Gastroenterology & Hepatology
The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery by
This book serves as a valuable resource for surgeons and health care providers at all stages of their career caring for patients with colorectal disease. This edition provides all newly written chapters, organized around the "pillars" of colorectal disease: perioperative (including endoscopy); anorectal disease; benign disease (including inflammatory bowel disease); malignancy; pelvic floor disorders; and a "miscellaneous" section that covers aspects both inside and beyond the operating room. Chapters are formatted to follow that of a "how to" manual as well as an algorithm-based guide to allow the reader to understand the thought process behind a proposed treatment strategy. By making use of evidence-based recommendations, each chapter includes not only background information and diagnostic/therapeutic guidelines, but also provides operative technical details and perioperative "tips and tricks" that are utilized in the management of these complex surgical challenges. Chapters also include the assessment of risk and methods utilized to minimize perioperative complications. In addition, the book incorporates sections covering the medical and surgical therapies for abdominal, pelvic and anorectal disease. Written by experts in the field from around the world, The ASCRS Textbook of Colon and Rectal Surgery 4th Edition exposes the many critical gaps in our knowledge base and inspires the next generation to answer them through thoughtful and high level scientific inquiry.
ISBN: 9783030660482Publication Date: 2022-05-04
Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology: a Pattern Based Approach to Neoplastic Biopsies by
Closely mirroring the daily sign-out process, Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology: A Pattern Based Approach to Neoplastic Biopsies is a highly illustrated, efficient guide to accurate diagnosis. This practical reference uses a proven, pattern-based approach to clearly explain how to interpret challenging cases by highlighting red flags in the clinical chart and locating hidden clues in the slides. Useful as a daily "scope-side guide," it features numerous clinical and educational features that help you find pertinent information, reach a correct diagnosis, and assemble a thorough and streamlined pathology report. More than 1,600 high-quality photomicrographs capture the subtle morphologic spectrum of neoplastic processes of the tubular GI tract. Each image is captioned with key diagnostic considerations and includes call-outs showing subtle features and diagnostic clues. Practical tools throughout the text include: Tables that emphasize salient clinicopathologic features, management implications, and therapeutic options o Discussions of how and when to incorporate molecular tools o Checklists for key elements of the diagnostic approach and sample notes for inclusion in pathology reports Relevant endoscopic images, photographs of select gross specimens, and medical figures Brief reviews of normal histology that provide contrast to succeeding patterns "Pearls and Pitfalls" and "Near Misses" sections with lessons from real life sign-out experience "Frequently Asked Questions" sections that discuss common diagnostic dilemmas "Sample Note" sections that offer a template of how to synthesize complicated or especially challenging topics Quizzes in every chapter that provide experience with high-yield, board-style teaching topics Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496367549Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Atlas of Liver Pathology: a Pattern-Based Approach by
Part of the new Pattern-Based Approach series, designed to teach pathology in a way that reflects actual sign-out, this new visually-oriented guidebook presents real-life cases and practical diagnostic tips. Disease processes are organized into 'patterns' of injury--the method by which pathologists approach their work--and self-assessment quizzes are provided for each chapter to give you experience with high-yield, board-style teaching topics. Nearly 800 high-quality photomicrographs to help you generate efficient differential diagnoses and avoid diagnostic pitfalls. Detailed figure legends and handy Checklists and Key Features sections streamline information and help you better understand the pattern-based approach. The Pearls & Pitfalls and the Near Miss sections offer valuable lessons from sneaky cases. Tables emphasize salient clinicopathologic features, management implications, and therapeutic options. FAQs focus on common diagnostic dilemmas. The Sample Note sections offer templates of how to sign-out complicated cases and include up-to-date references. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496396976Publication Date: 2019-03-29
Gastrointestinal Physiology 2/e by
Gain a complete understanding of the functioning of the gastrointestinal system with this concise, engagingly written text Gastrointestinal Physiology explains the operation and performance of one of the body's most crucial systems. Using clear, compelling language, the book's presentation makes it easy to absorb the content andintegrate it as you learn the physiology of other bodilysystems. Written to help you understand essential conceptsrather than merely memorize facts, this unique textexamines many medically relevant facets of this important body system, including anatomy, pathophysiology, andtherapeutics, in concert with physiological information. FEATURES: Provides a thorough review of core concepts and highlights clinical application Covers the physiologic principles needed to understand and treat patients with digestive and liver diseases Includes clinical examples that link basic science with the practice of medicine Incorporates new information on emerging topics such as the communication between the intestine and central nervous system that controls food intake, the myriad rolesnewly ascribed to the intestinal microbiota, contemporary approaches to therapy for a number of GI maladies, and the role of the gut in obesity Enhanced by valuable learning aids such as study questions, learning objectives, key concepts, numerous illustrations and charts, and recommended readings
