Orthopaedics, Sports & Musculoskeletal Medicine
5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult by Suraj Achar; Kenneth S. Taylor
Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult, 3rd Edition, is a reliable, go-to resource for clinicians in primary care, sports medicine, nursing, pediatrics, athletic training and physical therapy. This popular title provides rapid access to guidance on diagnosis, acute treatment (including on-field management), long-term treatment (including rehabilitation and referrals), and commonly asked questions for common sports-related problems seen in adult and pediatric patients. The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible ... allowing you to focus your valuable time on giving your patients the best possible care. Get quick access to all-new content , including Ankle Impingement, Femero-acetabular Impingement, Myositis Ossificans, and Vocal Cord Dysfunction, in print and online. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; return-to-play and secondary prevention information; and much more. Make confident decisions aided by current evidence-based designations in each topic. Consult useful appendices for quick answers on musculoskeletal radiography and joint and soft tissue injection. Written by esteemed primary care and sports medicine practitioners and published by the leading publisher in medical content, The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult, 3rd Edition includes a 10-Day Free Trial to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is an evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point of care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: A thoroughly updated and expanded appendix on Office Rehabilitation More than 1,500 additional topics, including the full contents of The 5-Minute Clinical Consult and The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Differential diagnosis support from an extensive collection of algorithms Current evidence-based designations highlighted in each topic Thousands of images to help support visual diagnosis of all conditions A video library of procedures, treatment, and physical therapy techniques An A-to-Z Drug Database from Facts & Comparisons® Guidance on laboratory test interpretation from Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests More than 3,000 patient handouts in English and Spanish Approximately 100 Diseases and Conditions in Spanish FREE point-of-care CME and CE: 0.5 credits each time you search the site to find the best treatment for your patients. This activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 20 prescribed credits by the AAFP and the ANCC. Consider a subscription to 5MinuteConsult.com, available for 1 year with the purchase of The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult Premium: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 3rd Edition or an online-only subscription, available at www.5MinuteConsult.com
ISBN: 1496396936
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Berquist's Musculoskeletal Imaging Companion by Jeffrey J. Peterson
Using a quick-reference, highly illustrated approach, Berquist's Musculoskeletal Imaging Companion, Third Edition , is a practical guide to the radiologic diagnosis of the full range of musculoskeletal disorders. It presents over 1500 large, clear images of common diseases, disorders, and injuries, accompanied by succinct, bulleted "key facts" regarding the clinical and imaging features of each condition. Helpful tables, high-quality line drawings, and suggested readings for further study help you choose the best imaging approach and achieve optimal results for every patient. Features: Includes over 600 new images, numerous new disorders, and a user-friendly, full-color design Covers all musculoskeletal regions and disease entities, imaging of orthopaedic appliances and prostheses, and detailed protocols for all current imaging modalities Demonstrates the utility of multiple modalities in specific situations and recommends the best, most cost-effective approach Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496314994
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Clinical Tests for the Musculoskeletal System, 3rd ed. by Johannes Buckup
The third edition of this convenient pocket guide presents a comprehensive collection of clinical tests for all the major musculoskeletal structures. New tests have been added and existing tests fully revised to include the most practical, relevant, and up-to-date information for the effective evaluation of the musculoskeletal system. The book is organized by body region, with chapters devoted to the spine; shoulder; elbow; wrist, hand, and fingers; hip; knee; and foot and ankle. Each of these chapters opens with a figure depicting range of motion and an algorithm that provides a quick overview of symptoms, tests, imaging, and diagnosis. Additional chapters on posture deficiencies, venous thrombosis, occlusive arterial disease and neurovascular compression syndromes, and disturbances of the central nervous system complete the book. For each clinical test, readers will find a step-by-step description of the procedure, followed by a concise discussion of assessment and possible diagnoses for that test. Special Features: Succinct descriptions of initial tests, functional tests, stress tests, and stability tests More than 600 precise line drawings augment the text and reinforce key concepts Helpful tips and guidance for the clinical examination, from taking patient history to selecting the appropriate tests and further course of action Extensive bibliography of recommended literature for additional reading The third edition of Clinical Tests for the Musculoskeletal System is an essential tool for the physical examination and diagnosis of functional impairments of musculoskeletal structures. This user-friendly handbook is ideal for orthopedists, physical medicine and rehabilitation specialists, physical therapists, osteopathic physicians, and residents in these specialties.
