Classical Studies

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.
[Coverage: 1972-2015]

Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
[Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly]

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more. Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5
[Coverage: 1949-current]

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It is created by philosophers for philosophers. The Philosopher's Index features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The indexing includes the assignment of subject headings that encompass proper names and subject terms using a standardized thesaurus. The indexing improves the quality of search results and the use of the standardized thesaurus provides consistency across records from the various publications. The abstracts help the user more quickly ascertain the relevance of the documents. The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.
[Coverage: 1940-present]

A collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century (1450-1700).

A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.
[Coverage: 1643-1940]

Hae paginae proponent Musa adiuvante in lingua Latina - nunc etiam in lingua Graeca, Germanica, Anglica, Gallica, Italica, Hispanica, Polonica, Russica, Bohemica - facta et ficta. non solum «arma virumque» canunt, sed etiam «fullones ululamque».

Searchable database of Latin texts; includes concordance.

The Corpus Medicorum Graecorum (CMG) presents the extant writings of all Greek physicians from the 5th century BC to the end of classical antiquity, including early Byzantine handbooks and commentaries on ancient authors, in historical-critical editions.  The Corpus Medicorum Latinorum (CML) presents the extant writings of all Latin medical authors from the 1st to the 5th century AD in historical-critical editions.  The Supplementum to the Corpus Medicorum Graecorum publishes collections of Greek medical writings which have survived only in fragmentary form.  The Supplementum Orientale to the Corpus Medicorum Graecorum presents historical-critical editions of Arabic translations of Greek medical texts which have not survived in the original Greek.

Online access to all of the in print volumes of this major series of Greek and Latin texts with facing translations. From the publisher: The Loeb Classical Library is the only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.

Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE. Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.

"The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources."

The Patrologia Graeca (Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca) is a 19th-century edition of Greek-language patristics and other writings published by J. P. Migne. It includes works on Christianity, philosophy, and history from the early Christian era until the fall of the Byzantine Empire. Print holdings can be found in the Shields Library General Collection (BR60 .M4).

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. It consists of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world. The project has expanded into other areas of the humanities adding tools for more languages, a variety of collections, and new types of materials. The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic. Perseus includes interactive online tools (e.g. map creator, Greek and Latin vocabulary tools). The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic. The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication. Collaboration with the Digital Collections and Archives of Tufts University led to the Bolles Collection on London.

The Regesta Imperii are a fundamental collection of primary sources for the study of European history, and an inventory of all archival and historiographic sources of the monarchs of the Holy Roman Empire ,from the Carolingian Age (9th century CE)to the time of Maximilian I(d. 1519). They include, as well, key records for the study of the papacy in the early and high middle ages. Die Regesta Imperii sind ein Quellenwerk zur europäischen Geschichte.Sie sind das Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters. Schnittstelle auf Deutsch.
[Coverage: 9th CE century to 1519 CE]

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] Digital Library now contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453..Its' goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Note: Users must register and create an account in order to access this resource.

"This is the largest dictionary of the Latin language encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D. The entries list every single known occurrence of Latin words together with precise citations. This is a unique and indispensable tool for scholars dealing with any subject that relates to the Latin language. I.e. Classics, History, Literature, Linguistics, French, Italian, Spanish (these languages - among a couple of others - originate from Latin). It is also a tool for even the life and biomedical sciences that use Latin vocabularies. The project that produced the print version of this source started at the end of the 19th century and is still going on; the planned completion will be in 2050. The online edition of the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is published by De Gruyter and provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters A-M, O, P-pomifer, porta-pulso), the articles in the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus. The content of TTL online is thus identical to that of the printed version of the Thesaurus. Each year the contents of the newly printed fascicles will be added to the database"

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

Der KVK ist eine Meta-Suchmaschine zum Nachweis von mehreren hundert Millionen Büchern, Zeitschriften und anderen Medien in Bibliotheks- und Buchhandelskatalogen weltweit. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta-search engine for locating hundreds of millions of books, periodicals, and other media in library and book trade catalogues throughout the world.

Library Hub Discover contains nearly 50 million bibliographic records contributed by nearly 200 institutions in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.

The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes large online collections of moving images, music and audio recordings.

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.