Bibliography
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowThe World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and the present. Also includes book reviews.
[Coverage: 1960-present]
Editions, Performances, and Scholarship
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare, 1591-1911 This link opens in a new windowContains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
- Internet Shakespeare EditionsThis Web site provides materials on Shakespeare's work, performances, and his life and times. It has 4 main sections, or "reading rooms"
The Foyer-- Introduces the project and the people behind it.
The Library--Contains peer reviewed scholarship
The Theater--Showcases and reviews the wide variety of Shakespeare performances on stage and film.
The Annex--Provides access to scholarly materials not yet peer reviewed and items of general interest. - British Black and Asian Shakespeare Performance DatabaseA component of the Multicultural Shakespeare in Britain 1930-2010 project, this database documents the growing contribution of black and Asian performers to UK theatrical life, particularly in classical theatre.
For more about the project of which it is a part, see: https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/arts/english/research/currentprojects/multiculturalshakespeare - Taiwan Shakespeare DatabaseThis is an open-access online archive of Taiwan’s Shakespearean productions with both English and Chinese interfaces.
- Global ShakespearesThis is a video and performance archive providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.
Related Resources
- English Broadside Ballad ArchiveA searchable collection of 9,603 Early Modern Broadside Ballads. Free to the public as Text, Art, and Music
- Map of Early Modern LondonAlong with a digital version of a1651 map, this site contains a wealth of resources on early modern London.
- Digital Renaissance EditionsIt includes electronic scholarly editions of early English drama and texts of related interest, from late medieval moralities and Tudor interludes, occasional entertainments and civic pageants, academic and closet drama, and the plays of the commercial London theaters, through to the drama of the Civil War and Interregnum.