ISBN: 3131367938
Publication Date: 2016-04-13
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition by Patrick J. McMahon; Harry Skinner
Fully updated and enhanced, this popular Lange book provides the most current, high-yield information available on orthopedic disorders and diseases Packed with 500 images and meticulously organized for high-impact learning, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition, emphasizes the major diagnostic features of musculoskeletal disease states, the nature of the diseases, the workup required for diagnosis, and all treatment options. It includes pathophysiology, epidemiology, and laboratory and imaging studies to help readers accurate diagnose patients and fully understand treatments. Chapters cover general considerations and imaging in surgery; musculoskeletal trauma, adult reconstructive, hand, foot, ankle, and pediatric surgery; sports medicine; spinal disorders, diseases, and injuries; musculoskeletal oncology; amputations; and rehabilitation and geriatric medicine. Perfect for surgical and emergency medicine residents, orthopedic surgery fellows, internal medicine and family practitioners, medical students, PAs, and nurse practitioner students, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition, provides the knowledge and insights you need to deliver safe, effective treatment to every patient. * NEW chapter on imaging in orthopedics
ISBN: 1260135977
Publication Date: 2021-06-17
DeLee and Drez's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by Mark D. Miller; Stephen R. Thompson
The revised, streamlined, and reorganized DeLee Drez's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine continues to be your must-have orthopaedics reference, covering the surgical, medical, and rehabilitation/injury prevention topics related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Offered as a 2-volume set, it provides the most clinically focused, comprehensive guidance available in any single source, with contributions from the most respected authorities in the field. "A truly comprehensive and excellent Sports Medicine text that I believe will be useful to all practicing sport physicians.... provides the rigor and detail that is extremely useful when managing complex and demanding patients. The new electronic format only increases its utility." Reviewed by Prof Mark E Batt, Consultant Sports Exercise Medicine, Nottingham University Hospitals March 2015 Be prepared to handle the full range of clinical challenges with coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; important non-orthopaedic conditions involved in the management of the athlete; rapidly evolving techniques; and sports-related fractures. Understand rehabilitation and other therapeutic modalities in the context of return to play. Take advantage of in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques, including ACL reconstruction, allograft cartilage transplantation, rotator cuff repair, and complications in athletes, as well as injury prevention, nutrition, pharmacology, and psychology in sports. Equip yourself with the most current information surrounding hot topics such as hip pain in the athlete, hip arthroscopy, concussions, and medical management of the athlete. Remain at the forefront of the field with content that addresses the latest changes in orthopaedics, including advances in sports medicine community knowledge, evidence-based medicine, ultrasound-guided injections, biologic therapies, and principles of injury prevention. Enhance your understanding with fully updated figures throughout. Take a global view of orthopaedic sports medicine with the addition of two new international section editors and supplemental international content. Access even more expert content in new "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Find the information you need more quickly with this completely reorganized text. View the entire contents or purchase individual chapter sections online at Expert Consult.
