ECH/EMS 200 - Chemical Engineering/Materials Science Engineering

2020 (8th ed.) “A Dictionary of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemistry and related topics, such as physical chemistry and biochemistry, including recent developments in the field. It is supplemented by graphs, diagrams, and detailed appendices as well as useful web links which are accessible via the companion website.”

2016 (16th ed.) This classic work contains "1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks. Has a
significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Includes an update on toxicological profiles."

2005-2022. IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) - based on the “Gold Book”.

Online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, excellent resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

Provides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.

Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

2005. This 5-volume set “offers extensive A-Z treatment of the subject in five simultaneously published volumes, with comprehensive indexing of all five volumes in the back matter of each tome. It includes material on the design of key unit operations involved with chemical processes; the design, unit operation, and integration of reactors and separation systems; process system peripherals such as pumps, valves, and controllers; analytical techniques and equipment; and pilot plant design and scale-up criteria.

This reference contains well-researched sections on automation, equipment, design and simulation, reliability and maintenance, separations technologies, and energy and environmental issues. Authoritative contributions cover chemical processing equipment, engineered systems, and laboratory apparatus currently utilized in the field. It also presents expert overviews on key engineering science topics in property predictions, measurements and analysis, novel materials and devices, and emerging chemical fields.”

2019. Han Buxing et al. Part of the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology Series. “This expanded, revised, and updated second edition of Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering provides a comprehensive introduction to the state-of-the-art in this key area of sustainability research. Processes that meet the objectives of green chemistry and chemical engineering minimize waste and energy use, and eliminate toxic by-products. Given the ubiquitous nature of products from chemical processes in our lives, green chemistry and chemical engineering are vital components of any sustainable future. Peer-reviewed articles from worldwide experts present the latest developments on topics ranging from organic batteries and green catalytic transformations to green nanoscience and nanotoxicology.“

2018 (3rd ed.), François Cardarelli. “The most concise and comprehensive source of materials physical and chemical properties and data. Thorough presentation of physical and chemical data on a uniquely broad range of materials – 24 different classes. Careful indexing and extensive use of tables make data quickly accessible. Emphasises industrial relevance of both the data presented and the descriptive information for many individual materials.

2020. Lawrence E. Murr. “This extensive knowledge base provides a coherent description of advanced topics in materials science and engineering with an interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary approach. The book incorporates a historical account of critical developments and the evolution of materials fundamentals, providing an important perspective for materials innovations, including advances in processing, selection, characterization, and service life prediction. It includes the perspectives of materials chemistry, materials physics, engineering design, and biological materials as these relate to crystals, crystal defects, and natural and biological materials hierarchies, from the atomic and molecular to the macroscopic, and emphasizing natural and man-made composites.”

A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for: expanding your topic; getting a broad overview of your topic; or getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book). More than 4,320 books online, with handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering

2004 (2nd ed.) Pradyot Patnaik, et al. "This essential resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40% new material ... all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data. This title is the most up-to-date and complete guide to analytical chemistry available today with three major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides and Analysis of Trace Metals."

2017 (17th ed.) James G. Speight, ed. “The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include:- Inorganic Chemistry- Organic Chemistry- Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources- Spectroscopy - General Information and Conversion Tables.”

These "primers help graduate students and scientists quickly grasp new topics in four to six hours - providing a bridge between undergraduate depth and scholarly articles. Accessible online or offline, they offer features such as a pop-up glossary, expert video interviews, and links to related content."