History of the United States and Canada

19th Century US Newspapers (NCNP) provides access to over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.

Google has a growing collection of digitized historic and contemporary newspapers mostly from the U.S. and Canada. It's hard to know exactly what is included, but this link goes to the alphabetical list of papers including the years covered and number of issues scanned.

Over 360 Spanish-language newspapers from 15 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.

American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
[Coverage: 1828-2016]

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

The collection contains 8 New York papers including the Daily Worker and Daily World, as well as one paper, The Ohio Socialist, from Cleveland.

Collection of digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons. Provides important documentation of the prison experience across 220 years, and an important voice for criminal justice advocacy. Includes penal institutions of all kinds, including women’s-only institutions and early debtors’ prisons. Includes the news, issues, and commentary that mattered to prisoners. The collection, at its completion, is projected to include The Prison Mirror (Stillwater Correctional Facility, MN, 1887-present), The Angolite (Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola, 1952-present), and San Quentin News (San Quentin Prison, CA, 1941-present). American Prison Newspapers is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1800-2020]

Alternative press and political newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century, including, feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications. Searchable full-text access includes nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers, as well as image, audio and other archival material.  These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Independent Voices is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1950s-1980s]

Historical coverage of the New York Times from 1857-2016, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.
[Coverage: 1857-2016]

The Chicago Tribune is one of the oldest continuously published newspapers in the United States. Provides in-depth coverage during the Civil War period and includes many special editions such as the Lincoln Centenary Issue, honoring Abraham Lincoln. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text.
[Coverage: 1849-1996]

Historical coverage of the Washington Post from 1877-1997, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Times, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue in 1881 through 1995.

Historical coverage of the Wall Street Journal 1889-2002 with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.
[Coverage: 1889-2002]

Historical coverage of the Christian Science Monitor. The Christian Science Monitor became famous for its thoughtful treatment of the news and for the quality of its long-range comprehensive assessments of political, social, and economic developments.
Coverage: 1908-2007

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

{Coverage: 1939-2010]

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

There is permanent access to the 1874-1922 portion of this resource. 1923-2003 is renewed on an annual basis.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

The Hartford Courant is the oldest continuously operating newspaper in the United States.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

Historical coverage of the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912-2001, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

[Coverage: 1837-1997]

Coverage: 1901 - 2009
This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

UC Davis has permanent access to this newspaper, 1890-1922. Coverage of 1923-2007 is renewed on annual basis.