ISBN: 9781455743766
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Fundamentals of Pediatric Orthopedics, 5th ed. by Lynn T. Staheli
Ideal for anyone involved in the care of children with musculoskeletal problems, this best-selling resource has been completely updated to be even more relevant to your everyday practice. Comprehensive and user-friendly, it covers the diagnosis and management of pediatric orthopedic issues with an emphasis on the welfare of the whole child. More than 1,700 color illustrations make it easy to visualize everything from normal variations to treatment plans to potential pitfalls, for virtually any pediatric orthopedic challenge you may encounter. Features: Thoroughly up-to-date and evidence-based, including expanded material on sports medicine. Lavishly illustrated with over 1,700 color drawings and photographs - a uniquely visual approach you'll appreciate for rapid reference and quick understanding. Parent education guides make it easy to provide important information to caregivers and increase compliance. Comprehensive coverage includes growth, evaluation, management, trauma, sports, infections, and tumors, as well as each anatomical area: lower limb, foot, knee, hip, spine, and upper limb. Designed to meet the everyday needs of health care practitioners who are involved with pediatric musculoskeletal problems, including primary care physicians, pediatricians, and orthopedists. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451193930
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Fractures by Kenneth Egol (Editor)
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! With practical coverage of both adult and pediatric fractures, Handbook of Fractures, Sixth Edition is the must-have reference for residents and anyone--nurse practitioners and physician assistants, for example--in either the orthopaedic or emergency medicine setting. The book's easy-to-read review provides fast access to information on all aspects of fracture management and classification--from anatomy and mechanism of injury to clinical and radiologic evaluation and treatment. Includes all major fracture classifications systems, and covers special topics such as multiple trauma, gunshot wounds, pathologic and periprosthetic fractures, and orthopaedic analgesia. Features a concise, bulleted structure for efficient review of fractures throughout the body. Packed with illustrations, quick-reference charts, tables, diagrams, and bulleted lists. Widely used by orthopaedic residents and surgeons, orthopaedic trauma fellows, primary care and emergency medicine physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496384850
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics by John M. Flynn (Editor); Stuart Weinstein (Editor)
The gold standard comprehensive reference in pediatric orthopaedics is a must-have resource for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 8th Edition, brings you fully up to date in the field with new content, a new editor, and many new contributing authors who cover all aspects of basic science, clinical manifestations, and management. You'll find complete, expert coverage of normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. Features a new chapter on Pain Management in Pediatric Orthopaedics and newly consolidated chapters on neuromuscular disorders and early-onset spine deformities. Includes many more contributing authors from outside North America who share their knowledge and expertise in this complex field, as well as new editor Dr. Haemish Crawford from Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, New Zealand. Incorporates full-color, step-by-step, atlas-type illustrations of surgical techniques throughout the text. Includes pearls and pitfalls and the authors' preferred approach in many clinical chapters. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975108663
Publication Date: 2020-04-29
MRI of the Musculoskeletal System by Thomas H. Berquist
Update your understanding of musculoskeletal imaging techniques and their applications, while sharpening your interpretive skills. MRI of the Musculoskeletal System, Sixth Edition , delivers comprehensive, abundantly illustrated coverage of all aspects of MR musculoskeletal imaging--beginning with basic principles of interpretation, physics, and terminology--before moving through a systematic presentation of disease states in each body region. The text includes vital information on the latest technologies, contrast agents, patient sedation, and visual interpretation of results. Continuing in the tradition of prior editions, MRI of the Musculoskeletal System covers state-of-the-art techniques, expanded applications, advances in MR arthrography, and other evolving modalities. Readers will discover how to select appropriate imaging techniques and use MRI to evaluate specific clinical problems in each anatomic region. NEW to the Sixth Edition... * Over 3,000 high-quality images , including new anatomic drawings and images, help improve results and hone interpretive skills. * Full-color images and design throughout provides unmatched visual clarity in a format that improves comprehension and recall. * New pulse sequences and artifacts improve diagnostic accuracy. * Updated references highlight recently published articles and studies. * FREE access to a companion web site features full text as well as an interactive anatomy quiz with matching labels of over 300 images. A great way to test your knowledge! Widely respected for its clarity, simplicity, and completeness, this masterful learning text is ideal for students, residents, or the clinician seeking to keep pace with advances in the field.
