“Get it at UC”: How to Access a Publication
"Get it at UC" Button
Databases provide a description of articles and other publications to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within the database. Most databases include, as part of the item record, the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to options to locate this publication.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or other publication, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the item (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library or beyond. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Find Publications via Subject Databases
UC Davis librarians have prepared lists of key resources (including databases) for researchers in specific subject areas which will help you navigate the vast amount of information available through the library and beyond.
Subject Databases
Curated collections of articles, data, sometimes including grey literature, and other resources, indexed to facilitate searching by researchers in specific subject areas. These collections include resources that you cannot find by searching the open internet (e.g. via Google or Google Scholar). Key databases for agriculture and related fields are listed below.
Search Tips for Extension Publications - Guide to searching for Cooperative Extension documents from any state, developed by a librarian at Michigan State University.
Recommended Subject-Specific Databases:
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal science; veterinary science; entomology; plant science; forestry; aquaculture and fisheries; farming, farming systems and crops; agricultural economics; extension and education; food and human nutrition; and earth sciences and environmental sciences. The Bibliography of Agriculture is the print index to the agricultural literature going back to 1942 located on the Shields Library, Third Floor, at call number Z 5071 .U63. NOTE: default UCD Search Type set to Advanced Ovid Search. IMPORTANT: The largest and most comprehensive agricultural literature database is CAB Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1970-present] - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) This link opens in a new windowFSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) is an extensive specialist database covering scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition. Carefully selected food and health research and information is collated, summarized, and indexed for efficient searching. It is managed by a team of expert scientists within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence. FSTA covers topics relating to aspects of the food chain including all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. It's used by researchers, industry practitioners, and students around the world to keep up-to-date with the latest findings in their fields. FSTA offers in excess of 1,200,000 highly informative summaries of research articles, patents, standards, reviews, conference proceedings and reports, and is used by academics and professionals throughout the world. IMPORTANT: default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1969-present] - AGRIS - International System for Agricultural Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowThe Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations maintains an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology that produces the AGRIS and CARIS databases. AGRIS indexes world literature collected from AGRIS resource centers in over 100 countries worldwide. AGRIS covers all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature not available through normal publication and distribution channels, such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers and government publications. AGRIS indexes FAO sales publications and documents, including main documents and project reports. Use the Search Assistant for advanced searching by filed (title, author, etc.) and by date.
[Coverage: 1975-present] - AgriRXiv This link opens in a new windowFounded in 2017 by Open Access India, agriRxiv (AgriXiv as it was) has continued to grow. Now relaunched through CABI, in collaboration with OAI, the service will benefit from CABI’s expertise in agriculture and the environment, providing a sustainable new home for agricultural preprints.
agriRxiv (pronounced ‘agri-archive’) is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences. It is hosted and managed by CABI (cabi.org), an international, inter-governmental, not-for-profit organization that improves people’s lives worldwide by providing information and applying scientific expertise to solve problems in agriculture and the environment.
By sharing preprints on agriRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to their scientific colleagues.
There is no fee to submit articles to agriRxiv.
Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. agriRxiv will moderate and then index all content to ensure it is appropriate for our users, and that it can be easily found and shared.
Recommended General Databases:
Agricultural Chemistry
For a comprehensive list of chemistry resources, consult the Chemistry Subject Guide.
- SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
Agricultural Economics
See also the Agricultural and Resource Economics Subject Guide.
- AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window“AgEcon Search – Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics” is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works.”
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.
[Coverage: 1969-present]
Agricultural Engineering
For an extensive list of additional agricultural engineering resources, consult the Biological & Agricultural Engineering Subject Guide.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library This link opens in a new windowFull text technical documents published by the ASABE, including ASABE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASABE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings. Formerly known as American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE).
[Coverage: varies by title, 1958-present] - Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
[Coverage: 1884-present]
Agricultural Policy
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
[Coverage: 1914-present] - CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new windowCongressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1991. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments. Also included is the Politics in America, with information about members of congress and their districts. Additional online books are excellent references about U.S. politics, voting, congress and government.
Nutrition (Human and Animal)
For a comprehensive list of food science and technology and nutrition resources, consult the Food Science and Nutrition Subject Guide.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present]
Multidisciplinary General Databases
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present] - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences and technology.
[Coverage: 1887-present] - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to dissertations published after 1977, and citations and abstracts for earlier dissertations and theses. The official offsite dissertations repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Contains every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database. Access to works by UC campus authors is free for UC affiliates.
[Coverage: 1861-present] - National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new windowGovernment-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present] - WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]