UCDavis subscribes to part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of Slavery of this resource. These components of Slavery and Anti-Slavery include collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the legal and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries
This resource consists of subsets pertaining to Southern Law, Industry, Slavery and the Slave Trade, Plantation records in the long 19th Century as well as Confederate and Union War materials and Reconstruction.
Primary source collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. Covering the period 1830-1865, the approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany. The digital collection reproduces in full the 17 reels of microfilmed content from the original collection and provides a searchable, easily accessible format for research, teaching, and study.
Provides "information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries." It is primarily a data set permitting not only the display of details of each individual voyage but also the manipulation of that data in tables and charts. It also contains maps and primary source images.