Chicago Overview
Chicago style is often used within the field of history, although it is used by other humanities-based disciplines as well. The first edition of the Manual was published in 1906 by the University of Chicago Press.
Chicago style offers two options for in text documentation:
1. Superscript numbers within a paper to designate paraphrased, summarized, or quoted material, which correspond to footnotes or endnotes that specify the author, title, and page(s) cited.
2. (Author Date) parenthetical citations within a paper to indicate paraphrased, summarized or quoted material.
In both cases, the Bibliography at the end of the paper includes full citations for all sources referenced in a paper. In addition, it may include sources the writer consulted but did not paraphrase, summarize or quote.
Chicago & Turabian Style Manuals
The Chicago Manual of Style (18th Edition) by
The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout.
Call Number: Shields Library General Collection Z253 .U69 2024ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th Edition)
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"-- includes chapters with updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. This edition is aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.
ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018
Chicago & Turabian Guides
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (University of Chicago Press) Learn more about the options for citing in Chicago-style: 1. Notes and Bibliography 2. Author-Date
- Turabian Citation Quick Guide (University of Chicago Press) Learn more about the options for citing in Chicago-style: 1. Notes and Bibliography 2. Author-Date
- CMOS Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue Online Writing Lab) Summarizes Chicago style guidelines and provides numerous citation examples.