Getting Started: Key Resources for Biological and Agricultural Engineering
This Biological & Agricultural Engineering guide provides links to key information resources and a variety of content including articles, data, e-books, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks. Biological and agricultural engineering literature can be found via the resources/tools recommended on a variety of topics from: anaerobic bioreactors, animal feed systems, aquacultural production systems, biofilms, biological membranes, biomass, crop production, dehydration systems, fermentation, food engineering (all aspects), forest products, heaters and heating, imaging, irrigation, kinetics, mass transfer, nanoscale, osmosis, packaging, precision agriculture, pulsed electric fields, refrigeration, rheology, sensors, soil, sterilization, thermal processes, ultrasound, waste & wastewater, and much more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating biological and agricultural engineering literature.
PLEASE NOTE: Comprehensive literature searching in Biological and Agricultural Engineering requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since biological and agricultural engineering is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
[Original Content by Cory Craig]
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library This link opens in a new windowFull text technical documents published by the ASABE, including ASABE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASABE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings. Formerly known as American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE).
[Coverage: varies by title, 1958-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
[Coverage: 1884-present] - CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- ENGnetBaseA large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for: expanding your topic; getting a broad overview of your topic; or getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book). More than 4,320 books online, with handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering