Anesthesiology & Pain Management
Anesthesia Technologist's Manual, 2nd ed. by Emily Guimaraes; Matthew Davis; Jeffrey R. Kirsch; Glenn Woodworth
This unique manual is an ideal resource for anesthesia technicians and technologists and those studying for certification (CerATT) in the field. It offers well-illustrated, comprehensive coverage of every aspect of day-to-day practice and workflow, with sections on Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology; Anesthesia Practice; Anesthesia Equipment and Technology; Emergencies, and more. From explanations of who's who in the operating room to detailed, step-by-step instructions on equipment maintenance, this practical manual ensures that readers will have current, complete information on the core knowledge they need to know in anesthesia technology. Features new chapters on temperature management, MRI safety, radiation safety, local anesthetic toxicity, autotransfusion devices, resource planning, and legal and regulatory issues. Updated and expanded information on the respiratory system and airway tools and devices. Covers special topics such as pediatric and obstetric anesthesia, anesthesia outside the OR, patient transport, and emergencies from cardiac arrest to fire, with emphasis on the role of the anesthesia technologist in management. Detailed coverage of what you need to know on intraaortic balloon pumps, ventricular assist devices, pacemakers, and other technical challenges. Includes more than 350 questions with detailed answers, reviewing knowledge contained in each chapter and assisting with preparation for the American Society of Anesthesia Technologists and Technicians (ASATT) exam. Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations to help you visualize anatomy, surgical positioning, and more. All royalties from the sale of this book will be donated to the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. All you need to know for study and reference. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496344311
Publication Date: 2018
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, 6th ed. by Richard A. Jaffe (Editor); Clifford A. Schmiesing (Editor); Brenda Golianu (Editor)
Covering both surgical and anesthetic considerations, Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, Sixth Edition, is an essential resource for formulation of an anesthetic plan and perioperative management of patients. All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures. Presents preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. Describes what the surgeon will likely be doing, variants of the procedure or approaches, patient population characteristics, and details of the procedure including positioning, length of procedure, postop care, and more. Features a full-color design to enhance readability of the tables and clarity of the illustrations. Updates to this edition include a new, heavily illustrated chapter overviewing regional blocks and new appendices covering individual components of enhanced recovery (ERAS) protocols and intraoperative use of transnasal humidified rapid-insufflation ventilatory exchange (THRIVE); as well as new, rapidly accessible tables and figures set on the inside back cover reviewing useful, but easily forgotten facts and dermatomes. An ideal reference for anesthesiologists, anesthesia residents, and CRNAs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496371256
Publication Date: 2019
ASAM Essentials of Addiction Medicine by Abigail Herron; Timothy Koehler Brennan
Derived from ASAM's definitive work , Principles of Addiction Medicine, 6th Edition , this companion resource is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners in psychiatry, as well as addiction medicine specialists and other healthcare workers who provide care to patients with substance use disorders. Streamlined and easy to use, the Essentials volume provides authoritative information on everything from the pharmacology of addiction through diagnosis, assessment, and early intervention--all in concise, easy-to-navigate format for ease of reference. Presents the collective wisdom of hundreds of esteemed authorities on the art and science of addiction medicine, including the physical, emotional, and mental health effects of substance misuse. Features key points, review questions, and suggested readings that help maximize understanding and retention of essential concepts. Covers the various forms of addiction management, treatment of individual patient populations, management of intoxication and withdrawal, pharmacologic and behavioral interventions, recovery programs, medical disorders and complications, co-occurring addiction and psychiatric disorders, pain and addiction, children and adolescents, and ethical, legal, and liability issues. Follows the format of the larger text, with each chapter in Essentials providing a summary of the corresponding chapter in Principles . Serves as a day-to-day clinical resource as well as a review tool for those preparing for addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry certification exams. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975107956
Publication Date: 2019
ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine by Shannon Miller
