History of the United States and Canada

"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere."

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
[Coverage: 1741-1940s]

This collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Contains over 60,000 primary source documents split across two modules, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. The majority of the collection is unique manuscripts. Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859. Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

Includes the full text of diaries and letters of more than 100 women from the 18th and 19th centuries, with biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography on women's narratives.
[Coverage: 1675-1950]

The Library of Congress' digital collections provides open access to full text historical documents and materials. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

AlabamaMosaic is a rich and varied online collection of archival materials on Alabama’s history culture places and people. It contains materials from more than 20 repositories in the state including: Alabama School of Fine Arts, Tuskeegee University, Alabama Department of Folklife and History, Birmingham Botanical Gardens.

Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of three modules: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience. The International Index to Black Periodicals. a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text.  Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the influential Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

Full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from The Birds of America as well as the complete contents of the three-volume The Quadrupeds of North America.
[Coverage: 1534-1959]

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Explores five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink. Collectively, these materials illustrate linkage between food, identify, politics, power, gender, race and socio-economic status. Includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content documenting evolution within everyday life and the public sphere. International content includes a range of food cultures and traditions.
[Coverage: 1500s-2005]

Includes images, documents, maps and streaming video interviews that explore the existence and consequences on the various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America.
[Coverage: 1650-1920]

Companion resource to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), PAO is a fulltext archive of hundreds of historical digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences;
[Coverage: 1802-2000s]

This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published between 1639-1819. It combines two collections: "Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800). Evans" and "Early American Imprints Series II (1801-1819). Shaw-Shoemaker".
[Coverage: 1639-1819]

This category consists of one module featuring collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society. The module contains 26 collections focused on the Colonial era, the Revolutionary War, and the early national period. Highlights of the Revolutionary War era are the Artemas Ward Papers, Hancock Family Papers, and the Revere Family Papers.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
[Coverage: 1701-1800]

Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents on the history of empires and empire building in the modern era. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
[Coverage: 1492-present]

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This collection combines full runs of regional newspapers, pamphlets, and ephemera from both sides of the American Civil War address a wide array of the political, legal and social issues of the day. The Newspapers included are: Richmond Dispatch (Virginia), Charleston Mercury (South Carolina), New Orleans Times Picayune (Louisiana), Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal (Ohio), The Kentucky Daily Journal, Memphis Daily Appeal.

A full text collection of letters and diaries by hundreds of participants and witnesses to the Civil War. Includes biographies, bibliographies and a day-by-day record of events, all accessible via a detailed search engine.
[Coverage: 1861-1865]

Political Extremism and Radicalism provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights and universal suffrage. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand the impact they have had on today’s society.
[Coverage: 1900s-2010s]

The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought.

Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
[Coverage: 1857-1912]

Series 1  The life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.
[Coverage: 19th century - 20th century]

Started in 1942, the Bracero Program brought millions of Mexican guest workers to the United States, and over the next two decades, more than 4 million Mexicans came to work in the country. This public history resource from the Center for History and New Media at Georgetown University brings together oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the program. Visitors can read the "About" section to learn more about the program and its legacy and then move on to browse the documents. The document archive can be searched in its entirety, or users can also move through areas that include "Images", "Documents", and "Oral Histories". Educators will want to look over the "Teaching" area, as it features three different learning activities which draw on the archive's documents. Also, the "Resources" area includes a video tutorial on how to use the archive effectively and several interview questions for those who might know some former Bracero workers.

This collection brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together chronicling the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveals the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.

The Densho Digital Repository provides digital access to oral histories, historical newspapers, photography, and other primary source material documenting the Japanese American experience, including the forced relocation and incarceration of American citizens in concentration camps by the US government in during World War II.

The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) documents, preserves, and shares stories from South Asian American history and experience.

From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.
[Coverage: 1903-1967]

Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more.
[Coverage: 1997-2014]

C-SPAN records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 is immediately accessible .