ISBN: 9780071774017Publication Date: 2013-09-10
Greenberger's CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Fourth Edition by
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endoscopy, Fourth Edition offers authoritative insights for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating digestive tract and liver disorders. This peerless guide delivers authoritative coverage of the entire spectrum of gastroenterology and hepatology conditions, from stomach and esophageal to pancreatic and liver disorders, with very chapter outlining the essentials of diagnosis for each condition. Logically organized, the book begins with a section on general concerns, such as acute abdominal pain, and progresses to specific disease categories. High-yield overview of an effective treatment approach for chronic hepatitis C provides key perspectives on improving patient outcomes. Features 90+ full-color endoscopic and radiographic images enhance clinical decision-making and clarify imaging techniques Essentials of Diagnosis provide at-a-glance review of both common and rare digestive disorder Updated references include clinically relevant articles published in 2016 Includes continued coverage of the revised national guidelines
ISBN: 1260473430Publication Date: 2022-06-16
Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures by
The only handbook to cover both endoscopic and non-endoscopic GI procedures, Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures, 5th Edition, has been extensively revised and reorganized to be even more useful as a quick reference in your practice. New editors, 20 new chapters, and a concise, pocket-sized format make it a must-have resource for clinicians involved in any aspect of gastroenterologic procedures. Comprehensive yet succinct coverage of all diagnostic and therapeutic GI procedures--both endoscopic and non-endoscopic--in current use for adult and pediatric patients. A concise, logically structured format includes indications, contraindications, patient preparation, equipment, technique, post-procedure care, and adverse events. New chapters include balloon-assisted enteroscopy, placement of colonic self-expandable metal stents, endoscopic ultrasound-guided biopsies and drainage, endoscopic submucosal dissection, peroral endoscopic myotomy, and management of post-surgical adverse events. More than 100 drawings guide you through key steps. Appendices provide information on organizing a procedure unit, handling specimens, doses of GI drugs, guidelines for endoscopic screening and surveillance, CPT codes, and more. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975111656Publication Date: 2020-04-25
Schiff's Diseases of the Liver by
The most important and reliable resource for treating diseases of the liver For more than 55 years, "Schiff" has been acclaimed as the most outstanding liver book in the world. This new 12th edition brings the field completely up to date and includes a companion website that features a wide-variety of accessory materials. The text is evidence-based to offer hepatologists and gastroenterologists treating patients with liver disease a comprehensive and essential resource. The text highlights clinical practice and covers anatomy, pathology, testing, imaging, and the effects of liver disease on other organs. The book is written in clear and accessible terms and key features include: Treatment guidelines and management algorithms for every disease Full-color attractive design throughout the text Informative section overviews for each section Concise key concepts box in every chapter A full liver transplant section This 12th edition is thoroughly revised with the latest clinical information. The new edition offers: Information on acute and chronic liver failure and infections in cirrhosis Over 100 MCQs Downloads for Powerpoint(tm) making the content ideal for presentations Schiff's Diseases of the Liver is designed to be a first-stop reference for dealing with today's demanding clinical situations.
ISBN: 1119251222Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease- 2 Volume Set by
Sleisenger and Fordtran?s Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of gastroenterology and hepatology. Overcome your most complex clinical challenges and make optimal use of the newest techniques, technologies, and treatments?with superb guidance from hundreds of world-renowned authorities. Meticulous updates throughout include the latest approaches and improvements in gastrointestinal and liver disease diagnosis and therapy as well as hundreds of images and 35 new procedural videos. "..one of the most valuable clinical resources in the dynamic field of gastroenterology and hepatology." Reviewed by Brindusa Diaconu on behalf of the Journal of Gastrointestinal and Liver Diseases, July 2015 "..an engaging, educational yet clinically orientated textbook which is relevant to modern clinical practice." Reviewed by Dr Harry Brown on behalf of glycosmedia.com, April 2015 "I can personally attest to the remarkable advances that have been made, as I was author of the chapter on eosinophilic gastroenteritis in the second edition of the textbook, and reading the same chapter in the tenth edition underscores the important advances that have been made in our understanding of the molecular basis as well as the pathophysiology of this and related disorders." Foreword by Norton J. Greenberger, MD Boston, Massachusetts, June 2015 Get the essential gastroenterology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Zero in on the key information you need to know with a consistent, full-color chapter design. Stay up to date with emerging and challenging topics: enteric microbiota and probiotics; fecal microbiota transplantation; Clostridium difficile colitis; and factitious gastrointestinal diseases. Incorporate the latest findings and improvements in care for liver disease patients-from diagnosis and treatment through post-treatment strategies and management of complications. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Master all aspects of your field with the latest edition of the world's top GI reference Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9781455746927Publication Date: 2015-01-20
