Materials Science

2020 (8th ed.) “A Dictionary of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemistry and related topics, such as physical chemistry and biochemistry, including recent developments in the field. It is supplemented by graphs, diagrams, and detailed appendices as well as useful web links which are accessible via the companion website.”

2016 (16th ed.) This classic work contains "1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks. Has a
significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Includes an update on toxicological profiles."

2021. Alam Parvez. This work “provides a quick and accessible reference to composites terminologies. Arranged like a dictionary, each entry provides a brief but thorough description of over 90 typical and atypical composites terminologies.”

2005-2022. IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) - based on the “Gold Book”.

Online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, excellent resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

Provides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.

Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

2016 (4th ed.) James F. Shackelford et al. “CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook provides a convenient, single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials. As with the first three editions, this Fourth Edition contains information verified by major professional associations such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society.”

2018 (3rd ed.), François Cardarelli. “The most concise and comprehensive source of materials physical and chemical properties and data. Thorough presentation of physical and chemical data on a uniquely broad range of materials – 24 different classes. Careful indexing and extensive use of tables make data quickly accessible. Emphasises industrial relevance of both the data presented and the descriptive information for many individual materials.

2020. Lawrence E. Murr. “This extensive knowledge base provides a coherent description of advanced topics in materials science and engineering with an interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary approach. The book incorporates a historical account of critical developments and the evolution of materials fundamentals, providing an important perspective for materials innovations, including advances in processing, selection, characterization, and service life prediction. It includes the perspectives of materials chemistry, materials physics, engineering design, and biological materials as these relate to crystals, crystal defects, and natural and biological materials hierarchies, from the atomic and molecular to the macroscopic, and emphasizing natural and man-made composites.”

2020-continuous updating (2nd ed.) Wanda Andreoni et al. This “six-volume major reference serving a steadily growing community at the intersection of two mainstreams of global research: computational science and materials science and technology. This extensively expanded new edition reflects the significant developments in all aspects of computational materials research over the past decade, featuring progress in simulations at multiple scales and increasingly more realistic materials models. Thematically separated into two mutually dependent sets – “Methods: Theory and Modeling (MTM)” and “Applications: Current and Emerging Materials (ACE)” – the handbook runs the entire gamut from theory and methods to simulations and applications. Readers benefit from its in-depth coverage of a broad methodological spectrum extending from advanced atomistic simulations of rare events to data-driven artificial intelligence strategies for materials informatics in the set MTM, as well as forefront emphasis on materials of far-ranging societal importance such as photovoltaics and energy-relevant oxides, and cutting-edge applications to materials for spintronic devices, graphene, cement, and glasses in the set ACE.“

2020-continuous updating (2nd ed.) Wanda Andreoni et al. “The long-awaited updated edition of a classic reference work on materials modeling and simulation across length and time scales
Presents a definitive collection of articles on electronic-structure and atomistic methods for graduate students
Serves as authoritative handbook spanning the vast extent of materials modeling methods and their applications to real materials
Enriched with the topical interest areas that foresee applications of multiscale modeling in interdisciplinary settings.”

2018. Surender Kumar Sharma. “This book focuses on the widely used experimental techniques available for the structural, morphological, and spectroscopic characterization of materials. Recent developments in a wide range of experimental techniques and their application to the quantification of materials properties are an essential side of this book. Moreover, it provides concise but thorough coverage of the practical and theoretical aspects of the analytical techniques used to characterize a wide variety of functional nanomaterials.”

“ functional nanomaterials. The book provides an overview of widely used characterization techniques for a broad audience: from beginners and graduate students, to advanced specialists in both academia and industry.”

2018. Siegfried Schmauder ed. et al. “
This book provides a comprehensive reference for the studies of mechanical properties of materials over multiple length and time scales. The topics include nanomechanics, micromechanics, continuum mechanics, mechanical property measurements, and materials design. The handbook employs a consistent and systematic approach offering readers a user friendly reference ideal for frequent consultation. It is appropriate for an audience at of graduate students, faculties, researchers, and professionals in the fields of Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Engineering Mechanics, and Aerospace Engineering.”

2018 (2nd ed.) Hans Warlimont, ed. et al. This handbook is the “most concise yet comprehensive compilation of materials data. The chapters provide succinct descriptions and summarize essential and reliable data for various types of materials. The information is amply illustrated with 900 tables and 1050 figures selected primarily from well-established data collections, such as Landolt-Börnstein, which is now part of the SpringerMaterials database. The new edition of the Springer Handbook of Materials Data starts by presenting the latest CODATA recommended values of the fundamental physical constants and provides comprehensive tables of the physical and physicochemical properties of the elements. 25 chapters collect and summarize the most frequently used data and relationships for numerous metals, nonmetallic materials, functional materials and selected special structures such as liquid crystals and nanostructured materials.”

