Accessing books at UC Davis
-
UC Davis Library Catalog
Search UC Library Catalog for books, journals (not articles) and other materials available online or in the library.
Books between campuses
If a print item is available at a different campus, it could be digitized, shipped directly to a home address, or shipped to the campus of choice. Books unavailable through UC Davis can be obtained by request. Options for scanning, shipping, and requesting books are available online.
Books & E-Books
E-Book Collections
-
PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new windowPsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-5, DSM-5 clinical cases, the DSM-5 handbook of differential diagnosis and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.
-
Stahl Online This link opens in a new windowStahl Online presents the fundamentals of psychopharmacology and includes the ability to search within “Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology” and the “Essential Psychopharmacology Prescriber’s Guide” plus cases, illustrations, tables to download, and drug interaction information.
Selected E-Books
Introduction and overview
-
Kaplan and Sadock's Psychiatry Series (Ovid E-Books)
Publication Date: Most recent 10 years -
-
The Psychiatric Interview
by
Focusing on the practical skills needed to establish rapport with patients and gain valuable clinical insights,The Psychiatric Interview, 5th Edition, offers a practical, concise approach to improving interviewing skills. Noted psychiatrist and award-winning mental health journalist Dr. Daniel J. Carlat uses a proven combination of mnemonics, specific techniques for approaching threatening topics, and phrasing examples to illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, making this easy-to-digest text essential reading for trainees and practitioners in psychiatry, psychology, nursing, social work, and related fields. Offers a concise, real-world approach to the psychiatric interview, filled with tips and pearls to develop confidence in interviewing Brings you up to speed with the DSM 5-TR and current research, and includes a new chapter on techniques for the agitated patient and a new discussion of prolonged grief Contains focused, practical sections on general principles of effective interviewing, obtaining the psychiatric history, and interviewing for diagnosis Uses mnemonics and pocket cards to help you understand and remember key elements of the effective interview Provides clear techniques for approaching threatening topics, and shows how relationships that are endangered can be repaired Presents information in an engaging, conversational manner, helping you form an alliance with each patient in order to promote cooperation and effective treatment Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975212971Publication Date: 2023
Handbooks
-
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR
by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022 -
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry
by
For generations of practitioners, the Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry has been and is the "gold standard" guide to consultation-liaison psychiatry and psychosomatic medicine. The fully updated 7th Edition, by Drs. Theodore A. Stern, Oliver Freudenreich, Felicia A. Smith, Gregory L. Fricchione, and Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, provides an authoritative, easy-to-understand review of the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of psychiatric problems experienced by adults and children with medical and surgical conditions. Covers the psychological impact of chronic medical problems and life-threatening diseases, somatic symptom disorders, organ donors and recipients, pain, substance abuse, and polypharmacy, including a thorough review of drug actions and interactions, metabolism, and elimination. Features DSM-5 updates throughout, as well as case studies in every chapter. Contains practical tips on how to implement the most current and effective pharmacological therapies as well as cognitive-behavioral approaches. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323484114Publication Date: 2017 -
Clinical Manual of Geriatric Psychiatry
by
Clinical Manual of Geriatric Psychiatry provides the most current information on psychiatric diagnoses seen in older patients in a concise format. Each chapter is broken into easily understandable, increasingly focused sections, and contains an extensive array of tables, references, and suggested readings. Chapters include clinically relevant information and evidence-based treatments for a wide range of topics and disorders: * The psychiatric interview of older adults, including history, family assessment, mental status examination, rating scales and standardized interviews, and effective communication techniques.* Psychopharmacology, including information on antidepressants, psychostimulants, antipsychotic medications, mood stabilizers, anxiolytics and sedative-hypnotics, and cognitive enhancers.* Diagnosis and treatment of delirium, dementia, mood disorders, schizophrenia, anxiety disorders, sleep disorders, and substance use disorders, including coverage of definition, epidemiology, clinical features, risk factors, diagnosis and differential diagnosis, prevention and management, and treatment guidelines.* Individual and group psychotherapy strategies, including individual and group-based cognitive-behavioral therapies, interpersonal psychotherapies, relaxation training, cognitive stimulation therapy, and behavioral therapies.* Clinical psychiatry in the nursing home, with a focus on cognitive disorders and behavioral disturbances, depression, treatment progress in this setting, and relevant federal regulations. Written by experts in geriatric psychiatry, this clinical manual provides a much-needed "field guide" for the care of nursing home patients and older adults. Busy clinicians, as well as researchers, residents, fellows, clinical psychologists, and social workers, will find this compact volume to be of the utmost value, as will anyone seeking to update their knowledge of geriatric psychiatry.
