Newspapers and Current Events

The CDNC is a growing collection that currently provides full text access to more than 10 miillion pages of hundreds of historical California newspapers published from 1846-current, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. The San Francisco Call, the Sacramento Transcript and the Sacramento Daily Union also are included in the CDNC. UCDavis' California Aggie (1915-2014) is part of this collection, also.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Direct Links to the individual papers: http://uclibs.org/PID/301866: Chicago Tribune (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301869: Los Angeles Times (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301870: New York Times (1980- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301871: Wall Street Journal (1984- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301872: Washington Post (1987- ).

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

Collection of historic and current photographs, most of the images date from 1995 forward includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics, as well as descriptive captions and source information. Formerly, AP Images.   This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images.
[Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present]

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
[Coverage: 1960-present]

Full-text of seven 19th Century African American Newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder. Coverage varies by newspaper.

A full-text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

Alternative press and political newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century, including, feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications. Searchable full-text access includes nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers, as well as image, audio and other archival material.  These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Independent Voices is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1950s-1980s]

Collection of digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons. Provides important documentation of the prison experience across 220 years, and an important voice for criminal justice advocacy. Includes penal institutions of all kinds, including women’s-only institutions and early debtors’ prisons. Includes the news, issues, and commentary that mattered to prisoners. The collection, at its completion, is projected to include The Prison Mirror (Stillwater Correctional Facility, MN, 1887-present), The Angolite (Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola, 1952-present), and San Quentin News (San Quentin Prison, CA, 1941-present). American Prison Newspapers is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1800-2020]

General and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.