Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Below are key dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to introduce you to key concepts and research in chemical engineering.
Dictionaries
- Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry2020 (8th ed.) “A Dictionary of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemistry and related topics, such as physical chemistry and biochemistry, including recent developments in the field. It is supplemented by graphs, diagrams, and detailed appendices as well as useful web links which are accessible via the companion website.”
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary2016 (16th ed.) This classic work contains "1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks. Has a
significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Includes an update on toxicological profiles."
- Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided includes: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses. Also includes sections on organic name reactions, with additional tables. The database can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology2005-2022. IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) - based on the “Gold Book”.
Encyclopedias
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology [via Wiley]Online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, excellent resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.
Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources. - Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryProvides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.
Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources. - Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing2005. This 5-volume set “offers extensive A-Z treatment of the subject in five simultaneously published volumes, with comprehensive indexing of all five volumes in the back matter of each tome. It includes material on the design of key unit operations involved with chemical processes; the design, unit operation, and integration of reactors and separation systems; process system peripherals such as pumps, valves, and controllers; analytical techniques and equipment; and pilot plant design and scale-up criteria.
This reference contains well-researched sections on automation, equipment, design and simulation, reliability and maintenance, separations technologies, and energy and environmental issues. Authoritative contributions cover chemical processing equipment, engineered systems, and laboratory apparatus currently utilized in the field. It also presents expert overviews on key engineering science topics in property predictions, measurements and analysis, novel materials and devices, and emerging chemical fields.” - Green Chemistry and Chemical Engineering2019. Han Buxing et al. Part of the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology Series. “This expanded, revised, and updated second edition of Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering provides a comprehensive introduction to the state-of-the-art in this key area of sustainability research. Processes that meet the objectives of green chemistry and chemical engineering minimize waste and energy use, and eliminate toxic by-products. Given the ubiquitous nature of products from chemical processes in our lives, green chemistry and chemical engineering are vital components of any sustainable future. Peer-reviewed articles from worldwide experts present the latest developments on topics ranging from organic batteries and green catalytic transformations to green nanoscience and nanotoxicology.“
- CIRP Encyclopedia of Production Engineering2020-ongoing. International Academy for Production Engineering, ed. et al. The CIRP Encyclopedia covers the state-of-art of advanced technologies, methods and models for production, production engineering and logistics. While the technological and operational aspects are in the focus, economical aspects are adressed too. The definitions and short explanations for a wide variety of terms were reviewed by the CIRP-Community, representing the highest standards in research. Thus, the content is not only evaluated internationally on a high scientific level but also reflects very recent developments.
- Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (eEROS)"e-EROS gives detailed information on more than 5,250 reagents and catalysts, and every year up to 200 new or updated articles are added in order to keep the Database up-to-date. All material published in e-EROS has been carefully selected, commissioned and edited by the e-EROS Editorial Board. ... [Features include] browse through the A-Z list of Reagents and Catalysts ... alphanumeric searches ... [search by] names of contributors", and more.
- Polymers and Polymeric Composites: A Reference Series2020-ongoing. Kamal Kar, ed. This extensive reference set “provides all details of Polymeric Materials Science and Technology including historical developments, present status, and future potential. In 15 volumes, the Encyclopedia of Polymers and Composites covers: polymeric materials, engineering polymer blends, particulate and fibrous polymeric composite materials, that are the key materials for technology in the 21st Century. Fundamentals of structure of these materials are presented. Properties and effects of various parameters, like time and temperature on them are explained. Testing and Characterization of these materials as per global standard for various applications is presented. Individual polymers, blends, and composites are described, and several representative examples are also provided.“
Handbooks
- Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers2018 (6th ed.) properties for proprietary materials, pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sector heuristics, process design, closed-loop heat transfer systems, heat exchangers, packed columns, and structured packings".
- Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology2017 (13th ed.) Provides an integrated view of manufacturing areas with other topics essential in the new era. Details data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry. Provides new data on nanotechnology, energy technology, and industrial production of enzymes and therapeutic proteins. This edition contains new chapters on: (1) Industrial Chemistry: What it is and it's Role in the World Economy, (2) Process Control in the Chemical Industry, (3) Energy Usage and Conservation in the Chemical Industry, and (4) Equipment for Chemical Processing Operations
- Basic Principles and Calculations in Chemical Engineering, 9th Edition2022 (9th Ed.) James B. Riggs, et al. “This introductory guide addresses the full scope of contemporary chemical, petroleum, and environmental engineering applications and contains extensive new coverage and examples related to biotech, nanotech, green/ environmental engineering, and process safety, with many new MATLAB and Python problems throughout.
