This guide contains resources specific to Medieval and Early Modern Studies. Relevant material may also be found through other Research Guides including: History of Great Britain and Ireland; History of Europe; Women's History; Art, Architecture, Art History and Design; Classical Studies; Digital Images; and Religious Studies.
This first page includes essential bibliographies and a selection of reference works--both online and on paper--in the library's collection.
Key Indexes
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new windowProvides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
[Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly] - Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), through the creation of online bibliographic databases.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Several of the annotated critical bibliographies on this platform are invaluable for Medieval and Early Modern Studies Research. Among them are:Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Reformation; Art History; Music; Islamic Studies and Jewish Studies - English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) This link opens in a new windowPlease note: The British Library is experiencing a major technology outage as a result of a cyber-attack. Access may be limited or unavailable at this time.
The English Short Title Catalogue is a shared catalog that allows you to discover books, serials, pamphlets, and ephemeral materials published from 1473 through 1800. It includes materials printed within the British Empire in all languages, materials with false imprints claiming publication within the British Empire in all languages, and materials printed outside the British Empire in English. It is the most comprehensive listing of publications associated with Great Britain from this time period. This resource was formerly known as the Eighteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue.
[Coverage: 1473-1800]
Reference Works--online
Medieval Iberia: an encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Medieval Islamic Civilization: an encyclopedia by ISBN: 1351668226Publication Date: 2018-01-12
Encyclopedia of Early Modern History online by Publication Date: 2016-07-18
Encyclopedia of the RenaissanceISBN: 0684805146Publication Date: 1999-12-17Use "Search within Publication" box on right of this page, or click "January 1, 2000" to browse lists of entries.
Encyclopedia of early modern philosophy and the sciencesPublication Date: 2022
Encyclopaedia Iranica by Publication Date: 1982-
Reference Works--on the shelf
This is a selection of the Medieval and Early Modern Encyclopedias available in the Reference Collection on the Second floor of Shields Library
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages (4 Volume Set) by Call Number: Reference: D114 .O94 2010Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Dictionary of the Middle Ages (14 volumes) by Call Number: Reference ; D114 .D5 1982Publication Date: 1989-04-01
The New Cambridge Medieval History, C. 500-C. 700 (7 volumes) by Call Number: Reference ; D117 .N48 1995Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Following are selected titles from a series of country or region-based encyclopedias of the medieval world. Others, can be found by doing a "Title contains exact phrase" search in the library catalog for "encyclopedias of the Middle Ages". Some are also available online (see above).
Medieval France by Call Number: Reference ; DC33.2 .M44 1995ISBN: 0824044444Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Here is a selection of encyclopedias about the history of non-European parts of the world with entries on the medieval and early modern topics.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: Reference ; DS755 .B86 2009ISBN: 9789004168633Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Japan Encyclopedia by Call Number: Reference ; DS821 .F73 2002ISBN: 9780674007703Publication Date: 2002-05-31
Encyclopedia of African History 3-Volume Set by Call Number: Reference ; DT20 .E53 2005Publication Date: 2004-11-22
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World (5 Vols. ) by Call Number: Reference ; DS135.L4 E53 2010Publication Date: 2010-07-12
