Getting Started: Key Resources for Food Science and Nutrition
Below are key resources to get you started in locating Food Science and Nutrition literature and its related fields. These resources include extensive literature from post-harvest in agriculture food science and technology to human nutrition.
Please note:
Comprehensive searching in Food Science and Nutrition requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since food science and nutrition is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) This link opens in a new windowFSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) is an extensive specialist database covering scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages and nutrition. Carefully selected food and health research and information is collated, summarized, and indexed for efficient searching. It is managed by a team of expert scientists within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence. FSTA covers topics relating to aspects of the food chain including all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. It's used by researchers, industry practitioners, and students around the world to keep up-to-date with the latest findings in their fields. FSTA offers in excess of 1,200,000 highly informative summaries of research articles, patents, standards, reviews, conference proceedings and reports, and is used by academics and professionals throughout the world. IMPORTANT: default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1969-present] - PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present] - CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present] - Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Incorporates more than 250 videos and more than 7,000 books and documents. Featured collections include: Food Movements, Organic Farming and GMOs, Food Systems, Food and the Environment, and Diet Trends. Also includes: Small Farms Interview collection, archival photographs, and over 23,000 menus available online through the New York Public Library and Los Angeles Public Library websites.
[Coverage: 1940s -1960s]