ISBN: 9781451109184
Publication Date: 2012-09-23
MRI of the Musculoskeletal System, 2nd ed. by Martin Vahlensieck (Editor); Maximilian Reiser (Editor); Harry K. Genant (Editor)
The value of MR imaging for the evaluation of musculoskeletal system disorders cannot be over-stated. It is the only imaging modality that enables visualization of all components of the joints within single examinations. Yet, given the bewildering variety of possible sequence parameters, with and without contrast medium, acquiring and interpreting MR images with confidence is a challenge, requiring experience usually only gained after examining 1000s of studies with a careful systematic approach. Like the First Edition, the Second Edition of MRI of the Musculoskeletal System assists the radiologist in acquiring the most reliable and complete imaging information, so as to achieve a high degree of diagnostic certainty quickly and efficiently. Key Features: More than 2000 MR images of reference quality, the majority new for this edition Drawings, where helpful, aid the reader in identifying and delineating normal and pathological entities Includes all the latest advanced techniques: MR neurography and myelography, diffusion imaging, quantitative MRI, mDIXON, and more All MR exams described fully, with choice of sequence, positioning, choice of coils, when/how to use contrast, protocols Discussions of possible errors in interpretation Comparison of MR imaging with other modalities Tables expand and organize information on sequence parameters and differential diagnoses More than just an authoritative reference, Vahlensieck's MRI of the Musculoskeletal System is the ideal practical helper to accompany the radiologist at the workstation on a daily basis.
ISBN: 9783131165725
Publication Date: 2017-12-13
Orthopaedic Basic Science: Fifth Edition by Roy Aaron (Editor)
Build your Foundation of Basic Science - from Research to Clinical Application and Advancement This fifth edition is your concise and clinically relevant resource for the scientific basis of orthopaedic surgery in support of the diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal diseases and conditions. Reach for this title to explain the functions, advancements, and limitations of the science behind the decisions, treatments, and procedures you perform in your practice every day. Use it to build and reinforce your foundation of knowledge for applying advances in scientific discovery to your decision making in the clinic and the OR. This new edition is completely rewritten, reorganized, and refocused through a collaboration of senior scientists and clinicians with new chapters and content reflecting the many advancement in and around the science behind musculoskeletal medicine, including epigenetics, biomaterials, tissue engineering, gender differences, and metabolic bone disease, as well as the growth of registries and best-practice guidelines. Sections include: Basic Disciplines in Orthopaedic Surgery Structure and Function of Musculoskeletal Tissues Pathophysiology and Orthopaedic Medicine Repair and Regeneration Principles of Clinical Information Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech
ISBN: 9781975148164
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Postoperative Orthopaedic Rehabilitation: Print + Ebook by Andrew Green (Editor); Roman Hayda (Editor); Andrew Hecht (Editor)
Bridge the gap between orthopaedic surgery and rehabilitation! Postoperative Orthopaedic Rehabilitation, published in partnership with the AAOS, is the first clinical reference designed to achieve better outcomes and to empower orthopaedic surgeons and rehabilitation specialists by breaking down the traditional boundaries between these two phases of patient management.Key Features Achieve the best possible outcomes with multidisciplinary content co-written by expert surgeons and physical and occupational therapists. Chapters include discussions of relevant anatomy, surgical indications and techniques, rehabilitation protocols, and specific clinical tips and pearls, as well as clear rationales for each rehabilitation protocol. Gain a more thorough, holistic understanding of the entire course of patient management so you can optimally collaborate with your colleagues and accomplish superior results. Access guidance at a glance through concise, clearly formatted chapters containing step-by-step protocols and bulleted lists as well as abundant imaging studies, intraoperative photographs and diagrams, and photographs of rehabilitation methods. Includes eBook! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC or Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 1496360281
Publication Date: 2017-08-04
Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults by Michael McKee (Editor); Paul Tornetta (Editor); William Ricci (Editor); Charles M. Court-Brown (Editor); Margaret M. McQueen (Editor)
This exhaustive reference includes new chapters and pedagogical features, as well as--for the first time--content on managing fragility factures. To facilitate fast, easy absorption of the material, this edition has been streamlined and now includes more tables, charts, and treatment algorithms than ever before. Experts in their field share their experiences and offer insights and guidance on the latest technical developments for common orthopaedic procedures, including their preferred treatment options. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. New chapters on caring for obese patients, preoperative planning, and pain management. Deep-dive discussion and up-to-date content on how to manage fragility fractures. Easy-to-read tables outlining nonoperative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. Time-saving preoperative planning checklists, as well as key steps for each surgical procedure. Potential pitfalls, preventive measures, and common adverse outcomes highlighted for all procedures. Numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for common orthopaedic procedures. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496386519
