Getting Started
Welcome to the library research guide for Drug Discovery, Development & Commercialization.
UC Davis Library provides a wealth of subscription and licensed resources that can help UC Davis students, faculty, researchers, and staff identify journal articles, patents, reports, government information, news, and books in print or electronic format.
This guide will point you to a selection of specialized resources relevant to the stages of pharmaceutical product development, including both licensed and freely available content, such as the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA).
Key Resources
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry by
The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Fourth Edition provides a practical and comprehensive overview of the daily issues facing pharmaceutical researchers and chemists. In addition to its thorough treatment of basic medicinal chemistry principles, this updated edition has been revised to provide new and expanded coverage of the latest technologies and approaches in drug discovery. With topics like high-content screening, scoring, docking, binding free energy calculations, polypharmacology, QSAR, chemical collections and databases, and much more, this book is the go-to reference for all academic and pharmaceutical researchers who need a complete understanding of medicinal chemistry and its application to drug discovery and development.
ISBN: 0124172059Publication Date: 2015
- US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)The FDA website includes information about human drugs, vaccines, blood products and biologics, medical devices, plus veterinary and animal drugs. Information is provided about the regulatory process with links to specific content for health consumers, providers, researchers, and industry.
- DailyMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information about marketed drugs, in a standardized, comprehensive, up-to-date format, including FDA approved labeling as found in medication package inserts. Provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download functionality. - SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive subject index for scholarly research in the field of Chemistry, SciFinder is a great place to start looking for information about a drug product’s active ingredients, formulation, and excipients. SciFinder covers all aspects of chemistry, including the chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, and medicine, among others. SciFinder also allows the searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra.
You must register for a SciFinder account before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus). NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff. - Embase This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts, and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer-reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of medical device, drug and pharmaceutical research, and conference abstracts. Excellent source of articles related to post-market research. MEDLINE results are included along with significant unique content with international coverage. Embase contains over 37 million records. Search tools include a specialized tools for drug and medical device searches, and a pharmacovigilance wizard (PV Wizard). [Coverage 1974-current for EMBASE records]
