Newspapers and Current Events

The CDNC is a growing collection that currently provides full text access to more than 10 miillion pages of hundreds of historical California newspapers published from 1846-current, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. The San Francisco Call, the Sacramento Transcript and the Sacramento Daily Union also are included in the CDNC. UCDavis' California Aggie (1915-2014) is part of this collection, also.

This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.
[Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690-present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles]

The Archive of Americana is a compilation of several collections of American historical materials from Readex/Newsbank. One or more of the collections may be searched at the same time via cross-collection searching. Collections included are: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876; and the government document collections: American State Papers, 1789-1838; U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
[Coverage: Varies by collection, but some material back to 1639.]

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The present digital collection provides nearly 1 million pages from approximately 1,270 titles of newspapers, news pamphlets, and newsbooks of the period. They were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

This database provides access to over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.

Series 1  The life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.
[Coverage: 19th century - 20th century]

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.