History of the United States and Canada

Full-text digital edition of the Sacramento Bee newspaper from 1857-1983.

Full-text page images of for the years 1865-1922.
[Coverage: 1865-1922]

Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from digital archived issues of San Francisco Chronicle 1923-1984.
[Coverage: 1923-1984]

Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Times, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue in 1881 through 1995.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use. Includes: San Francisco Examiner (1865-2007); The Californian (2001-2012) Salinas; Tulare Advance-Register (2001-2007); Visalia Times-Delta (2001-2014).

This full text database consists of 5 collections that may be searched in combination or separately. One set is of early (mostly 19th Century) California papers.

The CDNC is a growing collection that currently provides full text access to more than 10 miillion pages of hundreds of historical California newspapers published from 1846-current, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. The San Francisco Call, the Sacramento Transcript and the Sacramento Daily Union also are included in the CDNC. UCDavis' California Aggie (1915-2014) is part of this collection, also.

Established in 1982, the TV Archive preserves over 4000 hours of newsfilm, documentaries and other programs produced locally in the Bay Area and Northern California between 1939-2005. It is part of SF State Library’s Department of Special Collections.
[Coverage: 1939-2005]