Thoroughly updated with the latest international evidence-based research and best practices, the comprehensive sixth edition of the American Society of Addiction Medicine's (ASAM) official flagship textbook reviews the science and art behind addiction medicine and provides health care providers with the necessary information to not only properly diagnose and treat their patients, but to also serve as change agents to positively impact clinical service design and delivery, as well as global health care policy. Updated with the latest developments in Addiction Medicine and featuring chapters on emerging and high impact topics such as electronic cigarettes, cannabis as medicine, opioid overdose and opioid use disorder treatment, co-occurring pain and addiction, understanding addiction-related clinical trials, digital media as treatment platforms, TBI, neuromodulation, harm reduction, behavioral addictions, research behind spirituality and mutual help programs, co-occurring psychiatric disorders, and guidelines for using non-stigmatizing language. Covers all areas fundamental to Addiction Medicine, including neurobiology and pharmacology, epidemiology and prevention, management of intoxication and withdrawal syndromes, special populations, pharmacological and psychologically-based interventions, and medical consequences of addiction. Touches on international and military veteran-unique issues that are of special importance to the field. Brings together the world's leading addiction medicine experts, editors, and contributors with expertise in internal medicine, psychiatry, emergency medicine, public health, neuroscience, pediatrics, obstetrics & gynecology, and other fields. Sought broadly as a critical textbook for graduate medical education, as well as for everyday clinical practice and policy-making, The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine, Sixth Edition is ideal for addiction medicine and addiction psychiatry fellows, residents, medical students, mental health practitioners, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, primary care physicians, researchers, and more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 1496370988
Publication Date: 2018
Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd ed. by James P. Rathmell
The Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine is a practical guide for practitioners who perform interventional procedures with radiographic guidance to alleviate acute or chronic pain. The author provides an overview of each technique, with detailed full-color illustrations of the relevant anatomy, technical aspects of each treatment, and a description of potential complications. For this revised and expanded Second Edition, the author also discusses indications for each technique, as well as medical evidence on the technique's applicability. The new edition features original drawings by a noted medical artist and for the first time includes three-dimensional CT images that correlate with the radiographic images and illustrations for a fuller understanding of the relevant anatomy.
ISBN: 1608317048
Publication Date: 2012
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5th ed. by , Jane C. Ballantyne; Scott M. Fishman; James P. Rathmell
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain , first published 65 years ago, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago. Broad authorship by researchers and practitioners from the many disciplines that participate in pain medicine, including anesthesiology, neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative care, psychology, social sciences, and more. Addresses the economic, political, legal, ethical, and sociological considerations of pain; evaluation of the pain patient; pain conditions; methods for symptomatic control; and provision of pain treatment. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496349033
Publication Date: 2019
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice by David H. Chestnut; Cynthia A. Wong,; Lawrence C. Tsen,; Warwick D. Ngan Kee; Yaakov Beilin; Jill Mhyre
From basic science to various anesthesia techniques to complications, the meticulously updated, fifth edition of Chestnut?s Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, covers all you need to know about obstetric anesthesia. An editorial team of leading authorities presents the latest on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy. New chapters and rewritten versions of key chapters cover topics such as psychiatric disorders in the pregnant patient, neurologic disorders, and critical care of obstetric patients.With online access to the full text, it is an invaluable, comprehensive reference textbook for specialists in obstetric anesthesiology and obstetricians, as well as anesthesiology and obstetric residents. This book also serves as a clear, user-friendly guide for both anesthesiologists and obstetricians who are in clinical practice. "...a comprehensive and contemporary, modern reference text." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, May 2015 "Chestnut and his 79 expert contributors have once again released a current guide to obstetric anesthesia that proves useful to both junior learners and subspecialty providers." Reviewed by Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, Apr 2015 Emphasizes the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs to ensure the application of modern principles of care. Delivers contributions from many leaders in the fields of obstetric anesthesia and maternal-fetal medicine from all over the world. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Presents key point summaries in each chapter for quick, convenient reference. Stay current on the latest advancements and developments with sweeping updates and new chapters on topics such as patient safety and team approach, transthoracic echocardiography and noninvasive measurement of cardiac output in obstetric patients, psychiatric disorders during pregnancy, neurologic injuries, and more. Prevent and plan for potential complications associated with the advancing age of pregnant women. An extensive, state-of-the art discussion of "critical care of obstetric patients" equips you to address any special considerations for this increasing segment. Know exactly how to proceed. An abundance of tables and boxes illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Choose the best drugs available while adhering to the most recent guidelines for obstetric anesthesia. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9781455748662
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Anesthesia, 8th ed. by Paul G. Barash; Michael K. Cahalan; Bruce F. Cullen; M. Christine Stock; Robert K. Stoelting; Rafael Ortega; Sam R. Sharar; Natalie Holt
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! BMA Medical Book Awards 2018?: Anesthesia - Highly Commended The British Medical Association honored Clinical Anesthesia with this prestigious award. Where experts turn for definitive answers! Clinical Anesthesia covers the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, providing insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology...new coverage of autonomic pharmacology...a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section...updated coverage of occupational hazards...and many other important additions. Focus on the most essential information with Key Points in every chapter. Advance your skills with 180 new Narrated Interactive Clinical Vignettes - which immerse you in a virtual classroom setting where a master teacher guides you through a focused discussion on common and uncommon clinical topics. A clinical question is posed, and you are given time to develop an appropriate answer. Then, in a stepwise fashion, you will see and hear the answer unfold. In addition to the Interactive vignettes, the ebook also comes with a collection of over 300 procedural videos to help hone your technique. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496337009
Publication Date: 2017
The Complete Recovery Room Book by Anne Craig; Anthea Hatfield
The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients.The Complete Recovery Room Book, Sixth edition, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients. Over 30 chapters, this resource covers key aspects of recovery room management from setting-up, monitoring andequipment, and managing symptoms as well as clear and concise explanations of physiology and pharmacology. Specific chapters address the unique post-operative needs of individual types of surgery and patient groups. Practical tips and short aphorisms are offered throughout the text to help retainpractical information.
ISBN: 9780198846840
Publication Date: 2021-01-25
Difficult Airway by David B. Glick (Editor); Richard M. Cooper (Editor); Andranik Ovassapian (Editor)
The Difficult Airway provides a comprehensive textual and visual coverage of how to deal with patients who have expected or unexpected difficult airways. The text begins with a description of the incidence and importance of the difficult airway and then describes the ASA Difficult Airway Algorithm created to facilitate the management of "difficult airways." The majority of the book features a comprehensive step-by-step approach to the rescue techniques listed as part of the ASA Algorithm. Noted experts in each of the techniques have been recruited by the book editors to present the information. Figures throughout the book illustrate important points and procedures. This is a wonderful resource for professionals in the health care field including anesthesiologists, intensive care physicians, emergency room physicians, nurses, and out-of-hospital first responders.
ISBN: 0387928480
Publication Date: 2013
Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care, 2nd ed. by Ansgar M. Brambrink (Editor); Jeffrey R. Kirsch (Editor)
This comprehensive, evidence-based book is intended to serve as a reference for medical practitioners involved in the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients. Fundamental aspects of neuroanesthesiology and neurocritical care are thoroughly examined across 101 chapters, outlining key elements that are crucial to a care provider's knowledge of the practice. These elements include specific diagnostic procedures and treatment options, concepts and applicable details of the available neurosurgical interventions and techniques, and mechanisms necessary to provide top of the line care for patients. Each chapter features definitive and distinct areas of this multi-specialty discipline, and is designed to guide the reader from problem to solution in situations that can arise in the clinical setting. Essentials of Neurosurgical Anesthesia & Critical Care, 2nd edition is a problem-oriented approach textbook that will aid a wide variety of readers in handling day-to-day issues and developments relevant to the perioperative care of neurosurgical patients.
