LAUC-D

Note: Make sure to check out the social events planned for before and after the Assembly! 

2025 LAUC Assembly Agenda

Monday, March 24, 2025

 8:30am - 9:30am | Registration

• Shields Library Lobby—breakfast, coffee, and tea provided

 9:40am - 10am | Welcome — William Garrity, UC Davis University Librarian and Vice Provost of Digital Scholarship (Hybrid)

• Shields Library Room #167
• Zoom link: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/96861105052

 10:00am - 12:00pm | LAUC business meeting (Hybrid)

• Shields Library Room #167
• Zoom link: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/96861105052

 12:00pm - 1:30pm | Lunch Break 

• Lunch is provided for in-person attendees. 

 1:30pm - 2:20pm |  Committee Presentation (Hybrid)

• Topic: Presentation by Research & Professional Development Committee (R&PD)

  • Shields Library Room #167
  • Zoom link for virtual session: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/96861105052

 2:20pm - 2:40pm | Break

 2:40pm - 3:20pm | Concurrent Breakout Sessions

Discussion Session on Generative AI

This event is not hybrid. Virtual members will meet in a Zoom Room and In-Person attendees will meet in Shields Library Room #167.

• Shields Library Room #167
• Zoom link: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/96861105052

Networking/Destressing Room

Members who wish to take a breather or chat with colleagues, please join us.

• Shields Library Instruction Room (LIR) on the Second Floor
• Zoom link: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/98016877055

3:20pm - 3:30pm | Generative AI Discussion Report Out (Hybrid)

• Shields Library Room #167
• Zoom link: https://ucdavis.zoom.us/j/96861105052

 3:30pm - 4:45pm | Tours

Meet at the Shields Lobby. Archives and Special Collections tour requires advance registration.

• Tour of Shields Archives and Special Collections
• Walking Tour of the Arboretum
• Tour of Mabie Law Library at King Hall

 4:45 pm ~ Social Events

• Optional: Wine, Cheese and Mocktails at the Manetti Shrem Museum of Art
• Optional: Have dinner with LAUC colleagues!

UC Davis Librarians will be offering tours between 3:30pm - 4:45 pm

---

Please meet in the Shields Library Lobby at 3:30pm 

 

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections tour includes guided walkthroughs of Greetings from Davis, Gail Skoff: The Wine Route, and Cooking Against the Grain exhibits, a Reading Room showcase of manuscripts and rare materials related to Food and Wine, local history, and the UC Davis University Archives, and a behind-the-scenes at the Archival Processing areas.

Due to limited capacity, advanced registration is required.
 

Arboretum Walking Tour

Our tour will encompass both the Arboretum and UC Davis GATEway loops for a ~2-mile walk that includes the Redwood Grove, California Native Plants Garden, the Native American Contemplative Garden, and the Animal Sciences horse barn. There will be an opportunity to take a shorter loop of the Arboretum for folks who prefer a 1-mile walk. The trail is paved and accessible for mobility devices. All are welcome! No registration is required.
 

Mabie Law Library

Join us for a tour of the Mabie Law Library within the UC Davis Law School at King Hall. We will take a seven-minute walk from Shields Library to the Law School’s current entrance facing our UC Davis Eggheads, See No Evil/Hear No Evil. Situated in the original half of King Hall, we will pass through the King Hall Lobby that houses our Martin Luther King, Jr. statue and visit our reading rooms and library stacks. Our reading rooms are on two floors, so we will take an elevator to the second floor with the option of taking the elevator or a flight of stairs down to the main floor to end the tour. No registration is required.

Sunday

Sudwerks Brewery 

No host dinner - 5:00 pm

LAUC-D has organized a no-host dinner at Sudwerk Brewing Company, not far from UC Davis's campus, for attendees who will arrive at Davis the night before the Spring Assembly. No RSVP required!

For those interested in taking public transportation, Unitrans bus routes P/Q have a drop-off at 5th Street & Pole Line Road nearby. 

• Event time: 5pm - 7pm
• Address: 2001 2nd St, Davis, CA 95618
• Menu

 

Monday

Manetti Shrem Museum

Hosted Happy Hour - 4:45 pm

Join us immediately after the Assembly at the Manetti Shrem Museum of Art for a hosted Happy Hour. The Manetti Shrem Museum is located a short walk from the Shields Library on UC Davis's campus. Enjoy complimentary happy hour with wine, cheese, and mocktails. 

• Event time: 4:45 pm 
• Location: UC Davis campus - 254 Old Davis Rd, Davis, CA 95616