Welcome to the UC Davis Library's Veterinary Medicine Subject Guide. A thorough breakdown of important veterinary resources.
News
AVMA to make pre 2000 content available on publisher site. It is not yet available, so you can make a document delivery request or see if the desired volume is available on Hathi Trust.
Here are the current catalog records of Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association and American Journal of Veterinary Research available on Hathi (list will continue to grow)
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.
Key Veterinary Resources
These are key veterinary resources divided into two categories:
- Background (overview) questions: Designed to build basic understandings of procedures or disease processes
- Foreground (research or clinical) questions: Designed to answer very specific questions after background knowledge has been obtained.
- Database of Veterinary Systematic Reviews (VetSRev) This link opens in a new windowcompiles all systematic and scoping reviews in veterinary medicine from CAB and Medline (PubMed) databases.
- VetMed Resource This link opens in a new windowThis is the most comprehensive database for finding primary research in veterinary medicine.
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowThe perfect complement to VetMed Resource, this database indexes a great deal of veterinary and human medicine journals (including preclinical animal studies)
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers the greatest quantity of core veterinary journals, also has citation tracking and can organize articles by impact.
- Vetlexicon Clinical Reference This link opens in a new windowConsidered a "point-of-care" tool to give quick answers about basics of pathology and treatment, like human medicine's "up to date".
- Merck's Veterinary ManualMerck's Veterinary Manual is a freely available and respected source of information on the health problems affecting animals, addressing the range of diseases, disorders and management issues
- Plumb's FormularyOn the shelves of almost every practice, this is a leading formulary for veterinary medicine. New site includes drug interactions and client sheets.
- VetPartnerA great consumer health resource to learn more about pet health. Similar resource to Medline plus for humans and written for lay audiences. Supported by VIN.