2013 (5th ed.) George Wypych. This “seminal work provides comprehensive and current information on material weathering for over forty families of polymers. It presents discussions on formulating mechanisms of degradation, effect of thermal processes, present characteristic changes in properties, and tables of available numerical data. This single source reference will dramatically reduce the time used searching for answers in many different sources. … important reference monograph for those … studying material durability, producing materials for outdoor use and actinic exposure, research chemists in the photochemistry field, chemists and material scientists designing new materials, users of manufactured products, those who control the quality of manufactured products, and students who want to apply their knowledge to real materials.”

2010. Charles René et al. “This book reviews the four classes of materials science, the study of each of which are also considered separate fields: metals, ceramics, polymers and composites. The application of materials science in energetic materials, like explosives and oxidizers, is also an important topic, and thus is extensively reviewed in this book. Furthermore, the microhardness of steel and the various testing methods in polymers is analyzed. Specifically, the Vickers microhardness of iron, carbon steels and high-alloyed steels are reviewed. Other chapters in this book explore the process of percolation in cuprate composites. Recently, extensive interest has been focused on the percolation processes in superconducting cuprates, of which physical properties are strongly characterized by the low-dimensional aspects of the crystal structures. Bulk metal glasses (BMGs) are also examined, which are currently the focus of intense research in the world because of their excellent properties and potential applications as engineering materials and functional devises. Other chapters in this book focus on electrodeposition and corrosion properties of zinc-cobalt and zinc-cobalt-iron, the structure and morphology of electrodeposited nickel-cobalt alloy powders, the control of microstructures by heat treatments and high-temperature properties, and the evaluation of fatigue strength methods for machine designs.”

2006. Horst Czichos. “There is no science without measurements, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards. (Commission of the European Union). This … Handbook … compiles advanced methods for materials measurement and characterization from the macroscopic to the nanometer scale. Materials science and its industrial applications require the highest level of accuracy and reliability in the measurement of the properties of materials and the assessment of their safety and reliability. Major technological nations fund large laboratories for testing and measurements that set standards, assess the safety and reliability of materials, and oversee the use of dangerous materials. Behind and beyond the data themselves are the underlying methods whose sophistication and proper use are absolutely necessary to achieve the accuracy, reliability, and safety required by modern technologies. Additionally, the acceleration of the design and creation of new materials via techniques such as molecular modeling and simulation, especially on the nanometer scale, makes the measurement of new materials properties and their characterization ever more critical. Materials professionals will find clear guidelines and standards for how to measure the full spectrum of materials characteristics of new materials and systems. Since materials science forms a bridge between the more traditional fields of physics, engineering, and chemistry, unifying the varying perspectives and covering the full gamut of properties also serves a useful purpose.”

2017+. Vijay Kumar Thakur et al. “ The Handbook of Composites from Renewable Materials comprises a set of 8 individual volumes that brings an interdisciplinary perspective to accomplish a more detailed understanding of the interplay between the synthesis, structure, characterization, processing, applications and performance of these advanced materials. The handbook covers a multitude of natural polymers/ reinforcement/ fillers and biodegradable materials. Together, the 8 volumes total at least 5000 pages and offer a unique publication.”

2021. Open access from Forest Products Laboratory (U.S.) “Summarizes information on wood as an engineering material. Presents properties of wood and wood-based products of particular concern to the architect and engineer. Includes discussion of designing with wood and wood-based products along with some pertinent uses.”

2020. Leticia Myriam Torres Martínez ed. et al.
Presents “maximum … known eco-materials, including ”cyclic” materials; materials for ecology and environmental protection; materials for society and human health; and materials for energy based on two main criteria: their sources and their functions. Eco-materials (also called “environmentally friendly materials” or “environmentally preferable” materials) are materials that enhance, or refrain from damaging, the environment throughout their life cycles. The chapters are written by global leaders in their fields. The book will cater to the strong and ever-increasing demand for energy, benign materials, and cost efficiency. Eco-materials is arguably one of the most important fields of modern science & technology.“

A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for: expanding your topic; getting a broad overview of your topic; or getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book). More than 4,320 books online, with handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering

2004 (2nd ed.) Pradyot Patnaik, et al. "This essential resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40% new material ... all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data. This title is the most up-to-date and complete guide to analytical chemistry available today with three major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides and Analysis of Trace Metals."

2017 (17th ed.) James G. Speight, ed. “The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include:- Inorganic Chemistry- Organic Chemistry- Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources- Spectroscopy - General Information and Conversion Tables.”