Protocols and Methods
Licensed/Subscribed Resources
- Current Protocols Series This link opens in a new windowCovers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work "Current Protocols in Molecular Biology" with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does NOT license the following FIVE protocol titles: "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Plant Biology" (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new windowThis is a combined database of 3 protocols or methods resources: Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols. Together there are over 60,000 searchable protocols and methods. The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 55,000 protocols in molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols. These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Nature Protocols is associated with the Protocol Exchange (https://protocolexchange.researchsquare.com) which is an open repository through which researchers can share and discuss their protocols.
[Coverage: 1980-present] - Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new windowA definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions.
[Coverage: 2006-present] - JoVE Journal (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A peer reviewed scientific video journal that publishes methods articles accompanied by videos of experiments. Articles are indexed in PubMed, Web of Science, SciFinder, and Scopus. Subject areas include: behavior, biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, cancer research, chemistry, developmental biology, engineering, environment, genetics, immunology and infection, medicine, neuroscience. In addition to the JoVE Journal, the JoVE Research platform includes: Methods Collections, and Encyclopedia of Experiments. UC Davis has full access to the entire JoVE platform.
- Methods in Ecology and Evolution [via Wiley]Started in 2010, the entire journal is dedicated to protocols, field methods and “promotes the development of new methods in ecology & evolution, and facilitates their dissemination and uptake by the research community.”
- Methods in Enzymology [via ScienceDirect]1955-present. Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.
Open Access Resources
- EPA Collection of MethodsEPA offices and laboratories, and outside organizations, have developed approved methods for measuring the concentration of a substance or pollutant. Categories included: Air and Radiation; Water; Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances; Research and Development - Not Approved; Solid Waste and Emergency Response; Index to EPA Test Methods.
- Bio-ProtocolA rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.
- protocols.ioA website for creating, organizing, and publishing reproducible research protocols. UC Davis researchers have access to free premium accounts. UC pilots protocols.io
- Protocols: OpenWetWareOpen Access to full-text protocols in three categories of “in vivo”, “in vitro” and “in silico” and a general category of other. Anyone can add their own protocols or review those under development. Over 500 protocols available.