Research Guides: UC Cooperative Extension/ANR Academics Services and Resources: Special Agriculture Collections

Special Agriculture Collections

Below are links to online collections of information resources in agriculture and related fields, including digitized UC Cooperative Extension publications.

CARA - California Agricultural Resources Archive
Digital collection of materials on crop research, agricultural production, technology, land use, socioeconomic development, 4-H and youth development, among other subjects, from the County Offices of the UC Cooperative Extension Service. A built-in search tool locates UCANR publications across several online databases, including Calisphere, HathiTrust, and Internet Archive.
Calisphere
Calisphere “provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration [which have been] digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state“.
Online Archive of California
Free public access to primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. Includes collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Hilgardia
Hilgardia was the primary technical publication of University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources for 70 years, published from 1925 to 1995. The full series has been digitized.
Search Tips for Extension Publications
Guide to searching for Cooperative Extension documents from any state, developed by a librarian at Michigan State University.
Extension & Experiment Station Publications (beyond California)
USAIN (United States Agricultural Information Network) webpage providing access to various extension and experiment station publications outside of California.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid provides descriptions of documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. The majority of the records are from US institutions, and were harvested from WorldCat.

California Agricultural Experiment Station Publications

The following CAES publications have been digitized, and can be found in the catalog of the UC Davis Library:

Bulletin
Circular
Extension Service Circular
Lithoprint
Manual
Publications in Agricultural Sciences

Please note:

Each volume is cataloged separately. To find everything in the series, choose the “Advanced Search” option, and enter the publication name as the phrase {California Agricultural Experiment Station}

A collection of CAES publications is also available in the Internet Archive. It contains:

Bulletin series - 1884 to 1983.
Circular - Published from 1903-1974, Circulars are the third series produced by the California Agricultural Experiment Station. It was intended for distribution only as called for by those specially interested in the subjects embraced in them. From 1921-1951 the Circular was supplemented by the Extension Circular, which was subsequently absorbed by Circular to become the California Agricultural Experiment Station Extension Service, Circular.

A. P. Giannini Foundation Research Report Series
The Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics promotes and supports research and outreach activities in agricultural economics and rural development relevant to California. Members of the Giannini Foundation are University of California faculty and Cooperative Extension specialists in agricultural and resource economics on the Berkeley, Davis, and Riverside campuses. Established in 1930.