Complete list of relevant veterinary article databases
The most relevant subject index databases to find articles are listed below
Relevant Veterinary Databases by Category
- VetMed Resource This link opens in a new window This database is a filtered list of citations that are veterinary specific. This database utilizes the most robust database of veterinary citations, CAB Abstracts.
- CAB Abstracts (CAB) This link opens in a new window This indexes far more CAB Abstract resources than VetMed Resource, including Global Health (important for One Health and Public Health) and broader agricultural citations.
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new window Indexes a number of veterinary titles despite being primarily for human medicine, due to its sophisticated search features, it is a great place to build your searches.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window A large interdisciplinary database like Web of Science Core Collection but carries more veterinary literature in the ‘‘Basic list of veterinary medical serials, third edition’’ than any other database.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database that covers a large amount of veterinary journals, a combined search can also be conducted with Biosis and Zoological Record to reach more veterinary content.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window Carries many unique veterinary journals including veterinary nurse or technician titles. This database can be combined with Web of Science Core Collection and BIOSIS.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window BIOSIS carries many unique veterinary titles that may not be available in larger veterinary databases like CAB Abstracts and Scopus. This can be searched together with Web of Science Core Collection and Zoological Record.
- Database of Veterinary Systematic Reviews (VetSRev) This link opens in a new window Indexes synthesis evidence in veterinary literature (systematic reviews and scoping reviews). Article citations are imported via searches in CAB Abstracts and PubMed.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Contains more veterinary titles than PubMed and a little more Eurocentric which makes this a very useful database for pharmaceutical information or interventions.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications. [Coverage: 1935-present, with some earlier dates]
- WAHIS: World Animal Health Information System (Formerly: WAHID Interface) This link opens in a new window WAHIS is the global animal health reference database of the World Organisation for Animal Health (WOAH). WAHIS data reflects the validated information since 2005 reported by the Veterinary Services from Member and non-Member Countries and Territories on terrestrial and aquatic Listed diseases in domestic animals and wildlife, as well as on emerging diseases and zoonoses. WAHIS includes interactive mapping tools and dashboards to support data consultation, visualization and extraction of officially validated animal health data.
- Animal Drugs @FDA There are eight sections in the publication. The first lists approved drug products; subsections being sorted by tradename and then by NADA number. The second section lists active ingredients and each approved product containing that active ingredient. The third section lists patent information as provided by the sponsors of approved animal drug products. Section four lists exclusivity periods granted for new uses or claims approved subsequent to enactment of GADPTRA. Section five lists any approved products that are currently the subject of a Notice of Hearing and thus may not be used as a basis of an ANADA. Section six lists animal drug products whose approval has been voluntarily withdrawn by their sponsors since GADPTRA was enacted.Section seven lists the actions on ANADA suitability petitions that have been received by the FDA since the enactment of GADPTRA. Section eight is reserved for monthly updates.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals (OMIA) This link opens in a new window OMIA is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in more than 135 animal species (other than human and mouse, which have their own resources). The database contains textual information and references, as well as links to relevant PubMed and Gene records at the NCBI. It is modeled on, and is complementary to, McKusick’s Mendelian Inheritance in Man (MIM) or OMIM at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/omim.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal science; veterinary science; entomology; plant science; forestry; aquaculture and fisheries; farming, farming systems and crops; agricultural economics; extension and education; food and human nutrition; and earth sciences and environmental sciences. The Bibliography of Agriculture is the print index to the agricultural literature going back to 1942 located on the Shields Library, Third Floor, at call number Z 5071 .U63. NOTE: default UCD Search Type set to Advanced Ovid Search. IMPORTANT: The largest and most comprehensive agricultural literature database is CAB Abstracts. [Coverage: 1970-present]
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database. [Coverage: 1960-present]
- Agricultural Statistics Data Base & Quick Stats This link opens in a new window USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service "Quick Stats" statistics database. Select U.S., state, or county data for crops, livestock and other agricultural commodities. Query database by geographic area, search by commodity, or view data in charts or maps. Data sets include Census of Agriculture.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window If it relates to (animal) behavior or perspectives, this is your source.
- CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window This looks at literature in allied health including nursing and consumer health.
- Global Health This link opens in a new window Global Health is a specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases. Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 3 million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Almost 155,000 records were added last year, and over 96% of these records include an English abstract. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database. The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database. Everything from proceedings, theses, electronic-only publications and other hard-to-find sources are included. Global Health has a growing number of full text articles (over 90,000) from journals, conferences, and reports. [Coverage: 1973-present]
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR): includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team), according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews. CDSR also includes Editorials and Supplements. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL): is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. In addition to bibliographic details (author, title, source, year, etc) CENTRAL records often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article. CENTRAL is published monthly. Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant to practising healthcare professionals, our target audience. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics. Cochrane Clinical Answers were developed by Cochrane Innovations and Wiley. The Cochrane Library is available as a Spanish language version: https://www.cochranelibrary.com/es
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Diseases & Epidemiology Network This link opens in a new window Interactive decision support system for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 25,000 outbreaks, 35,000 graphs, and 82,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
- ETHXWeb: Literature in Bioethics This link opens in a new window EthxWeb consolidates interdisciplinary bioethics material from 1974 to 2009. A useful resource for those interested in researching materials in an extensive range of bioethics topics, EthxWeb contains journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles. EthxWeb includes the BIOETHICSLINE database records created by the Kennedy Institute of Ethics for the U.S. National Library of Medicine from 1975 to 2000, and PubMed bioethics subset records from 2000 to 2006. While records were added to EthxWeb until 2012, the database is comprehensively curated for the 25 years from 1974 to 2009. This resource is maintained by the Bioethics Research Library, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University. [Coverage: 1974-2009]
How to Access the Full Text of an Article
"Get it at UC" Button
Most databases provide a description of articles and other resources to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within their website. Included as part of the item record is the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to a copy of the full text of the article.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or book, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the book or article (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Identify Peer-Reviewed Articles
A peer-reviewed source is an article that has been reviewed by several other experts in the field before being published in order to ensure its quality. This 2 minute video describes the peer review process.
How do I Know if an Article is Peer-Reviewed?
Look for limits/filters
Many databases allow you to specify that you want to search only in “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” sources.
Visit the journal’s webpage
Search online for your journal’s title. Sections like “about this journal” or “editorial policies” generally mention whether the journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.
Check a directory
Use the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to find key information about a journal, including whether it has a peer-review process.
- Connect From Off-Campus via Single Sign OnAn alternative to the VPN authentication method that does not require downloading any software, it works with selected licensed resources.
- Connect From Off Campus (Access VPN) To access licensed library resources from off campus, you must first sign into the library VPN using your UC Davis Kerberos (CAS) credentials and Duo. This must be done every time you want to access licensed library resources from off campus, unless a single sign-on option is available for the resource you want to access.
- Interlibrary LoanBorrow materials that are not available at UC Davis from other libraries.