ISBN: 3030174085
Publication Date: 2019
Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology by Lee A. Fleisher
Addressing both routine and complex situations with practical decision-making tools, Evidence-Based Practice of Anesthesiology, 4th Edition, helps anesthesiologists make sound decisions in everyday practice. World-renowned authority, Dr. Lee A. Fleisher, takes an evidence-based approach to a variety of high-impact topics related to effective perioperative patient management: preoperative assessment; monitoring and administration of anesthesia during surgery; postoperative intensive care management; and postoperative pain management. The 4th Edition has been updated from cover to cover, helping you make informed clinical decisions based on reliable, up-to-date guidance in every aspect of patient care. Explores important issues in perioperative management, discussing the available options, examining the relevant research, and presenting practical recommendations. Features concise, to-the-point chapters with numerous quick-reference tables for fast and effective decision making. Includes decision trees throughout to provide visual guidance and a logical flow of key decision points. Contains nine new chapters on how to identify patients at risk for postoperative neurocognitive disorder; the best strategy for perioperative ACE and ARB agents; emergency laparotomy; optimal postoperative analgesia and the opiate naïve patient; the best method for perioperative handoffs; myocardial injury after non-cardiac surgery (MINS); and more. Helps you master the current best practices you need to know for successful day-to-day practice and oral board review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323778466
Publication Date: 2022-06-02
Geriatric Anesthesiology, 3rd ed. by J. G. Reves (Editor); Sheila Ryan Barnett (Editor); Julie R. McSwain (Editor); G. Alec Rooke (Editor)
Surgical and anesthetic techniques have evolved to allow a growing number of older adults to undergo surgery, and current estimates are that 50% of Americans over the age of 65 years old will have an operation. However, as the knowledge regarding perioperative care of the elderly surgical patient grows, so do the questions. In this edition, each chapter includes a section entitled "Gaps in Our Knowledge," meant to highlight areas in which research is needed, as well as hopefully inspire readers to begin solving some of these questions themselves. Building upon the strong foundation of the first two editions, Geriatric Anesthesiology, 3rd edition also assembles the most up-to-date information in geriatric anesthesia and provides anesthesiologists with important new developments.Topics covered include several new chapters that reflect the evolution of multidisciplinary geriatric care throughout the perioperative continuum, as well as the growing body of literature related to prehabilitation. In addition, discussion of the surgeon's perspective and geriatrician's perspective on surgery in the geriatric population is covered, as well as the systematic physiologic changes associated with aging and the pharmacologic considerations for the geriatric patient undergoing procedures. Finally, the last section discusses postoperative care specific to the geriatric population, including acute pain management, ICU management, recent evidence and up-to-date practice regarding delirium and postoperative cognitive dysfunction, and palliative care.
ISBN: 3319668773
Publication Date: 2017
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by Joel A. Kaplan
This title presents today's most essential clinical knowledge in cardiac anesthesia in a practical, user-friendly format. A manageable size and affordable price makes this an ideal purchase for every clinician who would like an economical yet dependable resource in cardiac anesthesia. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Trusted authorities deliver the key cardiac anesthesia knowledge you need to know. A concise, user-friendly format and key points boxes in each chapter help you quickly locate crucial information. Annotated references guide you to the most practical additional resources. A portable size and clinical emphasis facilitates and enhances bedside patient care. Designed as a companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia. Includes new topics vital to the current practice of cardiac anesthesiologists, such as transesophageal echocardiography; percutaneous valve procedures; new pacemakers and automatic internal defibrillators used for cardiac resynchronization therapy; left ventricular assist devices and extracorporeal membrane oxygenation therapy of heart failure; and patient safety issues. Focuses on today's most current and relevant therapies, including New Cardiac Drugs, and Heart Mate, Heart Ware, and Impella LVADs. Describes care of the cardiac patient in Hybrid Operating Rooms, Catheterization Laboratories, and Electrophysiology Laboratories, as well as the Cardiac Operating Rooms. Perfectly suited for residents, fellows, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologists in practice.
ISBN: 9780323497985
Publication Date: 2017
Kaplan's Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by Joel A. Kaplan