ISBN: 1585624411Publication Date: 2013 -
Clinical Handbook of Psychiatry and the Law
by
Written by two renowned leaders in the field, the much-anticipated fifth edition of Clinical Handbook of Psychiatry and the Law offers mental health professionals authoritative guidance on how today's law affects clinical practice. Each chapter in this award-winning reference presents case examples of legal issues often seen in day-to-day practice; clearly explains the governing legal rules, their rationale, and their clinical impact; and offers concrete action guides to navigating clinicolegal dilemmas. It's a must-have resource for anyone in the mental health field who needs an easy-to-read, practical handbook addressing both longstanding legal/ethical issues and crucial recent developments in the field. Addresses recent developments including the impact of electronic health records on privacy and liability risks, new technologies, prescription drug monitoring programs, risk management in integrated care, the practitioner's role in assessing suitability for gun ownership, and more. Reflects timely issues such as changing attitudes toward seclusion and restraint, new medications for psychiatric disorders and the role of informed consent, and increased liability and scrutiny of expert witnesses. Presents real-world case examples using an engaging, easy-to-read writing style, and includes unique action guides in each chapter that specify practical approaches to clinicolegal dilemmas. A useful study aid to help prepare for the forensic psychiatry sections of specialty board examinations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496398055Publication Date: 2019 -
Handbook of Psychiatric Education
by
The Handbook of Psychiatric Education is a comprehensive, authoritative text that covers everything the educator needs to know about recruiting, teaching, supervising, mentoring, and evaluating students and trainees in psychiatry programs. This second edition is a total departure from the previous one, released more than 15 years ago, and constitutes an entirely original text rather than a revision. Under the direction of a new editor, who has many years of experience directing psychiatry training programs, as well as serving as president of the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Programs, the book's content has been expanded and completely updated by a stellar list of contributors with intimate knowledge of their topics. In addition to foundational knowledge about adult learning, professionalism, and supervision, the book explores essential topics such as residency recruitment, student advising, curriculum, assessment and evaluation, accreditation, financing, residency administration, and much more. Specifically, the book * Outlines a scholarly approach to psychiatric education to avoid burnout caused by concurrent clinical and educational demands. This entails building a framework of goals, objectives, and resources; implementing methods to identify barriers, measure outcomes, and seek feedback; and laying the foundation for educational scholarship, which advances knowledge in psychiatric education via peer review and publication.* Explores the burnout, depression, and suicide risks common among physicians, especially younger ones, and covers the new ACGME mandates that address faculty and resident wellness and mental health, as well as ways to enhance resilience by attending to stress over the residency trajectory.* Examines the key components of psychotherapy supervision, from defining learning goals and establishing clear contractual obligations for each party to maintaining critically important boundaries within supervision to maintain healthy professional relationships and educational environments.* Addresses diversity and inclusion in psychiatry training, first by examining the LCME accreditation standard introduced in 2009, next by considering the impact of recruiting international medical graduates, and finally by discussing holistic review, a flexible approach to increasing diversity and promoting equity in the GME recruitment process. * Includes references to web-based content so that the reader may obtain the most current information about training and employ the book's principles in the context of those updated regulations and guidelines, maintaining the book's usefulness as the landscape changes with time. Beautifully written, down-to-earth, and full of the kind of practical knowledge it takes years to acquire firsthand, the Handbook of Psychiatric Education should be required reading for any faculty member assuming administrative educational responsibilities.
