the field, delivering authoritative guidance on every aspect of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. The 13th Edition has been thoroughly updated by Drs. Shlomo Melmed, Kenneth S. Polonsky, P. Reed Larsen, and Henry M. Kronenberg, to bring you state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, and much more, all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, it is an essential, relevant resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, and pediatricians - any clinician who needs the most reliable coverage available on the diverse features across the spectrum of endocrine disease. Obtain a better understanding of both scientific insight and clinical data from the classic reference that delivers the current information you need in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format. Stay up to date with expanded discussions of autoimmune thyroid diseases, mechanisms, and the appropriate treatment of the ophthalmopathy of Graves' disease; a new section on the interpretation of fine needle aspiration results in patients with thyroid nodules; and new coverage of when and when not to use radioiodine in the treatment of patients with thyroid cancer. Update your knowledge and skills with all-new chapters on Genetics of Endocrine Disease, Endocrinology of Population Health, and Laboratory Techniques for Recognition of Endocrine Disorders. Confidently manage any clinical endocrinopathy you may encounter thanks to new information on recent FDA-approved drugs for pituitary disorders, a new focus on pediatrics, and new content on diabetes, obesity, and appetite control. Benefit from the expertise of dynamic new contributors who offer fresh perspectives throughout.
ISBN: 9780323297387
Publication Date: 2015
