Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Reference materials are intended to help you get started with a basic overview of a topic and are often presented in the form of encyclopedias or dictionaries that provide 'further reading,' or 'see also' sections with bibliographies to connect you to additional information resources on your topic.
Reference sources will help you to:
- gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
- identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
- connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic
Recommended:
A Dictionary of Plant SciencesPublication Date: 2012offers broad coverage of all aspects related to the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant SciencesPublication Date: 2016Information on plants used by humans as sources of food, raw materials, and amenity purposes, highlighting the role of applied science in agricultural production.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop SciencePublication Date: 2004Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science covers classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science and agriculture.
Westcott's Plant Disease HandbookPublication Date: 2013Westcott's Plant Disease is a reference book on diseases which attack plants. Diseases of plants are found on most all plants including trees, shrubs, grasses, forage, fruits, vegetables, garden and greenhouse plants as well as native wild flowers and even weeds.
- CABI Compendium This link opens in a new windowLimited to single user
The CABI Compendium brings together data and research on species, pests and diseases across agriculture, aquaculture, livestock production, and the environment. Areas covered include: animal health and production, aquaculture, crop protection, forestry, horticulture, invasive species.
Primary focus is datasheets, which typically include (as appropriate to the topic): identity, taxonomy, overview, distribution, dispersal, biology, ecology, environmental requirements, natural enemies, natural enemies of, diseases and disorders, hosts/species affected, vectors and intermediate hosts, natural enemies, impacts, uses, prevention/control, seedborne aspects, further information.
Also includes diagnostic and decision support tools: Horizon Scanning Tool, Pest Risk Analysis Tool, and Invasive Species Discovery Tool.