Getting Started
Newspapers and News Media are important resources for researchers. They report on facts and events, and provide diverse representions of social life. The library provides access to contemporary newspapers from around the world, as well as deep historic collections, online, in-print, and on microiflm. The library also provides catalogs and indexes to newspapers that can help discover news articles.
If you are looking for a specific newspaper title, one way to see if UC Davis Library has access is to search for the title in our UC Search catalog.
If you would like to search across many titles for an article on a topic, using a database that contains many tiles is a good option. When choosing a database, consider the scope, location, and coverage dates.
Major Current Newspaper Collections
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Direct Links to the individual papers: http://uclibs.org/PID/301866: Chicago Tribune (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301869: Los Angeles Times (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301870: New York Times (1980- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301871: Wall Street Journal (1984- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301872: Washington Post (1987- ). - Access World News (Formerly America's Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowCollection of historic and current photographs, most of the images date from 1995 forward includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics, as well as descriptive captions and source information. Formerly, AP Images. This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images.
[Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present] - Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
[Coverage: 1960-present] - Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowAlternative press and political newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century, including, feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications. Searchable full-text access includes nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers, as well as image, audio and other archival material. These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Independent Voices is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1950s-1980s]
