Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Early English Books Online contains page images of virtually every work printed, between 1473 and 1700, in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere during this period. Over 146,000 titles, and over 17 million scanned pages of content are available. EEBO begins with the very first book published in English, and draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources: revised versioins of both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700); Thomason Tracts (1640-1661); and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Transcribed texts (TCP I and TCP II) are also included, adding transcriptions to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO also covers texts in more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies.
[Coverage: 1450-1700]

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. Developed and produced in close collaboration with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts from the library world, this resource offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world’s most significant collections of early printed books in Europe. Additional information available here along with a Title List.
[Coverage: Pre-1701]

The "Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language," better known as ARTFL, offers access to a collection of texts in a web-based digital format, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.

A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.
[Coverage: 1643-1940]

Manuscripts works of European travel writing from the later medieval period, including central Asia, the Far East, Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. Includes accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land. Languages include French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details.

A full-text collection of Medieval Manuscripts from all regions of Switzerland. The database provides high quality digital reproductions in four languages (English, French, German, and Italian) with descriptive metadata, all of which are searchable. E-codices offers free online access to medieval and early modern manuscripts from public and church-owned collections as well as from numerous private collections. Over 3200 digitized manuscripts from 97 libraries and several private collections are available.

A fully searchable library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature, including selected literary criticism. Also includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and the Cambridge Companions to Literature