Core Databases
The following databases should be included in all health-related systematic review searches.
- Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full coverage of biomedical literature from 1946 to present. with some coverage to the 1800's.
Updated daily
Indexes over 5,600 journals from over 80 countries in 37 languages
Abstracts included for approx. 75% of records
- What's the difference between Medline and PubMed?From the Internet Wayback machine. It takes minutes to load the page.
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of biomedical literature from 1947 to present
Updated daily
Indexes 8,500 journals from over 60 countries (60% content overlap with Medline)
More indexing of European and Asian journals - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowPremier database for locating meta-analyses and systematic reviews produced by the Cochrane Collaboration
Updated quarterly
Ability to search for non-Cochrane reviews via DARE – DARE records link to MEDLINE Abstracts
All Cochrane Reviews are full-text - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (JBI) This link opens in a new windowSystematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, Evidence-Based Recommended Practices, Best Practice Information Sheets, Consumer Information Sheets and other resources primarily in Nursing and Allied Health, although medical topics are also featured.
JBI collaborates internationally with entities (including centers and other groups) located across the world.