Journals
Use UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting to find which journals we subscribe to, either online or in print.
- Online subscriptions: the catalog will give links to the article PDF in the database where that content is avaiable. Note that we often get online content for different years from different sources. Read the fine print.
- Print subscriptions: the catalog will give you the call number and location. The item record will indicate whether or not it is checked out.
- Journals A-ZSearch for journals by title.
BrowZine: browsing tool for licensed journals
- BrowZineBrowZine Journal Engagement Platform is a web-based platform and mobile app that enables users to quickly find, easily follow, and directly access the library's licensed e-journals on any device. BrowZine visually presents the library’s e-journals in a browsable and readable format with seamless synchronization across devices. Includes a My Bookshelf feature which enables users to add their favorite titles and receive notification of newly published articles (including articles in press). Articles can be saved to My Articles for reading and referencing later.
Download BrowZine mobile app - BrowZine: Agriculture Journals & PeriodicalsPreset link to subscribed UCD journals from major chemistry publishers including subsections for: Agribusiness; Agricultural Law and Policy; Agricultural Research; Agricultural Technology; Agriculture - General/Interdisciplinary; Agronomy and Crop Sciences; Animal Science and Animal Products; Aquaculture, Fish, and Fisheries; Breeding and Genetic Improvement; Dairy Science; Farms and Farming Systems; Horticulture; Pest Control and Entomology; Plant Science and Plant Products.
- Browzine: Agronomy & Crop ScienceMost soil science journals fall under the Agronomy & Crop Science category
- BrowZine: Food Science Journals & PeriodicalsPreset link to subscribed UCD journals from major food science publishers including subsections for: Food and Nutrition; Food Chemistry; Food Microbiology; Food Safety and Food Security; Food Science - General/Interdisciplinary; Food Technology/Biotechnology.
- BrowZine: Natural Resources Conservation and Biodiversity Journals & PeriodicalsLocated under the Earth & Environmental Sciences category; under the subsection for Natural Resources Management.
- BrowZine: Nutrition Journals & PeriodicalsPreset link to subscribed UCD journals from major nutritional science publishers including subsections for: Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition; International and Community Nutrition; Molecular, Genetic and Biochemical Nutrition; Nutrition - General.
Journal Rankings and Impact Factors
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports is an annual publication which indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science/Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 7,200 journals in science, technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. For each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer time-spans for citation, consider a ranking sort by using the 5-year Impact Factor.
Reviews Publications
Review series typically have the following words in their title: "Advances in … "; "Annual Review of …"; "Critical Reviews in …" ; "Current Opinion in …" ; "Expert Reviews in …" ; "International Review of …" ; "Progress in …" ; "Trends in …", etc.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, critical reviews, written by leading scientists across a range of disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
How to Access the Full Text of an Article
"Get it at UC" Button
Most databases provide a description of articles and other resources to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within their website. Included as part of the item record is the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to a copy of the full text of the article.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or book, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the book or article (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library. Learn more about how to request books or articles.