ISBN: 9781615373444Publication Date: 2021 -
Medication Fact Book for Psychiatric Practice
by
Call Number: Single user licenseISBN: 9798987335499Publication Date: 2023-01-01 -
Textbooks
-
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
by
The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas. It remains the gold standard of reference for all those who work with the mentally ill, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, psychiatric social workers, psychiatric nurses, and other mental health professionals. New authors bring a fresh perspective to many topics, keeping you at the forefront of current developments in the field. Thoroughly updated coverage of neural sciences, with new sections on epigenetics, the microbiome, systems neuroscience, the Human Connectome Project, neurodevelopment, and many more. Extensively revised sections on schizophrenia, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, geriatric psychiatry and neurocognitive disorders. Uniquely comprehensive information of psychosomatic medicine, including chapters on obesity, chronic pain, and psychiatric sequella of critical illness. Timely information on public and global psychiatry, biological therapies, and psychotherapies. "Text within a text" coverage of child psychiatry includes thorough information on neuroimaging, assessment, genetics, sleep disorders, and the impact on parents of raising a psychiatrically disabled child. Abundant case histories add clarity and represent the vast clinical experiences and wisdom of hundreds of contributing authors. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781451100471Publication Date: 2017 -
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry
by
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, first published more than 30 years ago, is a landmark text with a legacy of sound scholarship, expert knowledge, and effective pedagogy. Thoroughly revised and featuring new authors and content, the seventh edition raises the bar, adding age-related, cultural, societal, and population considerations in the practice of psychiatry to the authoritative text that generations of students, residents, and clinicians have heretofore relied upon. The book first focuses on foundational knowledge, with chapters on psychiatric interviewing, diagnostic formulation, developmental assessment, laboratory testing and neuroimaging, and ethical and legal aspects of clinical psychiatry, and then proceeds to a full presentation of psychiatric disorders in alignment with DSM-5. The third section offers an overview of treatment strategies and methods in present-day psychiatry, a combination of evidence-based biological interventions and psychotherapies, and gives a clear sense of exciting new directions in psychiatric therapeutics. The final section of the textbook is focused on the care of special patient populations, including women; children and adolescents; lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals; older adults; and culturally diverse individuals. Many topics are new to this volume, including the following: * Suicide risk assessment, a critically important subject, is addressed in a new chapter that provides the reader with up-to-date knowledge needed to conduct a thorough, attuned, and accurate psychiatric interview in line with best practices.* A new chapter on the social determinants of mental health has been added, reflecting an increased emphasis on populations whose specific concerns have been historically underappreciated in American psychiatry, and illuminating factors that influence mental health needs and barriers to care in specific patient populations.* Precision psychiatry, an integrative approach that pulls together the scientific foundation of the discipline and recent technological advances and directs them toward closing the gap between discovery and clinical translation, is explored in a new chapter.* E-health strategies in mental health have become increasingly available to psychiatrists and other health professionals, especially in the mobile and monitoring spheres. A new chapter offers insights into these intriguing new options for delivering treatment.* A chapter on complementary and integrative therapies explores the integration of conventional medicine with alternative treatments for which there is an evidence base, providing an overview of nutrients, phytomedicines, hormones, mind-body practices, and electromagnetic treatments. With features such as key clinical points and recommended readings for further study, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry is a comprehensive course book, an indispensable reference, and the ultimate resource for clinical care.
ISBN: 1615371508Publication Date: 2019 -
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry
by
Over the course of more than two decades and five previous editions, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry has established itself as a foundational resource in the field. This new edition retains the multidisciplinary and developmental perspectives of its predecessors, drawing on the knowledge not only of psychiatrists but also of relevant biomedical and behavioral experts in order to present the most comprehensive approach to patient care. It has been extensively updated to reflect the latest scientific advances and clinical developments in the field. Not only will readers find the most up-to-date information on phenomenology, diagnosis, and assessment of late-life mental disorders, they will also access the latest research on psychotherapeutic, psychopharmacological, and other somatic treatments. A dedicated chapter delves into the role of technology--including digital phenotyping, wearables, digital and Web-based neurocognitive testing, and more--in aiding the geriatric mental health workforce and improving both access to care and ongoing support. Throughout the book, several sections also candidly examine the impact of COVID-19, and its attendant social isolation, on older adult mental health and the evolution of treatment approaches, revealing insights learned about telepsychiatry and care in nursing homes during the pandemic. Chapters on the legal and ethical factors in the psychiatric care of older adults close out the book, the most exhaustive on the topic. Extensively researched and with key points for ease of reference, this edition will equip both the scholar and the clinician with the current state of scientific understanding as well as the practical skills and knowledge base required for dealing with mental disorders in late life.
