Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and e-books:
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - UC Library Search User Guide and FAQThis page includes step-by-step instructions on how to:
Request that a UC Davis Library-owned book be held for you to pick up or be mailed to you.
Use Interlibrary Loan (ask the library to borrow a book for you from another library.)
Obtain a copy of an article not available online through the library.
Limit your catalog search to specific UC Davis libraries or locations.
Selected E-Books
Listed below are a few of the many e-books relevant to stages of pharmaceutical product development. Use UC Library Search to find print books or additional e-books. To browse online e-book collections -- see the Health Sciences E-Books Guide.
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Ed. by
The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: 330 full-color illustrations 100 drug tables 50 USMLE-style questions Chapter on cannabinoids A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses Descriptions of important new drugs
ISBN: 1260463303Publication Date: 2023
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 Years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022
Innovation, Commercialization, and Start-Ups in Life Sciences by
Innovation is a translation of a new method, idea, or product into reality and profit. It is a process of connected steps that accumulates into a brand reputation required for success. Unlike Fortune 500 companies, whose projects are self-funded, a start-up must simultaneously have a value proposition that attracts a customer (for revenue), investors (for capital), and acquirers (for a liquidity event or IPO). A high percentage of start-ups fail before attaining positive cashflow, due to a variety of reasons that are detailed in this book. Avoiding the pitfalls and wrong turns are the goals of this book. Innovation, Commercialization, and Start-Ups in Life Sciences details the methodologies necessary to create a successful life science start-up from initiation to exit. Written by an expert who has worked with more nearly 500 life science start-ups, this book discusses specific processes and investor milestones that must be navigated to align customer, funder, and acquirer needs. Successful commercialization requires attention to multiple constituents, such as investors, regulators, and customers. Investors require liquidity for their return, which is achieved through selling their stock in a public or private sale. The reader will gain an appreciation for the necessary data, partnerships, and skills needed to create a competitive and sustainable company. The author discusses such specific issues as customer problems, demonstrating sales access, and ensuring intellectual property is impervious to competitive advancement. This book is intended to be suitable for entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and investors in both business and academic settings. These organizations have specific departments, such as R&D, operations, business development, legal, regulatory, and marketing, that would also benefit from this book. FEATURES Focuses specifically on life science start-ups Examines how to determine a company valuation and future "fundable milestones" Explores how to align regulatory and clinical strategies Discusses intellectual property derived from a university or individual through formation to exit. Reviews how start‐ups must simultaneously meet the needs of multiple constituencies at once: investors, regulators, customers and exit candidates James F. Jordan is an author, consultant, and speaker. He is a Distinguished Service Professor of Healthcare & Biotechnology Management, a former Fortune 100 executive, and a managing director of a venture fund. Access the Support Material: https://healthcaredata.center/ Cover design by Sarah Mailhott.
ISBN: 9780367533052Publication Date: 2021
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers by
The most significant overhaul of the U.S. patent laws in decades occurred with the recent passage of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Understanding the law that dictates what a patent is and how a patent is obtained and enforced, and the recent changes through statute or case law litigation presents unique challenges. This third edition o
ISBN: 0429099002Publication Date: 2012
A Pharmacology Primer by
A Pharmacology Primer: Techniques for More Effective and Strategic Drug Discovery, Sixth Edition features the latest research surrounding the application of pharmacology in drug discovery in an effort to equip readers with a deeper understanding of complex and rapid changes in this field. Written by well-respected pharmacologist, Terry P. Kenakin, this primer is an indispensable resource for anyone involved in drug discovery. This edition has been reorganized for better flow and clarity and includes material on new technologies for screening (virtual, DNA encoded libraires, fragment-based) and a major section on phenotypic (target agnostic) screening for new leads and determination of drug targets. With full color illustrations as well as new examples throughout, this book remains a top reference for all industry and academic scientists and students directly involved in drug discovery or pharmacologic research. New material includes a discussion of the determination of target engagement, including numerous new ways to demonstrate the physical interaction of molecules with drug targets and new drug candidates such a mRNA, gene therapy, antibodies and information on CRISPR and genomics.
ISBN: 9780323992893Publication Date: 2022
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry by
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Fourth Edition provides a practical and comprehensive overview of the daily issues facing pharmaceutical researchers and chemists. In addition to its thorough treatment of basic medicinal chemistry principles, this updated edition has been revised to provide new and expanded coverage of the latest technologies and approaches in drug discovery. With topics like high content screening, scoring, docking, binding free energy calculations, polypharmacology, QSAR, chemical collections and databases, and much more, this book is the go-to reference for all academic and pharmaceutical researchers who need a complete understanding of medicinal chemistry and its application to drug discovery and development.
ISBN: 0124172059Publication Date: 2015
Re-Inventing Drug Development by
The biopharmaceutical industry has entered an era of unprecedented change and challenge, characterized by increasing pricing pressures, rising rates of attrition in the product development lifecycle, and decreasing scientific innovation. The most successful products are losing patent protection, and pipelines have been unable to fill the gap. This book explores the evolving definition of innovation in therapeutic product development and begins to examine its effects on the life sciences R&D industry. Historically, scientific innovation alone was sufficient to maintain ROI and deliver on unmet medical needs. However, with many forces now conspiring to increase pressures on the commoditization of drug development, industry support for truly novel, often high-risk development has eroded. This calls for a drastic redefinition of what "innovation" is. While innovation in the pharmaceutical R&D industry has historically been applied to major advances in therapy and unmet medical needs, we now need to see innovation increasingly defined in terms of financial, marketing (e.g. branded generics and emerging markets), pharmacoeconomic, and operational innovation. In this book, contributors drawn from the executive ranks of clinical development practitioners and stakeholders--from biopharmaceutical companies, clinical research organizations, academia, the financial community, and the patient perspective--have all come together to provide their expertise and visions. Their goal is to start a dialogue about ways to radically improve therapeutics development and get more and better medicines to the patients who need them, as fast as possible, in the most cost-efficient manner.
ISBN: 9781466579989Publication Date: 2014
Tactics in Contemporary Drug Design by
Medicinal chemistry is both science and art. The science of medicinal chemistry offers mankind one of its best hopes for improving the quality of life. The art of medicinal chemistry continues to challenge its practitioners with the need for both intuition and experience to discover new drugs. Hence sharing the experience of drug research is uniquely beneficial to the field of medicinal chemistry. Drug research requires interdisciplinary team-work at the interface between chemistry, biology and medicine. Therefore, the topic-related series Topics in Medicinal Chemistry covers all relevant aspects of drug research, e.g. pathobiochemistry of diseases, identification and validation of (emerging) drug targets, structural biology, drugability of targets, drug design approaches, chemogenomics, synthetic chemistry including combinatorial methods, bioorganic chemistry, natural compounds, high-throughput screening, pharmacological in vitro and in vivo investigations, drug-receptor interactions on the molecular level, structure-activity relationships, drug absorption, distribution, metabolism, elimination, toxicology and pharmacogenomics. In general, special volumes are edited by well known guest editors.
ISBN: 3642550401Publication Date: 2014
