History of the United States and Canada

Full-text of seven 19th Century African American Newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder. Coverage varies by newspaper.

Coverage: 1893-2010

Includes the full image of articles published in the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. You can browse individual issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen, or search by keyword(s), author(s), article title, date ranges, and more. Includes illustrations and advertisements.

The Pittsburgh Courier was "one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights." Permanent access through 2002. 2003-2010 is renewed on an annual basis.

One of the oldest African American newspapers of the United States, Amsterdam News was founded in New York in 1909 and is still published today. Keep in mind that this database does not contain the full run of the title. Provides primary source documentation on Black history, politics, culture, and the arts. Full text search of articles, classified ads, display advertisements, bylines, headlines, obituaries and more. Cross-searchable with all other ProQuest titles.

One of nine African American newspapers available through ProQuest. The Atlanta World was founded in 1928, became the Daily World in 1932, and is still published today. This database provides full text search of articles, classified ads, display advertisements, bylines, headlines, obituaries and more, and is cross-searchable with all other ProQuest titles.
Coverage: 1932-2010

The Los Angeles Sentinel is the flagship newspaper of the local African-American community. The database provides coverage from 1934 to 2005.

One of the nine African American newspapers available through ProQuest. This weekly paper was founded in 1928 with a merging of the Cleveland Call and the Cleveland Post, and is still published today. Keep in mind, this database does not include the full run of the newspaper. Provides primary source documentation on Black history, politics, culture, and the arts. Full text search of articles, classified ads, display advertisements, bylines, headlines, obituaries and more. Cross-searchable with all other ProQuest titles.