ISBN: 9781615373406Publication Date: 2022 -
New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry
by
Over its two editions, The New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry has come to be regarded as one of the most popular and trusted standard psychiatry texts among psychiatrists and trainees. Bringing together 146 chapters from the leading figures in the discipline, it presents a comprehensive account of clinical psychiatry, with reference to its scientific basis and to the patient's perspective throughout.The New Oxford Textbook ofPsychiatry, Third Edition has been extensively re-structured and streamlined to keep pace with the significant developments that have taken place in the fields of clinical psychiatry and neuroscience since publicationof the second edition in 2009. The new edition has been updated throughout to include the most recent versions of the two main classification systems---the DSM-5 and the ICD-11---used throughout the world for the diagnosis of mental disorders.In the years since publication of the first edition, many new and exciting discoveries have occurred in the biological sciences, which are having a major impact on how we study and practise psychiatry. In addition, psychiatry hasfostered closer ties with philosophy, and these are leading to healthy discussions about how we should diagnose and treat mental illness. This new edition recognises these and otherdevelopments.Throughout, accounts of clinical practice are linked to the underlying science, and to the evidence for the efficacy of treatments. Physical and psychological treatments, including psychodynamic approaches, are covered in depth. The history of psychiatry, ethics, public health aspects, and public attitudes to psychiatry and to patients are all given due attention.
ISBN: 9780198713005Publication Date: 2020 -
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Psychiatry
by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will most likely encounter in clinical practice Relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information - right at your fingertips The most effective interviewing techniques and approaches Important evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria Valuable information on psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, evaluating infants, and more Helpful section on the principles of evaluating and diagnosing patients as well as treatment strategies NEW CHAPTERS on Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder, Opioid Use Disorders, Stimulant Use Disorders, Tobacco Use Disorder, Cannabis Use Disorders, and Gambling and Behavioral Addictions The definitive clinical overview of psychiatric care Designed in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT outline style Covers both adult and pediatric disorders Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches
ISBN: 9780071754422Publication Date: 2018 -
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting
by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
ISBN: 9781260116779Publication Date: 2019
Topics in psychiatry
-
Emergency Psychiatry: Principles and Practice
by
The field of emergency psychiatry is complex and varied, encompassing elements of general medicine, emergency medicine, trauma, acute care, the legal system, politics and bureaucracy, mental illness, substance abuse and addiction, current social issues, and more. In one comprehensive, highly regarded volume, Emergency Psychiatry: Principles and Practice brings together key principles from psychiatric subspecialties as well as from emergency medicine, psychology, law, medical ethics, and public health policy. Leading emergency psychiatrists write from their extensive clinical experience, providing evidence-based information, expert opinions, American Psychiatric Association guidelines, and case studies throughout the text. This fully up-to-date second edition covers all of the important issues facing psychiatry residents and practitioners working in today's emergency settings, or who encounter psychiatric emergencies in other medical settings. Provides complete, invaluable information on every aspect of today's emergency psychiatry, including the areas of community, consultation/liaison, psychotherapy, substance abuse, psychopharmacology, disasters, children, geriatrics, administration, forensics, and much more. Reflects significant recent advances and changes in perspectives regarding crisis and emergency mental health care. Features a newly reorganized format covering Models and Standards of Patient Care, Research, and Education; General Principles of Care; Staffing and Support; Common Presenting Problems; Special Populations; and Policy and Special Topics. Includes new chapters on psychiatric boarding, staffing models, and inclusion of the family in crisis care, as well as additional special population chapters on college students, transgender individuals, prisoners, and immigrants and refugees. Covers specific approaches to common problems, such as alignment of the approach to agitation with Project BETA recommendations, and includes evidence-based management and treatment throughout. Discusses special topics such as legal issues that emergency mental health providers must be aware of, emergency telepsychiatry, best practices for working with police and law enforcement, crisis phone services, and disaster psychiatry. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975113681Publication Date: 2020 -
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
by
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.
ISBN: 9781615373277Publication Date: 2021