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists. From preoperative assessment through postoperative care, this practical reference covers all perioperative approaches to today's patients with cardiac conditions. Provides guidance on the anesthetic diagnosis and management of the full range of cardiac lesions, helping minimize adverse outcomes and reduce complications for patients with common, complex, or uncommon cardiac conditions. Includes complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques needed for thorough perioperative assessment - all from the anesthesiologist's perspective. Discusses safe and effective perioperative anesthetic management of patients presenting with advanced levels of cardiac care such as drug-eluting stents, multiple antiplatelet drugs, ventricular assist devices, multiple drugs for end-stage heart failure, and implanted electrical devices that produce cardiac resynchronization therapy, as well as patients with complicated obstetric problems or other significant cardiovascular issues. Features a concise, easy-to-navigate format and Key Points boxes in each chapter that help you find answers quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323567169
Publication Date: 2018
Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology, 2nd ed. by Larry F. Chu (Editor); Andrea J. Traynor (Editor); Viji Kurup (Editor)
Designed for rapid reference at the point of care, Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology is the clinician's go-to resource for practical, clinically focused information on all aspects of anesthesia management. The comprehensive second edition consolidates multidisciplinary expertise in one resource, offering revised and updated content in a highly visual, portable format, with short, easy-to-read chapters, margin icons noting pearls and pitfalls, and more. Presents information in a rapid-reference, outline format throughout, with color-coded sections, chapter summaries, pearls and pitfalls, cross-references to related text, and more. Features new chapters on: Hemorrhage in Obstetrics, Highly Lethal Viruses (such as SARS and Ebola), Thromboelastogram/Point of Care Laboratory Interpretation, Hazards in the MRI Suite, and Substance Abuse in Medical Professionals, as well as new cognitive aids for Caudal Anesthesia, Cardiopulmonary Bypass, Ultrasound-Guided Neuraxial Anesthesia, OB Cardiac Arrest, Transthoracic Echo, and PALS. Covers monitoring, equipment and procedures, anesthesia and comorbid diseases, pediatric anesthesia, subspecialty anesthesia, and other key topics. Includes four full-color atlases that clearly depict procedures, transesophageal echocardiography, peripheral nerve blocks, and crisis management (including new crisis management checklists) as well as a drug dosing pull-out card. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496328496
Publication Date: 2021
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management by Gary Brenner (Editor); James P. Rathmell (Editor)
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Offering expert guidance from seasoned clinicians at Massachusetts General Hospital, this bestselling handbook provides accurate, clinically essential information in a portable, quick-reference format. Broad-based, multidisciplinary coverage draws from the disciplines of anesthesiology, neurology, behavioral medicine, nursing, psychiatry, and physical therapy to provide practical, evidence-based information for sound therapeutic choices. Now in full color for the first time, The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management, Fourth Edition, contains numerous new chapters, new illustrations, and other features that keep you up to date with today's latest approaches to pain management. Contains an extensive new section on interventional approaches to pain management, as well as new chapters on radiotherapy and radiopharmaceuticals for cancer pain and ethical considerations in pain medicine. Features new chapters on discography, epidural steroid injections; intrathecal drug delivery; peripheral nerve blocks; and sympathetic blockade. Includes handy appendices that provide useful medication information, basic science coverage relevant to clinical strategies, and numerous tables and chapter-opening outlines for quick reference. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496347787
Publication Date: 2020
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th Ed. by John F. Butterworth; David C. Mackey; John D. Wasnick
The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, Seventh Edition is an essential resource for all anesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember The perfect distillation of essential information: succinct without sacrificing important details Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
Publication Date: 2022
Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia by David L. Reich; Gregory Fischer
Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia helps you master everything you need to know to effectively diagnose and monitor your cardiothoracic surgery patients. Comprehensive coverage and unsurpassed visual guidance make this companion to Kaplan?s Cardiac Anesthesia a must for anesthesiologists, surgeons, and nurse anesthetists who need to be proficient in anesthesia care. "a powerful learning tool." Reviewed by: JH Rosser and GH Mills, Sheffield on behalf of British Journal of Anaesthesia, December 2015 Recognize the Transesophageal Echocardiography (TEE) images you see in practice by comparing them to abundant 2D and 3D images, as well as an extensive online library of moving (cine) images. Learn from acknowledged leaders in the field of cardiac anesthesiology - Drs. David L. Reich and Gregory W. Fischer. See how to address specific clinical situations with detailed case studies and discussions of challenging issues. Access the complete contents and videos online at Expert Consult.