[This text] offers a strong foundation of skills and knowledge for successful study and practice, guiding students through formulating and solving material and energy balance problems, as well as describing gases, liquids, and vapors. Throughout, they introduce efficient, consistent, learner-friendly ways to solve problems, analyze data, and gain a conceptual, application-based understanding of modern processes. … In two entirely new chapters, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to dynamic material and energy balances, as well as psychrometric charts.” - Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations2012 (4th ed.). Tyler G. Hicks, et al. “ ,,, the Fourth Edition shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice. New calculations reflect the latest green technologies and environmental engineering standards. Featuring contributions from global experts, this comprehensive guide is packed with worked-out numerical procedures. Practical techniques help you to solve problems manually or by using computer-based methods. By following the calculations presented in this book, you will be able to achieve accurate results with minimal time and effort.“
- Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook (via Access Engineering)2019 (9th ed.) Don W. Green, ed. et al. “ The gold standard for chemical engineering information--from the fundamentals to the state of the art. This industry-standard resource, first published in 1934, has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, is indispensable for unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. New features include coverage of bioreactions and bioprocessing, a practical presentation of thermodynamics fundamentals, and new and updated chemical property data. A must-have for students and professionals in every stage of their careers, Perry's provides all the technical details you'll need in a well-organized format: You'll find comprehensive material on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more."
- Handbook of research on chemoinformatics and chemical engineering2010. A.K. Haghi. “ From theoretical and quantum chemistry to applied fields, mathematical chemistry is an important discipline providing both exlanations and predictions. This text reviews research on chemoinformatics and chemical engineering, which is important in advancing chemistry to an era of detailed understanding of molecules and reactions.”
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry’s Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
Previously licensed McGraw Hill’s Handbooks (via CDL hosted site). See AccessEngineering above or use the library catalog to access current versions. - CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable major chemical reference works, including: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Combined Chemical Dictionary.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics2022-2023 (103rd ed.) The CRC handbook that started it all - over 100 years old and the most important data handbook for major areas of Chemistry and Physics.
- ENGnetBaseA large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for: expanding your topic; getting a broad overview of your topic; or getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book). More than 4,320 books online, with handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering
Key Print-only Resources
PLEASE NOTE: With the permanent closure of the Physical Sciences and Engineering Library during COVID time, all chemistry print books and other materials are now found in four locations: Shields Library sciences 3rd floor; Shields Library 2nd floor Reference collection (REFERENCE titles); temporary storage (at Carlson Health Sciences Library); or the Northern UC libraries storage facility, NRLF (Northern Regional Library Facility). The UCD Library Catalog notes which of these four locations your print chemistry materials may be found at.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
1976-2002. 69-volume set.
Print Location: TP9.E661 1976
Gardner’s Commercially Important Chemicals: Synonyms, Trade Names, Properties
2005. (11th ed.) G.W.A. Milne “An exhaustive resource for the industrial chemical community: contains 4,174 chemical entries and information such as structure, molecular formula, and chemical name; includes synonyms for each chemical, including other identifiers, chemical names, trade names, and trivial names, in English and other languages; provides chemical properties of the compounds, information concerning known uses of the chemical and biological data-in particular, acute toxicity in various species, where available; describes bulk inorganic chemicals, major pesticides (herbicides, insecticides, antifungal agents, etc.), and many dyestuffs, surfactants, and metals …. [Also includes] physical properties and use data for pure chemicals. Properties that have been provided, when available, include: the melting point, boiling point, density or specific gravity, optical rotation, ultraviolet absorption, solubility, and acute toxicity.”
Print Location: TP9.G288 2005.
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables
1998 (4th ed.) 2-volume set. (Updated every 10-25 years). “Provides tables of enthalpies (H) and Gibbs energies of formation (G) for more than 1,000 chemical species in solid, liquid, and gas phases. Changes in H and G can be predicted for any reactions among the chemical speciesl”
Print Location: QD511 N57 1998