Emergency Medicine
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
ISBN: 9781260134940Publication Date: 2020
Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, 2nd ed. by
Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, 2nd Edition , discusses 365 errors commonly made in the practice of emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, approachable, and evidence-based, suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, used for quick reference on call, or read daily over the course of one year for personal assessment and review. ?Key Features: Coverage includes psychiatry, pediatrics, poisonings, cardiology, obstetrics and gynecology, trauma, general surgery, orthopedics, infectious diseases, gastroenterology, renal, anesthesia and airway management, urology, ENT, and oral and maxillofacial surgery. Completely revised and rewritten by many new authors, as well as returning authors who bring a fresh perspective to new subjects. New key points at the end of each chapter present must-know information in an easy-access, bulleted format. Ideal for emergency medicine physicians, residents, and attendings; emergency nurse practitioners, PAs who practice in the ED, and primary care physicians in urgent care centers. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496320742Publication Date: 2017
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, 8th ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
ISBN: 0071840613Publication Date: 2017
Fleisher and Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, 8th ed. by
Long considered the gold standard comprehensive reference for diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children, Fleisher & Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine is an essential resource for clinicians at all levels of training and experience. The revised eighth edition has been updated from cover to cover, providing practical, evidence-based content to help you meet any clinical challenge in the emergency care of pediatric patients. Streamlines content for quick reference, focusing on patient and practitioner safety, essential pathophysiology, clear outcomes and triage considerations, and efficient cross-referencing between chapters. Presents the knowledge and expertise of numerous new contributors Includes new chapters on clinical pathways, clinical decision and support, multidisciplinary teamwork, and the importance of humanism in emergency medicine. Contains easy-to-follow algorithms, online links to The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia's clinical pathways for managing critical patients, and clinical pearls throughout. Features an extensive signs and symptoms section, plus sections on resuscitation and stabilization, medical emergencies, trauma, surgical emergencies, and behavioral health emergencies. Includes helpful chapters on biological and chemical terrorism, equipment, parental instructions, procedures, and much more. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975121518Publication Date: 2020
Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, 7th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Clinically focused and evidence-based, Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference. Emphasizes management and disposition, helping you make effective management decisions for patients with or without a confirmed diagnosis. Contains a unique high-risk chief complaint section, covering frequently seen, critical presentations in the ED, including chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status. Provides carefully selected tables, diagrams, and illustrations to enhance and augment concise, focused chapters. Features key testing sections throughout as well as pertinent clinical guideline boxes providing practical advice and guidance to increase your knowledge and improve your clinical care. Includes access to additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1,500 self-assessment questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975111595Publication Date: 2020
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, 8th ed. by
A fully updated edition of the most popular guide to managing toxic exposures and ingestions--now streamlined to help you find the right answers more quickly than ever Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, Poisoning and Drug Overdose delivers the critical information you need to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Content in this new edition has been condensed and redesigned to make finding answers more quickly and easily. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, this instant-answer guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. It provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons, describes the use and side effects of antidotes and therapeutic drugs, and medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures. Features *Diagnosis and treatment of common and uncommon poisonings and drug overdoses *Coverage of environmental toxins such as mold, asbestos, and others *Special pregnancy considerations *Extensive cross-referencing *Packed with useful tables *Detailed toxicity and workplace exposure guidelines for 500+ industrial chemicals When you must act fast, Poisoning and Drug Overdose answers your critical need for information on drugs and poisons to help you save lives and manage toxic exposure safely and effectively.
ISBN: 1264259085Publication Date: 2022
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine, 6th ed. by
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine continues its long tradition of being the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in emergency medicine. The newly revised 6th edition of this classic medical reference has been thoroughly updated with step-by-step Review, Procedure, and Ultrasound Boxes covering the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for effective practice of emergency medicine. You'll access complete and detailed guidance on exactly when, how, and why to perform all of today's common and uncommon procedures and get the best results. Understand the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, in addition to other emergency procedures that may be an option. Rapidly review the entire contents online, including brand-new videos of common and complex procedures, at Expert Consult. See entire procedures at a glance with the addition of new Procedure Boxes, which offer step-by-step visual instruction on over 250 emergency techniques. Ideal for point-of-care reference, these Procedure Boxes also serve as a comprehensive mini atlas and are especially useful for less-encountered procedures or those that require complex equipment. Easily apply the latest emergency ultrasound techniques through new Ultrasound Boxes, all of which are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs of the technique as well as screen captures of the US images. Master today's hottest new procedures including ultrasound for diagnosis of pneumothorax; loop abscess drainage; pediatric fluid resuscitation; and video-assisted intubation. Clearly and efficiently visualize all emergency procedures with a complete overhaul of figures, now nearly all in full color; new diagnostic images representing multiple modalities; and online-only procedural videos demonstrating key techniques. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9781455706068Publication Date: 2013
Rosen's Emergency Medicine - Concepts and Clinical Practice, 8th edition by
Rely on Rosen's Emergency Medicine for the latest answers on every facet of emergency medicine practice. For decades, this medical reference book has set the standard in emergency medicine, offering unparalleled comprehensiveness, clarity, and authority - to help you put the latest and best knowledge to work for your patients in the ER. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Compatible with Kindle®, nook®, and other popular devices. Practice confidently with easily actionable, dependable guidance on the entire breadth of emergency medicine topics. Get expert guidance on how to approach specific clinical presentations in the ER. The "Cardinal Presentations Section" provides quick and easy reference to differential diagnosis and directed testing for fever in the adult patient; dizziness and vertigo; chest pain; and over 20 other frequently seen presentations in the emergency department. Effectively apply the newest emergency medicine techniques and approaches, including evidence-based therapies for shock; high-cost imaging; evaluation and resuscitation of the trauma patient; cardiovascular emergencies; evaluation and risk stratification for transient ischemic attack (TIA) patients; and much more. Locate the answers you need quickly thanks to a user-friendly, full-color design, complete with more illustrations than ever before. Access the complete contents on the go from your laptop or mobile device at Expert Consult, fully searchable, with links to PubMed.
ISBN: 9781455749874Publication Date: 2014
Rosen and Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult, 6th ed. by
The sixth edition of this comprehensive yet concise Rosen & Barkin's 5 Minute Emergency Medicine Consultpulls together up-to-date and evidence-based practice guidelines for easy use in a busy emergency department. In just two brief, bullet-friendly, clutter-free pages, you can quickly decipher the information you need to confirm your diagnosis, order tests, manage treatment and more! Features new information--based on the latest practice guidelines and theoretical developments--and new approaches to diagnosis and management. Designed for integrating into your practice--in an urgent care setting with patients or during downtime between patients or meetings. Covers over 600 disease and condition topics, such as bleeding, orthopedic injuries, gastric conditions, domestic violence and more. Suitable for all practitioners, nurses and residents in an emergency room setting. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496392954Publication Date: 2019
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
ISBN: 1260019934Publication Date: 2019
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
ISBN: 9781496351968Publication Date: 2017-06-28
