Clinical Resources by Category
Clinical tools can be subdivided into evidence synthesis (with a clinical bottom line), Point-of-Care tools (quick physician reference), formularies and consumer health tools (for clients).
Clinical Resources by type
- VetMed Resource Evidence Filter This is a specific filter that can be selected to limit search results to synthesis research, the filter parameters can be found in Searchrxiv : https://searchrxiv.org/search-details/?pan=20220149924
- Best BETs for Vets This link opens in a new window Best BETs (Best Evidence Topics) for Vets is an evidence-based resource that provides succinct bottom lines from primary studies. This resource covers a wide range of species and is peer reviewed. These were also picked up in the journal, Veterinary Record.
- Database of Veterinary Systematic Reviews (VetSRev) This link opens in a new window This database is maintained at University of Nottingham’s Centre of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (CEVM). This is a collection of synthesis research (systematic reviews and scoping reviews) currently published in veterinary medicine and indexed in CAB Abstracts (largest article citation database in veterinary medicine) and PubMed. This database is highly sensitive in retrieving synthesis evidence without making quality assessments of the literature. For quality assessment of the synthesis (scoping, systematic and integrative reviews) included in this database, patrons are encouraged to evaluate with AMSTAR 2 (https://amstar.ca/Amstar-2.php). Coverage should include ranges for CAB Abstracts (1973 – present) and PubMed (1902 – present). [Coverage: 1902-present]
- Veterinary Evidence Knowledge Summaries Knowledge Summaries are Critically Appraised Topics that give a clinical bottom line for a number of clinical queries. Also indexed in CAB Abstracts
- In Focus A journal that critically appraises primary research on the article level.
- Vetlexicon Clinical Reference This link opens in a new window Updated weekly, Vetlexicon is an online, point-of-care veterinary clinical reference source, currently covering dogs, cats, rabbits, exotics, cattle and horses. Content is provided in text, picture, video and audio formats; and submitted by leading veterinary clinicians with editorial board oversight and peer review. Additionally, the provided references may be cross-linked to PubMed or VetMedResource records. Also offers client handouts. Formerly known as Vetstream.
- Cornell Consultant Diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine created by and maintained at Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Creates differential lists based on clinical signs or affected system.
- VINcyclopedia Formerly called Associate, this is a tool that allows the reader to find diseases by category or to use the “Diseases to Consider Tool” by listing species and clinical signs or diagnostic results. VIN is free to veterinary students but requires registration.
- Anipedia A number of textbooks with entries relating to livestock disease, helminthology, plant poisonings – a great One Health Resource
- Merck's Veterinary Manual Information on the health problems affecting animals, addressing the range of diseases, disorders, management issues.
- Consumer Product Information Database (CPID) This link opens in a new window The Consumer Product Information Database (CPID) provides information on chemical ingredients of over 26,000 household products. Information available typically includes: label Information, including brand name, and warnings; manufacturers, including address and contact phone numbers; ingredients, Health Effects, Storage and Disposal Information from manufacturer’s material safety data sheets; as well as properties and health studies for the chemical ingredients of brands.
- Consumer Labs Information on the health problems affecting animals, addressing the range of diseases, disorders, management issues.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult by
Like having a trusted clinician with you in the exam room, the fully updated Sixth Edition of Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline continues to offer fast access to information in an easy-to-use format. Provides fast access to key information on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and conditions in dogs and cats Covers 846 specific disorders, making it the most comprehensive quick-reference book on canine and feline medicine Carefully designed for fast searching and reference in the busy practice setting, giving you the confidence to make clinical decisions quickly and appropriately Presents contributions from 379 leading experts specializing in all areas of veterinary medicine Includes access to a companion website with 354 client education handouts for you to download and use in practice, plus images and video clips
Publication Date: 2015
- Plumb's Veterinary Drugs On the shelves of every practice, this is a leading formulary for veterinary medicine. New site includes drug interactions and client sheets.
- BSAVA Formulary (Canine and Feline) This formulary is put out by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association which means some drugs listed may not be available in the USA. In some cases, this can be helpful because they may have drugs that eventually will be available in the USA (like Jurox’s Alfaxalone).
Papich Handbook of Veterinary Drugs by
Papich Handbook of Veterinary Drugs, 5th Edition includes concise entries for more than 550 drugs, with appendices summarizing clinically relevant information at a glance. Nineteen new drug monographs are added to this edition, and over 100 drug monographs have been updated and revised. An Expert Consult website contains more than 150 instructional handouts that may be customized and printed out for your clients. Written by clinical pharmacology expert Mark Papich, this handy reference makes it easy to find the drug data and dosage recommendations you need to treat small and large animals, right when you need it! Over 550 concise drug monographs are organized alphabetically and cross-referenced by classification, trade, and generic name, providing quick and easy access to key information for each drug including: . Generic and trade names, pronunciation, and functional classification . Pharmacology and mechanism of action . Indications and clinical uses . Precautionary information - adverse reactions and side effects, contraindications and precautions, and drug interactions - all featured in colored boxes for at-a-glance retrieval . Instructions for use . Patient monitoring and laboratory tests . Formulations available . Stability and storage . Dosage information for both small and large animals . Regulatory information Clinically relevant appendices help you determine appropriate therapeutic regimens and look up safety and legal considerations. NEW! 19 new drug monographs familiarize you with the latest drugs available for veterinary practice. UPDATED drug monographs include new information such as changes in doses, interactions, indications, adverse reactions, and contraindications. NEW! Expert Consult companion website replaces the former website and includes more than 150 customizable client information handouts for commonly prescribed drugs, including information on the prescribed drug and dosage, do's and don'ts, and possible side effects. NEW! Removal of entries for drugs that have been taken off the market.
ISBN: 9780323709576Publication Date: 2020-12-17
- VIN Formulary Free to veterinary students but requires registration. Veterinary Drugs: VIN Veterinary Drug Handbook ASPCA Toxicology Information Center BSAVA Exotic Pets - 9th Edition BSAVA Small Animal Formulary Part A: Canine and Feline - 9th Edition Camelid Formulary, 1st Ed. Client Drug Information Sheets COMPAS MSDS Information Compendium of Veterinary Products Dermatology Drug Notebook Drug Information Websites Drug Shortages FDA/Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM) Adverse Event Websites Government Agencies, Regulatory, Legal Issue Websites How to Report Adverse Drug Events North American Companion Animal Formulary 2018 Small Animal Drug Handbook, 2nd Ed. VIN Formulary for Exotic Animals VNS Drug & Food Recall Center
- BSAVA Formulary (Exotics) This formulary is put out by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association which means some drugs listed may not be available in the USA.
Saunders Equine Formulary by
This is an indispensable reference for equine veterinary practitioners, veterinary students, and others involved in breeding and keeping horses. This new edition has been fully revised, updated and re-written in a more user-friendly style and format with the inclusion of high quality line drawings and photographs to aid understanding. Also, a conscious decision was made to use generic drug names making this as relevant as possible for everybody working in the equine field all over the world. A listing of haematological, biochemical, physiological, and therapeutic data is contained in just one volume, designed with the final-year vet student and recent graduate in mind. Information on drug dosages and adverse reactions reflects manufacturers' recommendations in data sheets and literature inserts. Clinical Aids section provides highly practical advice and quick synopses for the most common scenarios likely to occur on a field visit, such as bandaging techniques, humane destruction, and restraint techniques. Practical, universal relevance is created by the use of SI units and generic drug names - making this reference useful to everyone working in the equine field all over the world, whether vet student or equine specialist. Practical, step-by-step instructions summarize principal diagnostic tests. NEW! A handy interactive app format allows extra-quick, point-of-care reference. NEW! A full-colour design includes more high-quality line drawings and adds photographs showing nerve block techniques. NEW! Revised clinical techniques section deals with the difficult horse and restraint methods, including field anaesthesia. NEW algorithmic approach updates and clarifies emergency procedures, wound management, disease control protocols, and more. NEW! Wound dressings and suturing sections are thoroughly modernized.
Publication Date: 2014
Exotic Animal Formulary by
The only drug formulary on the market created solely for the treatment of exotic animals, Exotic Animal Formulary, 5th Edition addresses the most common questions and medical situations encountered in clinical practice. Using clear, current recommendations on drugs, indications, and dosages, this text helps you find the information you need fast. Written by clinical and research veterinarian James Carpenter, it includes biological tables with details on therapies and diets, normal blood parameters of common species, venipuncture sites, differential diagnosis, and medical protocols for common conditions. This thoroughly revised edition includes coverage of antimicrobial, antifungal, and antiparasitic agents, along with new chapters on invertebrates, backyard poultry and waterfowl, compound medications, and more! Nearly 200 drug tables provide clear, current recommendations on drugs, indications, and dosages used in treating exotic animals. Biological tables provide details on therapies and diets, normal blood parameters of common species, venipunctures sites, and medical protocols for common conditions. More than 20 expert authors contribute to this edition. All drug information is reviewed for accuracy, ensuring that this reference remains authoritative and current. NEW! Chapter on backyard poultry and waterfowl, an increasingly popular pet in the U.S. UPDATED Chapter on wildlife includes new information on: considerations for developing a wildlife policy in private practice; recommendations for safe restraint of native wildlife; recommendations for meat withdrawal times in game species for select medications; agents used in wild mammal emergencies; and much more. NEW! Information details the euthanasia agents used in fish. NEW! Information on amphibians includes the blood collection sites and the selected disinfectants for equipment and cage furniture. NEW! Information on hedgehogs includes common differential diagnoses based on physical examination findings and confirmed zoonotic diseases carried by hedgehogs. NEW Information on the constant rate infusion (CRI) protocols used in rabbits. NEW! Information on the protein electrophoresis values for ferrets. NEW! Information on compounding pharmacies.
Publication Date: 2017- ASHP® Injectable Drug Information(tm), 2021 Edition byISBN: 9781585286584Publication Date: 2021-02-28Great resource for drug compatibility
- BSAVA Client Information Leaflets Content produced by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association (BSAVA) is available in this resource which includes manuals(books), special topics, proceedings, client handouts, podcasts, formularies and more. Many reserved readings are BSAVA Manuals and they are available here online.
- VIN's Veterinary Partner A resource to refer clients (freely accessible) or print various handouts. It covers a wide range of species: dogs cats horses pigs small mammals birds ruminants
- VetLexicon Client Sheets Often will have a number of client handouts with each disease covered under "Factsheets"