ISBN: 1455707619
Publication Date: 2013
Physical Diagnosis of Pain by Steven D. Waldman
With a practical focus on how a clinician evaluates pain - "what is it?" rather than "where is it?" - Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 4th Edition, remains your most authoritative source for guidance in this key area of pain management. In this award-winning reference, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven Waldman takes you step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone. Examines the full range of pain-related conditions in the cervical spine, shoulder, elbow, forearm, wrist and hand, chest wall, thorax and thoracic spine, lumbar spine, abdominal wall and pelvis, hip, knee, ankle and foot. Follows a consistent format in each chapter for quick reference: anatomy, inspection, palpation, and range of motion, followed by relevant special tests. Features hundreds of high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and color line drawings to demonstrate the physical exam clearly and simply. Contains 34 new chapters, including The Finger Flexion Test for Cervical Myelopathy, The Keibler Anterior Slide Test for SLAP Lesions, The Biceps Entrapment Test for Biceps Entrapment, The Tethered Thumb Test for de Quervain Tenosynovitis, The Direct Pressure Spring Test for Osteitis Pubis, The Hip Lag Sign for Gluteus Medius Tear, The Beatty Test for Piriformis Syndrome, Foucher's Sign for Baker Cyst, and many more. Includes dozens of real-time videos of Dr. Waldman and his staff performing physical examination techniques, providing expert, how-to-do-it guidance. Winner - 2016 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize in Anesthesia. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323712606
Publication Date: 2020
A Practical Approach to Pediatric Anesthesia, 2nd ed. by Robert S. Holzman; Thomas J. Mancuso; David M. Polaner
Part of the highly popular Practical Approach to Anesthesia series, this new edition combines the comprehensive depth of a textbook and the user-friendly features of a practical handbook. Focusing on clinical issues in pediatric anesthesia, it contains the in-depth information you need for daily practice and study, presented in a concise, bulleted format for quick reference. With its emphasis on developmental aspects of pediatric anesthesia, numerous illustrations and tables, and methodical approach to decision making, this updated reference is an invaluable resource for anyone involved with anesthesia of children.
ISBN: 1469889838
Publication Date: 2015
Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine by Joseph M. Neal; De Q. H. Tran; Francis Salinas
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Apply the latest advances in regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine! Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD, this respected title has helped practitioners provide effective regional anesthesia for nearly 30 years. Now it has been retitled A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine to reflect the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's recent establishment of Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine as an anesthesiology fellowship. This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this subspecialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care. Master the latest advances in the field with expanded coverage of truncal blocks, systems-based practice, acute pain medicine, and much more. Make optimal use of ultrasound guidance as a nerve localization tool for peripheral nerve blocks, thanks to updated and expanded coverage as well as many new and improved illustrations. The techniques, approaches, and systems-based practices covered in 5th edition will enhance the application and role of regional anesthesia in Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) pathways and the perioperative surgical home. Easily find and apply the answers you need thanks to a highly readable, focused, richly illustrated format that provides balanced discussions of indications, complications, and techniques. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook! 3 Stars from Doody's Review Service! " With a focus on perioperative blocks, the book is full of practical tips and has a very useful focus on the anatomy of each block... The book is quite handy in providing a quick refresher course for anesthesiologists and trainees in busy practices." - Doody's Review Service
ISBN: 9781469896830
Publication Date: 2017
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 6th ed. by Charles J. Cote; Jerrold Lerman; Brian Anderson
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 6th Edition, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia to young patients. It reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th Edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia. Includes a laminated pocket reference guide inside - also available as an expanded online version ("Pedi Anesth" from the Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, NZ). Features key references at the end of each chapter that provide a quick summary for review. Presents must-know information on standards, techniques, and the latest advances in pediatric anesthesia from global experts. Provides access to a video library of 70 pediatric anesthesia procedures - 35 are new! Videos include demonstrations on managing the difficult pediatric airway, cardiac assist devices in action, new positioning devices, management of burn injuries, and many demonstrations of ultra-sound guided regional anesthesia blocks and techniques. Features extensive revisions of all chapters with many new contributors, and numerous new figures and tables throughout. Introduces new drugs such as those used to premedicate children and facilitate emergence from anesthesia, plus an up-to-date discussion of the drug approval process and detailed information on opioid safety for children with obstructive sleep. Includes new chapters on pharmacogenomic implications of drugs in children and the anesthetic implications when caring for children with cancer. Offers up-to-date information on the management of emergence agitation, sleep-disordered breathing, neonatal and pediatric emergencies, and the obese child and bariatric surgery. The Essentials chapters, with extensive input from pediatrician experts, provide the latest information concerning hematology, pulmonology, oncology, hepatology, nephrology, and neurology. Contains significant updates on perioperative fluid management, pharmacology, intravenous anesthesia and target controlled infusions, cystic fibrosis, new interventional devices for children with congenital heart defects, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, simulation in pediatric anesthesia, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 0323429742
