Chemistry Databases
- SciFinder [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowAs a comprehensive subject index for scholarly research in the field of Chemistry, SciFinder is a great place to start looking for information about a drug product’s active ingredients, formulation, and excipients. In addition to the journal and patent literature, SciFinder also enables searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. SciFinder covers all aspects of chemistry, including the chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, and medicine, among others.
You must register for a SciFinder account before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus). NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff. - REAXYS This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures. [Coverage: 1772 - present]
Help: REAXYS Training Materials
- PubChem: Open Chemistry DatabasePubChem from the U.S. National Library of Medicine provides information on the biological activities of small molecules in three main databases: PcBioassay, PcCompound, adn PcSubstance. PubChem is integrated with Entrez, NCBI’s primary search engine, and also provides compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, structure, targets, BioActivity data, and patents. Contains information formerly found in ChemID Plus and the NLM Drug Information Portal.
