Key Resources
With the exception of Oxford Art Online, the foundational reference work for these fields, and the Art & Architecture ePortal, a key ebook collection, all the resources on this page are bibliographic in nature. They are listed according to breadth of coverage, which those that support all the fields represented in this guide first, followed by those that are narrower in scope.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online contains four major reference works for the fine arts: The Grove Dictionary of Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. These may be searched individually or in combination. Please note: access does not include the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) includes full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It also includes "a collection of over 63,0000 images" It indexes publications from the late 1920s to the present.
[Coverage: 1929-present] - Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new windowAn eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with new entries being added each year. ABM is a source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avery indexes journal articles in the areas of art and architecture. Also useful for Design and Landscape Architecture.
[Coverage: 1930s-present; selective coverage dating back to the 1860s] - International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowThe IBA is the core bibliography for recent publications (post-2008) in the history of Western Art from antiquity to the present and Global Art since 1945. It is the successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art (ceased 2007) and tries to pick up where the BHA left off.
[Coverage: Comprehensive from 2008-present with signifcant pre-2008 content]
- Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2007.
[Coverage: 1975-2007] - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art History Bibliography is one of several annotated critical bibliographies available on this platform. It serves as a guide to the key works on this wide-ranging discipline. Several of the other titles on this platform also contain significant Art and Art Historical Content. These include: Medieval Studies, Renaissance & Reformation, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Anthropology and more.