Publication Date: 2018
Preoperative Assessment and Management by BobbieJean Sweitzer
This latest edition of Preoperative Assessment and Management offers up-to-date, concise, and comprehensive information for anyone who performs preoperative assessments on patients. With a practical, no-nonsense writing style, it provides fast, efficient answers on evaluating patients with neurological, cardiac, renal, endocrine, metabolic, hematologic, musculoskeletal, and other disorders; administering medications; and more. New chapters address the evaluation of acutely ill, obese, geriatric, and sleep apnea patients, as well as business logistics--billing, staffing, remote assessment, and more. Ebook now features ultrasound clips, highlighting the emerging diagnostic use of this technology in preoperative assessments. Bulleted format and numerous tables enable you to find information--and perform evaluations--quickly and efficiently. Ideal for anesthesiologists, residents in anesthesiology, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, hospitalists, and surgeons. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496368423
Publication Date: 2018
Primary Care Pain Management by Charles De Mesa (Editor)
Authored by experts in pain medicine and internal medicine at the University of California, Davis, Primary Care Pain Management delivers just the right amount of clinically relevant information for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Addressing safe and effective pain management in the primary care setting, it follows a user-friendly, high-yield format for quick reference at the point of care, helping you understand the full range of options for treating patients with chronic and acute pain. Presents information in a highly templated, full-color format, with an abundance of tables and algorithms throughout. Covers opioid consent, agreement, and prescribing; nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs; neuropathic pain medications; interventional pain management; physical therapy; complementary modalities; integrative medicine, and more. Includes a "When to Refer" section in every chapter, providing you with a list of questions and key points that could indicate a need for referral to a specialist or surgeon. Emphasizes compassionate care and continuity of care - both key issues in an area that is often emotionally difficult for patients and caregivers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496378804
Publication Date: 2019-09-18
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by Roberta L. Hines (Editor); Katherine Marschall
With Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, you'll have the succinct, yet thorough guidance you need to successfully avoid or manage complications stemming from pre-existing medical conditions. Advanced research from experts in the field will help you overcome the toughest challenges in practice, letting you offer your patients the best care, each and every time. Deliver anesthesia as safely as possible with extensive coverage of the pathophysiology of numerous coexisting conditions. Effectively manage special patient populations with a focus on pediatric, geriatric, and adult patients. Master the ins and outs of a wide range of diseases, from common to rare, through detailed discussions of each disease's unique features. Access the fully searchable text online anytime, anywhere, at www.expertconsult.com. Stay at the forefront of your field with the most updated information on each coexisting condition's definition; current pathophysiology; significant pre-, intra-, and postoperative factors of the disease process; anesthetic judgment; and management. Keep current with changing patient populations with a new chapter on managing morbidly obese patients. Access the information you need quickly thanks to a disease-based organization. Overcome your toughest challenges with the latest guidelines and evidence integrated into each chapter. Search through current and concise descriptions of pathophysiology of diseases and their impact on anesthesia! Gain expertise in understanding the impact of pathophysiology of coexisting diseases on anaesthesia! Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9781455700820
Publication Date: 2012
Stoelting's Handbook of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by Robert Stoelting; Pamela Flood; James P. Rathmell; Steven L. Shafer
Get trusted anesthesiology guidance in a compact, high-yield source with Stoelting's Handbook of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice. Updated from the Fifth Edition of Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, this handbook provides succinct, current, and accurate information on the pharmacology and physiology that are relevant to anesthesiology, equipping you to deliver safe and effective perioperative patient management. Key Features Apply the latest knowledge with coverage of all new drugs, as well as new findings on the actions and interactions of established drugs. Focus on the information you need thanks to a quick-reference tabular format. Easily turn to the parent textbook for more in-depth information thanks to an organization that mirrors Stoelting'sPharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice . Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781605475493
Publication Date: 2014
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Calvin A. Brown (Editor-In-Chief); John C. Sakles (Associate Editor); Nathan W. Mick (Associate Editor)
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781496351968
Publication Date: 2017-06-28
Yao and Artusio's Anesthesiology by Fun-Sun F. Yao (Editor-In-Chief); Hugh C. Hemmings (Editor); Vinod Malhotra (Associate Editor); Jill Fong (Associate Editor)
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. Fully revised throughout, including new coverage of hypertension geriatric anesthesia, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) and updated references for further study and clarification. A consistent chapter format includes: presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case. Problem-based approach emphasizes critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills. Ideal for oral board and continuing education preparation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 1975120019
Publication Date: 2020
