Research Guides: Plant Sciences: Plant Breeding Resources

Genetic Resources

The following lists are examples of each type of information source and are by no means exhaustive:

Genomic resources

TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource) This link opens in a new window
TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource) contains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR include the complete genome sequence, gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated weekly from the latest published research and community data submissions. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes. Data can be viewed using a interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with our tools. Datasets can be downloaded. In addition, pages on news, information on the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI), Arabidopsis lab protocols, and useful links are provided.
Help
Repbase This link opens in a new window
A database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species, together with analytical software. Repbase Update contains over 3600 annotated sequences representing different families and subfamilies. Each sequence is accompanied by a short description and references to the original contributors. Repbase Update includes Repbase Reports, an electronic journal publishing newly discovered transposable elements, and the Transposon Pub, a web-based browser of selected chromosomal maps of transposable elements.

U.S. National Plant Germplasm System (NGPS)
A collaborative effort to safeguard the genetic diversity of agriculturally important plants. The mission of the NPGS is to support agricultural production by acquiring, conserving, evaluating, documenting, and distributing crop germplasm.
Phytozome
The Plant Comparative Genomics portal of the Department of Energy's Joint Genome Institute, provides JGI users and the broader plant science community a hub for accessing, visualizing and analyzing JGI-sequenced plant genomes, as well as selected genomes and datasets that have been sequenced elsewhere

Descriptions, parentage, and trademark

Vegetable Cultivar Descriptions for North America
NC State University Dept. of Horticulture
Each crop entry contains as much information as possible about the cultivars available to North American growers. Crop species are listed alphabetically, and cultivars are listed alphabetically within.
Fruit & Nut Cultivars
American Pomological Society
Accurate descriptions of cultivars published in the Register of New Fruit and Nut Cultivars.
USDA Domesticated Crop Descriptors
U.S. National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS)
USDA Wild Crop Descriptors
U.S. National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS) Crop wild relatives are wild plant species that continue to evolve, developing traits – such as drought tolerance or pest resistance – that farmers and breeders often cross with domesticated crops to improve their yields and/or nutritional quality.

Published descriptions

Search within “Register of New Fruit and Nut Cultivars” in the journal Hortscience.

Journals A-Z > Hortscience > Search Within Journal

Search the UC Library catalog with Library of Congress Subject Headings:
- Germplasm resources, Plant
- Gene banks, Plant

Germplasm Repositories at UC Davis

Community Sources

Archival Resources

UC Davis Library Special Collections

Plant Science Manuscripts focus on the taxonomy, genetics, and physical structures of plants, and largely consist of historical research in the fields of botany, agronomy, pomology, and horticulture. Although materials relating to the scientific study of agricultural plants are not excluded, the collections in this category emphasize the biological and ecological aspects of plants, rather than their uses.

Plant Breeding--wild and domesticated species of plants and animals

University of California Genetic Resources Conservation Program records

Cacao

Basil George David Bartley papers, 1856-2007, bulk 1957-1999

Musk Melons

Frank W. Zink papers

Oil crops

Paulden Knowles papers

Grapes

Harold Paul Olmo papers.

Online Archival Collections

Online Archive of California The OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions [and in some cases digital copies] of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

ArchiveGrid ArchiveGrid provides descriptions of documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. The majority of the records are from US institutions and were harvested from the most comprehensive shared library catalog available to us, WorldCat.

Plant Sciences