Publishing & impact
Finding researchers, where to publish and journal impact.
- Open Access Fund As long as you publish in an open access journal published in the Directory of Open Access Journals, UC DAvis Library will help cover your APC fees.
- JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator) paste your article abstract and JANE will match your abstract to similar journals.
- SJFinder Put in your research field and your article title and abstract and this tool will help you find a journal.
- Journal Look Up Tool (JOLT)JOLT enables authors to search by a given journal title or ISSN to determine whether it is eligible for financial support under one of UC’s open access publishing agreements. At the moment it covers only journals by publishers that the UC has an open access agreement with, meaning that if a journal title can’t be found, the journal is not eligible for support under such an UC agreement. Additional features such as a subject search, and including journals covered by campus-level agreements or support (such as our local open access fund) are in development for a later release. The JOLT page offers also a feedback option and authors are encouraged to provide any comments or suggestions.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window Journal Citation Reports is an annual publication which indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science/Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 7,200 journals in science, technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. For each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer time-spans for citation, consider a ranking sort by using the 5-year Impact Factor.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore). [Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]
This link opens in a new window
- Scimago journal and country rank Provides H-index and includes examination of citations per document of articles within or outside the journal and measures international collaboration.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore). [Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool. [Coverage: 1900-present]
- Elsevier Pure Find researcher profiles, research units, projects, research output, and other key aspects of research at UC Davis School of Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and School of Nursing.
- Aggie Experts The UC Davis Aggie Experts system provides a single point of discovery for research and scholarship expertise and professional information about UC Davis faculty and scholars.