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
Rockwood and Wilkins Fractures in Children, 9th ed. by Peter M. Waters (Editor); David L. Skaggs (Editor); John M. Flynn (Editor)
With contributions from experts in orthopaedic surgery, the latest edition of this comprehensive resource presents up-to-date technical procedures for treating a wide range of fractures in children and adolescents. Content and chapters are easier to read than ever before. How? All clinical sections follow a templatized format--as in previous editions--and now you'll find even more treatment algorithms, checklists, charts, and tables, helping you quickly identify and apply critical information in a care situation. Easy-to-read tables outlining non-operative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. Authors' preferred treatment options are now highlighted and as precise and detailed algorithms. Preoperative planning procedures now presented in a checklist format. Ideal for pediatric orthopaedic surgeons and residents in orthopaedics. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496386540
Publication Date: 2019
Surgical Exposures in Orthopaedics: the Anatomic Approach by Piet de Boer; Richard Buckley; Stanley Hoppenfeld
For nearly 40 years, Surgical Exposures in Orthopaedics: The Anatomic Approach has helped orthopaedic surgeons enhance their anatomic knowledge, increase safety, and improve patient outcomes. The fully revised sixth edition carries on the legacy of Dr. Stanley Hoppenfeld (1934-2020), whose ideas have influenced orthopaedic surgical care worldwide. Coauthored by Piet de Boer and Dr. Richard Buckley, this bestselling reference provides a clear view of orthopaedic anatomy from the surgeon's perspective using easy-to-follow descriptions and hundreds of superb full-color illustrations. Brings you up to date with recent changes in the field, using a highly relevant anatomic approach that has become increasingly important as approaches become smaller. Details the techniques and pitfalls of each surgical approach, gives a clear preview of anatomic landmarks and incisions, and highlights potential dangers of superficial and deep dissection. Contains 21 new surgical approaches, including fixation of rib fractures, the suprapatellar approach for tibial nail insertion, a minimally invasive approach to the clavicle, the posterior triceps-on approach to the distal humerus, three new approaches to the distal femur, as well as several others. Includes expanded content on the anteromedial approach to the elbow and new surgical approaches to the talus, cuboid, navicular, and Lisfranc's joint. Features fully revised content throughout, including changes to the trochanteric osteotomy required to perform surgical hip dislocation, updated content on external fixation, and new references where appropriate. Provides access to numerous high-quality procedural videos from every relevant angle, including a split screen with diagrams. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975168797
Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Top 3 Differentials in Musculoskeletal Imaging by Jasjeet Bindra; Robert D. Boutin
Top 3 Differentials in Musculoskeletal Imaging: A Case Review by Jasjeet Bindra, Robert D. Boutin, and expert contributors is one in a series of radiology case books mirroring the format of the highly acclaimed O'Brien classic, Top 3 Differentials in Radiology: A Case Review. The book is organized in 10 parts: trauma, bone tumors, upper extremity, lower extremity, arthropathies, infection, soft tissue tumors, metabolic musculoskeletal conditions, spine, and pediatric/developmental musculoskeletal conditions. Each case is formatted as a two-page unit. The left page features clinical images, succinctly captioned findings, and pertinent clinical history. The right page includes the key imaging gamut, differential diagnoses, additional diagnostic considerations, the diagnosis, clinical pearls, and suggested readings. Key Features A total of 146 cases, each focused on a specific imaging finding, including aggressive periosteal reaction, focal cortical thickening, diffusely increased bone density, focal periphyseal edema, acro-osteolysis, and more A wealth of meticulously selected, high-quality radiographs, CTs, and MRIs enhance diagnostic skills A list of differential diagnoses provides an ideal curriculum guide for trainees and educators alike Radiology residents, fellows, and staff radiologists preparing for certification will greatly benefit from reading this text to prep for the radiology core and certifying exams. This is also an outstanding, day-to-day practice resource for practicing radiologists, clinicians, and orthopaedic surgeons involved in reviewing and interpreting musculoskeletal radiology studies. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626233485
Publication Date: 2020-11-23
Master Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery Series (Ovid E-Books)Publication Date: Most recent 10 years
