“Get it at UC”: How to Access a Publication
"Get it at UC" Button
Databases provide a description of articles and other publications to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within the database. Most databases include, as part of the item record, the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to options to locate this publication.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or other publication, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the item (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library or beyond. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Find Publications via Subject Databases
For extensive lists of databases, consult also the database sections from the two subject guides crossing the disciplines for this class. Note that there will be some duplication across these lists:
Recommended Subject-Specific Databases:
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database with full-text sources and indexing of global literature supporting materials science research, including metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Includes widest and deepest bibliographic abstracting for new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation.
Recommended General Databases:
- SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (connect to the VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
[Coverage: 1884-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present]
Multidisciplinary General Databases
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present] - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to dissertations published after 1977, and citations and abstracts for earlier dissertations and theses. The official offsite dissertations repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Contains every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database. Access to works by UC campus authors is free for UC affiliates.
[Coverage: 1861-present] - WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present] - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]